Lucid vs Saatva

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Lucid

Lucid mattresses have been selling mattresses online for the last seven years and they have a wide variety of gel memory foam, hybrid, and latex mattresses -- including a super thick 16 inch mattress. They offer a wide variety of mattress options that are low cost, which is preferred for budget-conscious shoppers. However, there are customers that have experienced some issues with sagging and durability over a shorter period than average, so these mattresses may be best only for temporary solutions.

Saatva

Saatva has innovated over time with their mattresses. Their original Saatva mattress is one of the best mattresses in a box for those looking for a traditional innerspring mattress feel. With an edge on quality, Saatva decided to invest in better coil technology to provide sleepers with a more comfy traditional mattress, but one shipped in a box to pass on more savings to customers. Over the years, they have innovated further, with a competitive number bed, called Solaire and a mattress for larger sleepers, called the Saatva HD.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Saatva in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Saatva

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Lucid: 7.3/10
Saatva: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Lucid: 6.9/10
Saatva: 9.4/10

Price Value:
Lucid: 7.3/10
Saatva: 9.3/10

No Back Pain:
Lucid: 8.1/10
Saatva: 9.3/10

Price:
Lucid: $375-$1000
Saatva: $599-$1499

Lucid:
Get Yours Now

Saatva:
Get Yours Now

Lucid's Owner Satisfaction

Finding out how sleepers really feel about a mattress is difficult business -- especially with all of the marketing being done by companies and retailers. Customers, sadly, don't give these mattresses as high reception as others in the industry. There are still folks that love their mattresses, but there are many others with complaints. Get more details on the specifics and hear from customers below.

Lucid's Supportiveness

In terms of having support long term, these mattresses get mixed reviews. Some customers feel comfortable and well supported, but others weren't able to get comfortable. If you are someone who is above average in weight or has wide shoulders or hips, these mattresses may not work 100% for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is extremely important for those that want to sit on the side of their mattress without dipping down or becoming uncomfortable. Some customers may find that the edge support is not as capable as they would hope.

Lucid's Durability

Customers find that durability is one of the most important attributes to finding a mattress. We all really want to find a bed that will be comfy a decade or more later. Sadly, not everyone has experienced great durability with these mattresses specifically. If you are considering using as your full time mattress, read over the specs and policies to make sure it will work for you.

Saatva's Owner Satisfaction

Sleepers can be a picky bunch when it comes to their comfort (as they should be), which is why finding a product that most agree on is a great check mark to finding out if it works for you. Versus competitiors, customers are really happy with these mattresses. Do some more research below to figure out if one of these mattresses are right for you.

Saatva's Supportiveness

Good mattress support is what you need to wake up feeling good in the morning. You want a mattress that supports your health rather than causes you nightly aches. Reviewers describe these mattresses as well supportive.

Edge Support
For those folks that like to sit or lie close to the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. These mattresses provide solid edge support and doesn't sag greatly when adding pressure to the sides.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A popular item among readers, the bowling ball test provides a good indication of firmness while also showing evenness of support across the mattress. If a mattress doesn't have even response, some people may experience discomfor if it doesn't work with their body. Luckily, these mattresses provide solid even support for sleepers.

Saatva's Durability

Customers agree that these mattresses are competitive when it comes to durability versus the competition. For buyers, finding a mattress that offers good durability can mean years of extra sleep. while one that quickly falters can mean immediate discomfort. These mattresses will last between 7 - 12 years on average, which is good for today's mattresses. Folks may experience a slight decrease in longevity who weight more or spend more time in bed than average.

Check the Prices For Saatva:   Get Today's Prices

Browse Lucid Customer Reviews

Fantastic delivery.

Fantastic delivery.....the mattress arrived in two days. We laid the mattress out on the platform for the bed and patiently waited the 48 hours for the mattress to expand. This 10'' mattress expanded to 9 1/4'' on one side and 9 5/8'' on the other side which, although is less than a 1/2'' differential, means that the mattress is not level. This also means that the mattress does not fill up its cover, which is intended for the full 10''. I scoured foam mattress websites and this mattress was advertised to be 'medium firm' and is the firmest mattress Lucid offers. Unfortunately, the mattress really isn't all that firm at all. It's a fine mattress if you don't mind the baggy cover and a spongy mattress.

