Mattress Direct Mattress Reviews

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Mattress Direct

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Mattress Direct is a large mattress retailer in the South -- with 28 locations in Lousiana and Mississippi. They offer a variety of name-brand mattresses, including recognizable brands like Serta, Tempur-Pedic, and Beautyrest. They also carry lesser known brands that promise a cheaper price, like Dr. Greene's and Five Star. That said, you may be able to find a cheaper mattress with more value online. Take a look at our top rated mattresses for details!

Mattress Score

Overall Score: 8.1/10

Customer Satisfaction: 8.2/10

Price Value: 8.2/10

No Back Pain: 8.2/10

Price: $159-$4949

Trial Period: 365 Day Exchange (Fees Apply)

See More Scores

Get Yours Now

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Direct's Specifics

Mattress Direct has an impressive story, with beginnings in Louisiana, they opened their first store in 2001. From there, they expanded operations across Louisiana and Mississippi. With their expansion into more stores has brough expansion across many different brands as well.

When it comes to their selection, they offer name-brands like Serta, Simmons, and Tempur-Pedic and also offer lower priced offerings like Five Star and even newer mattress in a box offerings too. Against other popular mattress stores, they generally have more options in the lower price category, which is exciting for those that are on a strict budget.

Read on to learn more about their selection...or browse our top rated alternatives.

Mattress Brands

Mattress Direct has name-brand mattresses to choose from like Serta, Simmons, and Tempur-Pedic. They also have a variety of lower priced offerings that fit most budgets.

We'll walk through each of the options so you'll know how customers feel and what to be interested in when you go into the store.

So here they are...

#1 Nectar

When it comes to budget friendly and convenient, Nectar is one of the best options on the market today. They offer an all-foam mattress design that offers three layers of breathable foam that sleeps cool, providing a medium-firm comfort. These mattresses get high ratings from customers for comfort for the price.

The pros: Good budget-friendly option to be tried in-store.

The cons: Depending on the store, it may be best to buy direct from the brand online for additional deals.

Price Range: $399-$899

Final Score: 9.6 / 10

Online Only: Get 2 Premium Pillows & More

Read Full Review on Nectar

#2 Tempur-Pedic

Tempur-Pedic is one of the most popular mattress brands in the US, with its line of traditional memory foam mattresses. They have gained popularity recently with their high end cooling memory foam and hybrid mattresses called the Tempur-Breeze. Overall, these mattresses are highly rated by customers, but some of them have durability concerns and are much more expensive than online brands that sell similar products.

The pros: Tempur-Pedic has a wide variety of memory foam and hybrid mattresses that are high quality.

The cons are some of the highest prices for all-foam mattresses.

Price Range: $1599-$4949

Final Score: 8.9 / 10

Online Only: Check Deals

Read Full Review on Tempur-Pedic

#3 Simmons (Beautyrest & More)

Simmons makes a variety of mattresses that are traditional innerspring and innovative pocketed coil. Their Beautyrest line has some of the most well-loved mattresses in terms of initial comfort due to their pillow top feel. However, there are some issues with durability complaints over the long term with these mattresses.

The pros: Customers love the pillow top options and initial comfort of these mattresses.

The cons: There are some issues with durability and sagging with these mattresses.

Price Range: $1549-$3699

Final Score: 8.4 / 10

Read More Reviews About Simmons

#4 Dr. Greene

Dr. Greene's mattress is a mattress-in-a-box that is shipped through retailers like Mattress Direct. They have both pocketed coil and memory foam options for a more affordable price than many luxury brands. However, what makes this brand different than other mattress-in-a-box companies is that they still are marked up by their retail partners, which means that you could find better quality for the price direct from other online retailers.

The pros: Convenience of mattress in a box options -- shipped directly to customers.

The cons: Less value per dollar versus other online only options.

Price Range: $650-$1250

Final Score: 8 / 10

#5 Five Star

Five Star makes a line of extremely affordable innerspring and memory foam mattresses, which are exciting options for budget-conscious customers. However, there are some issues with these mattresses. Although the prices are almost too good to pass up, the durability of these mattresses leave something to be desired. These mattresses are best only for temporary needs as they may not last long term.

