Lifekind vs Shifman

Get The Best May 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Lifekind

Lifekind makes a variety of organic latex mattresses and were one of the pioneers in the organic mattress and bedding space in the 1990s. They developed latex mattresses that are well received by customers who can afford them. The only complaint is that they are on the firmer side, so if you are a side sleeper or someone who is prone to pressure points, these mattresses may not be for you.

Shifman

Shifman is a handmade luxury mattress brand that has been around since the last 1800s and has a legacy of elegant design and is found in mattress retailers and at Bloomingdales. Their mattresses are very high priced, usually well over $5,000 to start. Though they are a status symbol for some and boast hand craftsmanship, there are those that find that they provide a bad value for the materials used.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Lifekind in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Lifekind


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Lifekind: 8.8/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Lifekind: 8.7/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Price Value:
Lifekind: 8.5/10
Shifman: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Lifekind: 8.8/10
Shifman: 7.4/10

Price:
Lifekind: $1795-$4995
Shifman: $2,598-$29,783

Lifekind:
Get Yours Now

Shifman:
Get Yours Now

Lifekind's Owner Satisfaction

Most sleepers give these mattresses good marks for satisfaction. There are solid scores overall from sleepers, but some with differing experiences. There were some that felt discomfort. Read on to learn if these mattresses will work for you specifically!

Lifekind's Supportiveness

Mattress support is very important for keeping things comfortable at night. These mattresses provide a supportive sleeping surface -- above average in the industry. This is important if you are suffering from lack of support currently. Most customers respond that these mattresses provide proper support.

Edge Support
Edge support is how much support there is on the sides of the mattress versus the middle. Reviewers describe these mattresses as having good edge support overall, but some may experience sinking or contouring along the edge of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is great for those that want to understand if a mattress is going to be firm or soft. It is also great for those that want to understand if a mattress provides even support. Overall, these mattresses provide good even support initially.

Lifekind's Durability

All mattress buyers are looking for a mattress that has comfort that lasts for a decade. Though there are some reasons, like our changing body, that would mean we would want a new bed after 15 years, we would all be happier knowing our mattress could last that long. Reviewers agree that these mattresses do fairly well when it comes to durability. Most customers will find they last over 7 years, but some have reported not loving the overall feel. If you are a heavy person and worried about durability, take a look at some of the customer reviews before puchasing.

Shifman's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering purchasing, keep reading below for information on feel. Unfortunately, they get poor ratings from some customers. Some were extremely happy with their purchase, but many others were not as excited.

Shifman's Supportiveness

There are mixed feelings from customers about the longevity of support of these mattresses. Though many find these mattresses comfy initially, if you have a heavier body type, do some added dilligence before purchasing.

Edge Support
For those that want quality edge support, you may want to read more reviews as some are unsatisfied with the edge support.

Shifman's Durability

In addition to being well supported, having a long lasting mattress is what shoppers are looking for. We all want to find a mattress that is just as cozy as it was day 1 on day 1001. However, sadly these mattresses are not rated very well by sleepers on longevity and some have experienced issues after only a short time. If you are considering buying for your main mattress, read over the specs and policies to make sure it will work for you.

Browse Lifekind Customer Reviews

Best Mattress Ever

I switched from a Sleep Number to The Euro mattress and I only wish I had done it sooner. I haven't slept so good in years. I purchased the medium-firm and it is perfect. I am grateful to Lifekind and its excellent customer service. Thank you!

View More Reviews

Browse Shifman Customer Reviews

I bought my first Shifman Mattress...

I bought my first Shifman Mattress in Bloomdales in 2001. It lasted me over ten years and was only tossed out due to the impossibility of getting such a heavy, well-made mattress down my third floor tenement stairs. I switched brands to my regret and have never gotten the good night's sleep I had with my Shifman. I can't even turn the mattress over because it is a one-sided mattress, something I was unaware of. When this one bites the dust, I'm returning to Shifman. It is a costly product and worth every cent.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.