Layla vs Urban

Get an Instant Discount for Layla Get $100 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Layla

Layla got its start in 2015 as the mattress in the box trying to fight homelessness with every mattress purchased. Since then, they have focused themselves primarily on making one better mattress, crafting an infused-copper memory foam mattress for everyone. With materials that are cooler and more customizable, there is definitely something to this mattress. If you are interested in a slightly soft all-foam mattress, this is mattress is worth a look.

Urban

Urban Mattress is both a retailer and a brand of mattress. They were founded in Boulder, CO in 2008 with only one store and have grown to 14 stores in over 12 cities across the US. Their retail operation carries other mattress brands such as Vispring (the luxury British bedding brand) and Tempur-pedic, along with their own brand Urban Mattress and Urban Naturals. They are also active in social responsibility, donating to local charities in each of their locations. They have a budget line of Urban Mattress bedding focusing on both memory foam and hybrid bedding with a mid-price point to fit any budget.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Layla in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Layla

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Layla: 9.4/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Layla: 9.4/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Price Value:
Layla: 9.3/10
Urban: 8.8/10

No Back Pain:
Layla: 9.3/10
Urban: 8.9/10

Price:
Layla: $499-$999
Urban: $299-$4299

Layla:
Get $100 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Urban:
Get Yours Now

Layla's Owner Satisfaction

It is a difficult task to understand which mattresses are truly the best received by customers. Based on our analysis of online customer sentiment, customers rate these mattresses very well. Although you may not necessarily agree after buying, a solid customer satisfaction score is a great place to start an in depth review. Read on below!

Layla's Supportiveness

Having support is extremely important to the feel and comfort of a mattress and whether it helps alleviate back pain. Overall, these mattresses do a fine job supporting the body for their firmness. This means that you can sleep easy with these mattresses supporting you.

Edge Support
Reviewers describe these mattresses as having good edge support. This means that the sides of the bed should be comfortable to most sleepers and the mattress won't sink under your weight.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Dropping a bowling ball on your mattress is a helpful way of testing support. Customers report that these mattresses offer a good consistent surface, which is great for those that want to feel secure in their purchase.

Layla's Durability

Having a mattress that is durable is very important to shoppers, but some brands care more about selling their products than focus on long term quality. Luckily, these mattresses are above average when it comes to durability. Most will sleep comfortably for 5 to 7 years, but some heavier folks may see their mattress degrade faster.

Get an Instant Discount for Layla:   Get $100 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Urban's Owner Satisfaction

Online reviews are a great resource to discovering if a product will work for you. Overall, these mattresses are rated well by customers, but there were a few that didn't vote as highly. Look over the below details to discover if one of these mattresses will fit your body.

Urban's Supportiveness

These mattresses offer a good amount of support Customers report that their spines are aligned and hips and shoulders are cradled.

Edge Support
These mattresses also are competitive with their edge support, which is how a mattress keeps even support along its sides. For those that like to relax close to the sides of the mattress, these mattresses will support you well enough.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A bowling ball is good at providing an indication of firmness, and it is can help in seeing how the firmness changes throughout the mattress. Therefore, it can show if there is even resistance or if some areas sag. Based on this, these mattresses offer even support.

Urban's Durability

It's difficult to find products that last a long time these days. Brands, for the most part, rather not make a product that lasts a lifetime if they can make repeatable revenue. However, there are still good brands out there. These mattresses, specifically, provide a good element of durability to most sleepers. Most folks will have them last between 7 - 12 years, though some folks who are larger may find they break down a short time before that.

Browse Layla Customer Reviews

The near perfect bed

I recently moved from a 15 year old box spring mattress to memory foam. I had always thought of myself as a firm mattress sleeper since my box-spring mattress was pretty hard. After doing a bit of research, I purchased the Amerisleep Revere bed. Most of the memory foam mattresses averaged a firmness of 6-7 on online reviews, but I found out that this was way too hard for me after sleeping on the Amerisleep Revere bed for a couple months. I ended up returning that mattress and trying the Layla mattress that had a firmness rating of 3 on the soft side and a 7 on the hard hard on online reviews, but also liked the idea of being able to flip it to a firmer mattress if I wanted to (which I have not tried yet). After about a week of getting use to, I found that I am falling asleep way more easily that I did with the box-spring or Amerisleep mattress. Also the company is true to its word that it dissipates heat well through its copper infused mattress even with a mattress cover. I have not tried it during the peak of summer yet but I stayed relatively cooler at the end of summer that my previous two mattresses.

View More Reviews

Browse Urban Customer Reviews

Bought it in Aurora, CO

Liked what I felt in the store, but it feels a little less magical at home. However, I can't complain much because it still really beats my old crappy Serta.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.