The pros: Very budget friendly mattresses with both memory foam and innerspring options.

The cons: Issues with durability makes these mattresses only good for temporary needs.

Price Range: $239-$799

Final Score: 7.3 / 10

#6 Serta

Serta is a household name in the mattress space. They are known well for their iComfort line of mattresses that offer better lumbar support with both pocketed coils and multiple layers of foam. However, they have some issues when it comes to durability. Given the prices of their products, the durability problems that customers report give some pause in buying a lasting solution.

The pros: A variety of options in both memory foam and innerspring designs. Good initial comfort reported.

The cons: Issues with durability reported by some customers versus price is a concern.

Price Range: $499-$3199

Final Score: 7.2 / 10

Read More Reviews About Serta

Mattress Direct Alternatives

Right now is possibly the very best time to buy a new mattress. With 100s of new online-only mattress brands coming into the industry over the last 5 years:

You may find lower prices for better products if you know where to look.

Buying a mattress direct from the brand online is one of the best ways to get the most value out for your $. If you are willing to spend a little extra time learning about the online offerings and what fits for your body, it can literally save you $1000s of dollars and give you a better quality of life.

If you are ready to learn more about why buying a mattress online direct from the brand is better than visiting a store in person, read our 2018 Mattress Buying Guide!

...or jump right in to reading our reviews for our Top Rated Mattresses.

Browse Mattress Direct Customer Reviews

I went in today with no intention on buying

I went in today with no intention on buying but Nick was so knowledgeable about how to pick my perfect mattess it was effortless. Thanks and will be shopping again when I finish my rental property.

Unbelievable

Unbelievable!! Salesperson Nick Guillot sold us what he led us to believe was a new floor sample mattress & box spring that was discontinued by them at Mattress Direct. Come to find out that it was a used mattress exchanged from another customer. Don't believe the hype especially if they take you into there warehouse. Research with the BBB and you'll find similar nightmares like mines.

Purchased a mattress quickly

Purchased a mattress quickly, got it delivered the same day, had not had any issues with the mattress yet! Perfect for a college student.

Bottom line: Don't buy from these guys

Bottom line: Don't buy from these guys! I wish I had read and heeded the reviews before I bought.

The sales guy was nice enough, but the main delivery guy was lazy, rude, threatened and tried to intimidate me and was generally absolutely awful.

When I made my purchase, I told the sales guy I'd buy the new bed if his delivery guys would move my current bed up stairs to my guest bedroom. The main delivery guy said he didn't care what the sales guy said, my old bed was too heavy for him to carry. My old bed weighed much less than the new one and this guy was 6" taller than me, almost 1/3 my age and had a helper. I'm 65 years old and ended up carrying the old bed up the stairs by myself.

After unloading and delivering the new bed, they loaded it back on the truck and left; technically, stealing my property. After the truck left my home, the sails guy tried to call the truck driver to arrange alternate delivery. The truck driver ignored the sales guys calls..ended up taking my property back to Louisiana. The sales guy arranged to have it re-delivered, but when the truck driver made it back to Hattiesburg, he only brought the frame and not the mattress. A second re-delivery attempt was made. This time they had the bed and mattress, but did not re-deliver my sheets and mattress pad. PLUS, I had to pay $60 cash for the free delivery I was promised, since I refused to allow the guy that tried to intimidate me back on my property.

The sales guy said he would bring my sheets and mattress pad by after work...but failed to do so.. I paid for them, but still do not have them.

As a result, of all this, I ended up sleeping on the floor for a week.

This is a scam by Mattress Direct

This is a scam by Mattress Direct. I went to Mattress Express where Mathew just blew us away with his knowledge and professionalism. So I buy $6,000 worth of mattresses and then I get this review request by Mattress Direct. This is a scam. Don't go to Mattress Direct. Go to Mattress Express. It is located on Highway 98 in Hattiesburg, MS and it is in the same mall as Academy. Mattress Direct needs to stop this scam.

We were not given a copy of the terms agreement

We were not given a copy of the terms agreement when we requested one. The salesman attempted to renege on the offers he made. Our mattress went on sale following our purchase but no one will return our call to honor their money back guarantee. Recommend shopping somewhere else.

