Lucid vs Southerland

Get The Best 4th of July 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Lucid

Lucid mattresses have been selling mattresses online for the last seven years and they have a wide variety of gel memory foam, hybrid, and latex mattresses -- including a super thick 16 inch mattress. They offer a wide variety of mattress options that are low cost, which is preferred for budget-conscious shoppers. However, there are customers that have experienced some issues with sagging and durability over a shorter period than average, so these mattresses may be best only for temporary solutions.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Lucid in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Lucid


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Lucid: 7.3/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Lucid: 6.9/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Lucid: 7.3/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Lucid: 8.1/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Lucid: $375-$1000
Southerland: $399-2399

Lucid:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Lucid's Owner Satisfaction

Making sense of customer reviews can be a powerful tool for shoppers. Unfortunately, sleepers don't always feel great about these mattresses. Some are very satisfied with the feel, but others report discomfort. If you are pondering buying one, take a look below for more specifics.

Lucid's Supportiveness

Customers have mixed reviews about the support found in these mattresses. Though there are some who like the response of these mattresses, others don't like how they work with their body. If you are thinking about buying one of these mattresses, take a look at the specs to make sure it will work for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is definitely a concern for those that struggle with mobility. Others don't find it is to be a big concern. Some folks feel strongly about support issues so make sure to do added reading if edge support is an important item for you.

Lucid's Durability

Finding a highly durable mattress is great, and when our mattress causes us back pain after only a few months, we feel terrible That said, finding a mattress that is comfortable and durable is really hard these days. With more choices than ever, many companies are sacrificing quality to make a quick dollar. With these mattresses, some reviewers had problems with longevity Longevity issues aren't a guarantee, but make sure sure that you read up on the specifications to make sure your choice works for you.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

There are is some negative input about these mattresses. Some folks report feeling comfy, but others experience discomfort. Due to this, it is more difficult to predict whether one will work flawlessly for you. Read on to learn more about the specifics to find out if these mattresses will work for you.

Southerland's Supportiveness

In terms of having lasting supportiveness, these mattresses have mixed signals from customers. Some customers feel cozy with these mattresses, but others had poor comfort. If you are someone who is above average in weight or has wide shoulders or hips, you should do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is an essential item for those that like to lay close the edge of their mattress without dipping or rolling off. Some may find that the edge support in these mattresses is not as robust as others.

Southerland's Durability

These mattresses may not provide the kind of durability that you'd hope. Some reviewers have had complaints regarding durability and comfort over a short horizon. If you are larger or are looking for something supportive, you may experience good comfort initially, but do a last check on the mattress specifications and return policies before purchasing.

Browse Lucid Customer Reviews

Fantastic delivery.

Fantastic delivery.....the mattress arrived in two days. We laid the mattress out on the platform for the bed and patiently waited the 48 hours for the mattress to expand. This 10'' mattress expanded to 9 1/4'' on one side and 9 5/8'' on the other side which, although is less than a 1/2'' differential, means that the mattress is not level. This also means that the mattress does not fill up its cover, which is intended for the full 10''. I scoured foam mattress websites and this mattress was advertised to be 'medium firm' and is the firmest mattress Lucid offers. Unfortunately, the mattress really isn't all that firm at all. It's a fine mattress if you don't mind the baggy cover and a spongy mattress.

We have a double mattress made by Dormia, which is firm and we like. We were trying to find that mattress again, but couldn't seem to find it. After reading all the product literature we could find, we thought this was the right mattress.

I'm trying to return it, but, of course, this mattress that expands after the box is opened will not fit in the box it arrived in. I'm having difficulty returning it because it needs to be returned in the box it came in.....

On the other hand.... I finally was able to return the mattress (which was no easy task packaging, etc, and we had to bundle it and wrap it in plastic) and Amazon was great and timely in issuing a refund.

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.