We have a double mattress made by Dormia, which is firm and we like. We were trying to find that mattress again, but couldn't seem to find it. After reading all the product literature we could find, we thought this was the right mattress.

I'm trying to return it, but, of course, this mattress that expands after the box is opened will not fit in the box it arrived in. I'm having difficulty returning it because it needs to be returned in the box it came in.....

On the other hand.... I finally was able to return the mattress (which was no easy task packaging, etc, and we had to bundle it and wrap it in plastic) and Amazon was great and timely in issuing a refund.

View More Reviews

Browse Saatva Customer Reviews

Superb Luxury Mattress And Excellent Service Make The Saatva a Best Bet!

When I left a 35 year career as Creative Director for a major Advertising Agency my timing was perfect - the economy collapsed. I took a job with a major mattress chain creating campaigns to promote certain models.

During this period I visited a number of mattress manufacturers and was amazed that the same mattress meant to sell at a retail point of let's say $2,000 would by a simple change of the name and damask become a mattress set for an optimum price point of $800. This is why it's impossible for the consumer to comparison shop. If you find a mattress you like called "The Cloud" the store you're in is the only store that carries that mattress with that name.

Right down the street that very same mattress may be selling for as much as 50% more or less - the selling of mattresses is unfortunately a shady business and the consumer suffers from it.

I'll caveat the following by saying I am a research fanatic. It's in my blood and it drives most friends and family crazy - I am unrelenting and I go over board. That said when my better half and I realized that neither of us were getting a decent nights sleep, with the exception for our two Old English Bulldogs who could doze off on a bed of nails. I was handed my orders to find a mattress and the search began.

During a web search I found the Saatva site and book marked it along with the dozen others I had saved. When I finally read through the web site I was struck by two thing:.

1) The site is brimming with valuable information. There is virtually no what we call in advertising "fluff" or "weasel words" it's the best education about mattresses you'll find.

2) Claims by Saatva are backed up with facts. spec by spec, apples to apples. In fact there is a comparison chart between the Saatva mattress and other high end mattresses. As an example one comparison of the Saatva at $899 shows that the Saatva actually surpasses an equivalent Kings Down Mattress which has an MSRP of over three grand.

I drove them crazy with endless telephone calls and I'm surprised the company didn't take out a restraining order against me. What I found time and time again is that each person I spoke with knew the product inside and out. If I had questions about the coil system, the foam densities, the gauge of the springs they were answered. The few times there was a question that couldn't be answered ( because no normal person would ask these questions) but that's not me. I would be transferred to someone who could.

Never once was I pressured to buy. There is no "one time deal if you buy today" Pressure what so ever. Saatva means "Truth" and that's exactly what you get.

Now about the mattress!

We purchased the King Size Luxury Firm it was delivered with lightning speed and the plastic wrapping is beyond protective - it's closer to a Hazmat suit. When the mattress was placed in our bed frame - my spouse and I were both struck by how absolutely gorgeous it is. Quality touches abound. From the iron clad strong handles, to the intricate braiding on the sides. The deep tufted upholstered buttons make for an elegant and incredibly comfortable surface.

The Damask is pure 100% natural cotton both gorgeous in look and feel and the Damask ensures the mattress breathes. As far as support and comfort the Saatva mattress is brilliant. We haven't slept this well, this deeply and woken feeling this good in years, and that's a fact.
If you're still reading this novel and aren't comatose by this time, I applaud you. I promise to wrap this up in a minimum of 300 more pages.

The common thread between everyone at Saatva is passion.

Saatva promises silver but delivers gold and few mattress sellers, if any can make that claim. There is no single piece of furniture in the world that has such a profound effect on our health and well being. Our Saatva is the best investment we have made in years - and it's Bulldog Approved!

Highest Recommendation

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.