Get The Best May 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Lucid vs. Sleep Science

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Lucid

Lucid mattresses have been selling mattresses online for the last seven years and they have a wide variety of gel memory foam, hybrid, and latex mattresses -- including a super thick 16 inch mattress. They offer a wide variety of mattress options that are low cost, which is preferred for budget-conscious shoppers. However, there are customers that have experienced some issues with sagging and durability over a shorter period than average, so these mattresses may be best only for temporary solutions.

Sleep Science

Sleep Science builds a line of latex and memory foam mattresses. Their claim to fame is their 'wedge' technology that provides edge support to every piece of the mattress. Additionally, they are Certipur certified, which means they have low VOC and no formaldehyde in their mattresses. They also use bamboo material in some of their mattresses. Their mattresses are made popular through their relationship with Costco warehouse stores where they are sold at a competitive price vs many of the retail sold mattresses of similar material quality.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Sleep Science in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Sleep Science


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Lucid: 7.3/10
Sleep Science: 8.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Lucid: 6.9/10
Sleep Science: 8.4/10

Price Value:
Lucid: 7.3/10
Sleep Science: 8.7/10

No Back Pain:
Lucid: 8.1/10
Sleep Science: 8.3/10

Price:
Lucid: $375-$1000
Sleep Science: $399-2499

Lucid:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Science:
Get Yours Now

Lucid's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering one of these mattresses, make sure to read on for more information. They, unfortunately, don't get the best reception from customers overall. Some have had great things to say about how their mattresses work for them, but many others have had complaints about feel.

Lucid's Supportiveness

In terms of having comfortable support for all, these mattresses have mixed feelings. Some reviewers are comfortable and feel supported throughout the night, but others had problems getting comfortable. If you are larger than average, you should do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is extremely important for those that want to sit on the side of their mattress without dipping down or becoming uncomfortable. Some customers have found these mattresses to not be evenly supportive.

Lucid's Durability

Unfortunately, these mattresse are not always rated well for durability. While some folks had good experiences with the performance, others had comfort issues faster than average. If you are thinking about buying, read up on the return and warranty policies beforehand.

Sleep Science's Owner Satisfaction

There have been diverse feedback from sleepers about these mattresses -- both good and bad. Many folks enjoy their new mattress and are comfy, but there were others that didn't like their experience. Read about the mattress specifics and browse customer reviews in the section below.

Sleep Science's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress that properly cradles the body is what you need for a better night's sleep. If your bed doesn't support you, you are probably not getting the best night of sleep. These mattresses offered good support at first, but some had issues with comfort over the long term.

Edge Support
Most customers find these mattresses to have good edge support, which is well regarded by those that like to roll over to the side of the mattress. Some that are larger may still experience sagging near the edges.

Sleep Science's Durability

These mattresses have mixed reviews on their durability. We all want a mattress that stays just as cozy in 10 years as it feels now, but sadly, not all of them are made this way. If you are considering buying a mattress with mixed reviews on durability, do one last review of the return and warranty policies so you are secure in your purchase.

Browse Lucid Customer Reviews

Fantastic delivery.

Fantastic delivery.....the mattress arrived in two days. We laid the mattress out on the platform for the bed and patiently waited the 48 hours for the mattress to expand. This 10'' mattress expanded to 9 1/4'' on one side and 9 5/8'' on the other side which, although is less than a 1/2'' differential, means that the mattress is not level. This also means that the mattress does not fill up its cover, which is intended for the full 10''. I scoured foam mattress websites and this mattress was advertised to be 'medium firm' and is the firmest mattress Lucid offers. Unfortunately, the mattress really isn't all that firm at all. It's a fine mattress if you don't mind the baggy cover and a spongy mattress.

We have a double mattress made by Dormia, which is firm and we like. We were trying to find that mattress again, but couldn't seem to find it. After reading all the product literature we could find, we thought this was the right mattress.

I'm trying to return it, but, of course, this mattress that expands after the box is opened will not fit in the box it arrived in. I'm having difficulty returning it because it needs to be returned in the box it came in.....

On the other hand.... I finally was able to return the mattress (which was no easy task packaging, etc, and we had to bundle it and wrap it in plastic) and Amazon was great and timely in issuing a refund.

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Science Customer Reviews

NEEDS GOOD FOUNDATION - dont use bunky board!

We bought this mattress over a year ago...had no idea that they sold a separate foundation. Spent months replacing the bunky board we got from Crate and Barrell 2 times and dealing with back pain, even called the mattress mfr. The mattress mfr said they recommend their foundation instead of bunky board. Ordering it today, hopefully it will take care of the problem but paying $50 more than if I bought them together from the start. They need to update the description and recommend the foundation if they don't buy it separately OR don't even sell the mattress alone. Description said it needs a 'solid' foundation...what does that even mean? I had a hard time trying to find a bunky board that is solid wood from many retailers. Crate and Barrel's new bunky board is made of compressed cardboard! A painful process, but I like the mattress.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.