Lull vs Southerland

Get The Best July 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Lull

Lull offers one memory foam mattress-in-a-box that is making a splash in the customer review and mattress blogosphere. Some of the differentiators of the Lull mattress are its prioprietary blend of memory and poly foams, which work together to cradle the spine and relieve pressure point pain. Overall, customers have good things to say, but is it right for you specifically?

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Lull in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Lull


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Lull: 8.9/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Lull: 8.9/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Lull: 8.7/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Lull: 8.8/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Lull: $550-$950
Southerland: $399-2399

Lull:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Lull's Owner Satisfaction

Sleepers can be a picky bunch when it comes to their comfort (as they should be), which is why finding a product that most agree on is a great check mark to finding out if it works for you. These mattresses get very high marks for customer satisfaction versus competitors. Take a look at the specifics below to learn if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Lull's Supportiveness

Most reviewers find these mattresses to be supportive, which means they help keep the back aligned in conjunction with their firmness level. That said, there are a few complaints from reviewers, so make sure that the mattress specs align to your body and sleeping position.

Edge Support
Overall, most reviewers report these mattresses have good edge support, which means most don't experience a depression when sitting on the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In tests that measure to see if a mattress has even support throughout the mattress, the support across the surface is solid and even. That said, some have complained about support issues over a long period, so make sure to browse the reviews before buying.

Lull's Durability

Having a mattress that lasts is essential for mattress buyers. However, with mattress businesses competing firmly for profits, it is not always easy to find. That said, based on the data from customers, materials, and craftsmanship, these mattresses should provide above average longevity and last over 5 years for most. But, some heavier folks may experience some loss of comfort sooner.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Not all customers report feeling good about these mattresses. Some sleepers are happy with the feel, but others have had issues. Due to this, it's harder to predict whether one of these will sleep perfectly for you. Take a look below to learn more about the specifics and to see if the mattress will work for you.

Southerland's Supportiveness

These mattresses don't fit the needs of everyone in terms of support. Though some customers are happy with their purchase, some have found these mattresses to be disagreeable with their body. If this brand is on your short list, make sure to read more about it before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is definitely an important indicator to those with mobility concerns. Others don't mind a slight dip on the side when they sit on the edge. Overall these mattresses aren't as supportive over the long term so if edge support is important, make sure to do extra research.

Southerland's Durability

These mattresses may not give the lasting comfort that you are striving to find. Over a shorter than average time period, some sleepers have had issues with durability and feel. If you have a larger body frame and are hoping for something with longevity, these may provide initial comfort, but do some added reading of customer reviews before purchasing.

Browse Lull Customer Reviews

Love my Lull - Marie

I was hesitant to purchase Lull, due to the fact of not having access to trying it before buying. However, purchasing Lull was easily the best decision. I find myself sleeping much better each night. The bed is so comfortable! It took me about a week to get used to it. I highly recommend this mattress to you!

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.