Some of the worst treatment

Some of the worst treatment that I've ever received at a store:

My wife and I went in to purchase a mattress. The sales associate quoted us a price of $2,150 and explained that we had 30 days to exchange our mattress if we were unhappy with it. They were having computer issues, so they were unable to print out sales documents and policy documents, for us to review/sign.

A couple of weeks later we went in to exchange the mattress, because the one that we purchased was too soft. The same sales associate helped us pick out a mattress that was $1,600, but said that we had to wait the full 30 days before we could exchange it.

About a week later we received a bill for $2,680. We went in to discuss the bill and to exchange for the firmer mattress. First, the sales associate told us we could do an "even exchange" for the $1,600 mattress. I kept pressing her, and she kept dodging the fact that they were trying to have us pay $2,680 for a $1,600 mattress - no refund. Apparently that was part of the policy that didn't print out when we were in the store! We then spoke with the manager, who said there was nothing he could do, because the $2,680 bill was financed from a bank - it was out of his hands.

My wife and I are extremely unhappy with the way we were treated. And have essentially been stuck with a bill much higher than we thought we were getting. I would highly recommend purchasing a mattress somewhere else.

Ty and Noah were wonderful

Ty and Noah were wonderful! We thought it would take ALL day to find a mattress. They made it very easy and were very knowledgable about which beds did what and what we wanted. And they gave us a great deal! I will go back next time!

We bought our mattress from mattress direct

We bought our mattress from mattress direct and they were very knowledgeable but the delivery is horrible. I was told that they would be there between 3-6 so I took off a half day of work and at 7 still no mattress. Called the company and all they said sorry. The service is not so great after they get your money.

I came in knowing what I wanted pretty quickly

I came in knowing what I wanted pretty quickly... a strong sturdy mattress. I was shown my options and picked the mattress... now that part was quick and easy. The sales person did a fine job dealing with my very special request but the true test of a store is when things go wrong and how they handle themselves.

I ordered the bed to be delivered the next day and for some strange reason even though all was set up for an easy delivery, it didn't happen. When you need a bed, you need a bed... it was either a hotel or hardwood floor and I'm a fricking princess.

I called the store that sold me the bed and the delivery guys couldn't get in to my apartment even though the office was open and my friend was here to accept it. I was pissed.

Poor Matthew answers the phone... he didn't even sell me the mattress... but he starts trying to fix the problem. After numerous grouchy comments from me I offered a possible second option for getting a bed to my home. Matt jumped right into action, he found another bed in town and had a friend deliver it to me after hours... the effort that he put into me getting my bed was beyond expected. If you are going to buy a mattress anywhere it should be here and it should be with him. Thanks Matt!

A run-of-the-mill shopping expedition

A run-of-the-mill shopping expedition turned very nice experience. A family member needed a new mattress. We went here. And we didn't have to go anywhere else! We found exactly what we needed within our budget!!! Hats off the our salesman Gary! He kept our budget in mind and did not try to upswell us. He made selections for us to look at based precisely on our requirements. And he kept the selection down to a manageable number so as not get us all confused and wasting time. Speaking of time, we shopped for, selected, and paid for the mattress of our choice quicker than it took us to eat lunch at a fast-food restaurant just a few blocks away!!! We got the mattress my family member wanted and we didn't have to "settle"!

Gary was very helpful

Gary was very helpful & friendly in helping me to find the mattress set I was looking for. He made the experience painless & with no pressure!

Matt was the person who assisted me

Matt was the person who assisted me. He gave me several options, after listening and hearing our needs. I would highly recommend seeking out Matt when visiting this location. He knows his products and has awesome people skills.

First of all let me say

First of all let me say; these people at Mattress Direct know exactly how to take the awkwardness out of mattress shopping. I just moved from Chicago and came in during Black Friday and the store was PACKED! I was immediately welcomed by 3 different people who all had customers. Matt was the first one to approach me and tell me he would be with me in just a second. He juggled myself and one other couple and made me feel appreciated. In the end I purchased from this store and would highly recommend that anyone looking for a great deal come and ask for Matt.

I found a Tempurpedic pillow here

I found a Tempurpedic pillow here, and fell in love with. I asked about the price and found out it was $100! But I loved it so much, and Pam told me the floor models are $50. Can't wait to get a refreshing nights sleep on my new Tempurpedic pillow!

