Lifekind vs Southerland

Get The Best April 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Lifekind

Lifekind makes a variety of organic latex mattresses and were one of the pioneers in the organic mattress and bedding space in the 1990s. They developed latex mattresses that are well received by customers who can afford them. The only complaint is that they are on the firmer side, so if you are a side sleeper or someone who is prone to pressure points, these mattresses may not be for you.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Lifekind in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Lifekind


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Lifekind: 8.8/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Lifekind: 8.7/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Lifekind: 8.5/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Lifekind: 8.8/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Lifekind: $1795-$4995
Southerland: $399-2399

Lifekind:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Lifekind's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses have positive customer satisfaction scores overall. There are solid scores overall from sleepers, but some with differing experiences. Some sleepers didn't enjoy the feel of their mattress. Look on below to learn if these will mesh with your body!

Lifekind's Supportiveness

Having mattress support means having a healthy spine and comfort for the long term. These mattresses do a good job providing support for most folks, but rarely some reviewers have complained about firmness and support.

Edge Support
Edge support is an absolute must for folks looking for the best mattresses and for those that like spending time on the side or bottom of their mattress. These mattresses offer supportive structure along the edges, but some who are heavier may experience some decline.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Bowling ball tests are a great way to measure firmness and support. These mattresses do a great job at providing support for most customers, but there are a few folks that experience issues with support longer term.

Lifekind's Durability

All mattress buyers are looking for a mattress that has comfort that lasts for a decade. Though there are health risks, like dust mites, that would mean we wouldn't want to sleep on the same mattress for over 15 years, we could all sleep easier if it was a guarantee our mattress would last that long. These mattresses, specifically, are competitive when it comes to durability. Most customers will find they last over 7 years, but some have reported not loving the overall feel. If you are a larger person and concerned about durability, make sure to read the reviews before selecting.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

There are is some negative input about these mattresses. Some sleepers report feeling satisfaction with their new bed, but others not so much. One of these mattresses may be great for you, but it makes it harder to predict. Take a look below to learn more about the specifics and to see if the mattress will work for you.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Overall, these mattresses may leave something to be desired in terms of lasting support. Though most report initial comfort and support of the spine, others have had issues with alignment long term. If you like these mattresses, make sure to look at the specifications to make sure it will agree with your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is always important to those who like sitting on the side of the bed. However, others don't really mind as long as they are comfortable sleeping. Overall these mattresses aren't as supportive over the long term so if edge support is important, make sure to do extra research.

Southerland's Durability

Having a mattress that lasts is one of the most important factors to sleepers. We all are hopeful our mattress will last a decade or more and stay just as cozy as day one. Sadly, not everyone has experienced great durability with these mattresses specifically. If you are thinking about using this mattress nightly, make sure to review the specs against your body type to make sure it will work for you.

Browse Lifekind Customer Reviews

Best Mattress Ever

I switched from a Sleep Number to The Euro mattress and I only wish I had done it sooner. I haven't slept so good in years. I purchased the medium-firm and it is perfect. I am grateful to Lifekind and its excellent customer service. Thank you!

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.