Lucid vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best January 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Lucid

Lucid mattresses have been selling mattresses online for the last seven years and they have a wide variety of gel memory foam, hybrid, and latex mattresses -- including a super thick 16 inch mattress. They offer a wide variety of mattress options that are low cost, which is preferred for budget-conscious shoppers. However, there are customers that have experienced some issues with sagging and durability over a shorter period than average, so these mattresses may be best only for temporary solutions.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend both Lucid and Stearns And Foster in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Lucid: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Lucid: 6.9/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Lucid: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Lucid: 8.1/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Lucid: $375-$1000
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Lucid:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Lucid's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about this brand, learn more about the specifics below. They, sadly, get some low reviews from customers. Some customers had positive things to say about their new mattress, but others didn't feel good about the comfort.

Lucid's Supportiveness

Some have described these mattresses as being supportive, but others have been disappointed with the quality. For those that already have aches and pains, take a look at the reviews to make sure the purchase fits you.

Edge Support
These mattresses have mixed reviews when it comes to edge support. Some customers report feeling good with the support across the surface, but others had problems with dipping along the sides.

Lucid's Durability

In addition to having good support, having a mattress that really lasts is key for shoppers. Everyone is hopeful in finding a bed that is just as comfortable ten years from now as it was day one. Sadly, not everyone has experienced great durability with these mattresses specifically. If you are thinking about using this mattress nightly, make sure to review the specs against your body type to make sure it will work for you.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Making sense of customer reviews can be a powerful tool for shoppers. Unfortunately, customers don't always have good things to say about these mattresses. Some are happy with the feel and comfort of their mattress, but others complain about how it feels for them. There are more details below to study if you are considering buying.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Support in mattresses is deeply important to spine health and deep sleep. If your bed doesn't support you, you are likely not getting the good sleep that you need. These mattresses offered good support at first, but some had issues with comfort over the long term.

Edge Support
Most folks will find these to do well on edge support, which is well received by those that like to lay close to the edge of the mattress. Some that are heavier and have larger builds may still experience some sagging along the edges.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Mattresses that last a long a time are great, but not always easy to find. These mattresses are not reviewed highly by customers when it comes to durability. This means that some folks may experience that their mattress lasts a decade, while other mattresses may break down faster. If you are a bigger person, take some time reading more before buying.

Browse Lucid Customer Reviews

Fantastic delivery.

Fantastic delivery.....the mattress arrived in two days. We laid the mattress out on the platform for the bed and patiently waited the 48 hours for the mattress to expand. This 10'' mattress expanded to 9 1/4'' on one side and 9 5/8'' on the other side which, although is less than a 1/2'' differential, means that the mattress is not level. This also means that the mattress does not fill up its cover, which is intended for the full 10''. I scoured foam mattress websites and this mattress was advertised to be 'medium firm' and is the firmest mattress Lucid offers. Unfortunately, the mattress really isn't all that firm at all. It's a fine mattress if you don't mind the baggy cover and a spongy mattress.

We have a double mattress made by Dormia, which is firm and we like. We were trying to find that mattress again, but couldn't seem to find it. After reading all the product literature we could find, we thought this was the right mattress.

I'm trying to return it, but, of course, this mattress that expands after the box is opened will not fit in the box it arrived in. I'm having difficulty returning it because it needs to be returned in the box it came in.....

On the other hand.... I finally was able to return the mattress (which was no easy task packaging, etc, and we had to bundle it and wrap it in plastic) and Amazon was great and timely in issuing a refund.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.