STAY AWAY

STAY AWAY from mattress direct !!!!!! this company is a joke ! i made a purchase on black Friday and today is December 23 and i STILL have not received my correct order . this company has cost me so much money and headache . my husband and i have missed work to be home for deliveries 4 times and they either didn't show up or brought the incorrect order , i wouldn't recommend this place to anyone

Worst customer service EVER

Worst customer service EVER after the sale. The guys that delivered my serta motion adjustable base had no clue how to set it up and seemed miffed because they had to be there. After dropping and breaking on off the speakers on one of the panels, they suggested I use wood glue to fix it. I had to wait a week for a new one to be delivered and they set it up wrong. After repeated calls to KIRK the store manager , which he never returned I have called the BBB. The bed is great. Just don't buy it from mattress direct. The money you save cost you more in the long run. Still trying to get my issues resolved.

I had a very good experience

I had a very good experience at this store which is mainly to say that KIRK, the sales associate, was extremely helpful and personable.

The guys who dropped off the mattress were kind of rude but I'd probably be rude after a day of delivering mattress in the Louisiana heat.

Purchased Ergo Twin Wired Control

Purchased Ergo Twin Wired Control bed (Sales Ticket #99385) on 02/03/2009 ($3,599.60). Within 6 months one of the wired controls went out. I called the Metairie store & we were able to pick up a replacement from the store. Another wired control went out & I called the Metairie store (10/6/11) & spoke with Kirk Graham & he promised to look into my problem & get back to me. A week later having not heard from him I called him back. He seemed aggravated with my call, put me on hold (but I could hear) as he had a long conversation with either a friend or fellow employee. When he picked the phone back up he asked me to repeat everything we had just gone over. Finally, he gave me a telephone number to Temperpedic (800.979.1457) that he said was the manufacturer. I called them & left a message. When I did not hear back from them I called every day. Finally on 10/17/11 I got a live agent & they explained that the manufacturer of my bed was Leggett & Platt (800.888.3078). They said the manufacturer of my bed was Ergo (888.550.3746). I left Leggett & Platt a message on 10/17. When they did not return my call, I contacted again on 10/21 left another message & then called them again on 10/24 when I was finally able to speak with an agent (Ryan Fragale). Finally they agreed to send me a new control & charged me $15.30 for shipping. I am a paraplegic and explained this to Kirk Graham every time I spoke with him. I explained how vital this control was to me. I felt like since I was not buying anything I was an aggravation and he just wanted to get me off the phone. This was one of the most horrible service experiences I have ever encountered. As a result, the Sealy Queen Size bed I just bought was from a competitor. The Mattress Direct received $50 million in tax incentives from the citizens of the State of Louisiana. I plan on contacting my state senator & representative to let them know how a company that has received help is treating the citizens of Louisiana.

The lack of service from Mattress Direct has caused me a great deal of problems. If they will treat a disabled person & a $3,599.60 sale the way they treated me when I explained how bad I needed help, I can't imagine how they treat their other customers. I want to make sure before anyone else buys from Mattress Direct that they understand what will happen if they should ever need service or support. I also want the state to reconsider any tax incentives they may have not yet funded to Mattress Direct. This is not the kind of companies we want to build the foundation for recovery in our state.

I walked in really serious

I walked in really serious about finding a mattress. All I wanted was to sit on a few and discuss it with my boyfriend. The salesman was unbelievably rude. He kept yelling and insisting that I lay down on all of the mattresses. When I told him that we just needed some time to look around the store he kept following me and yelling at me to lay down on all of the mattresses. When I would not he called me grumpy. This guy was the worst of the worse and I would never buy anything from him. I walked out of the store upset and feeling humiliated. How could this happen while trying to buy a mattress?

Browse Reviews From The Top Rated Brands

Read Dreamcloud Reviews

Read Nectar Reviews

Read Level Reviews

Read Bear Mattress Reviews

Read Awara Reviews

Read Avocado Reviews

Read Puffy Reviews

Read Brooklyn Bedding Reviews

Read Eight Reviews

Read Plushbeds Reviews

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.