Layla vs Stearns And Foster

Get an Instant Discount for Layla Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Layla

Layla got its start in 2015 as the mattress in the box trying to fight homelessness with every mattress purchased. Since then, they have focused themselves primarily on making one better mattress, crafting an infused-copper memory foam mattress for everyone. With materials that are cooler and more customizable, there is definitely something to this mattress. If you are interested in a slightly soft all-foam mattress, this is mattress is worth a look.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy brands are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. With luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs, most customers find pillowy comfort with these mattresses at first. However, over the years, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Layla in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Layla

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Layla: 9.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Layla: 9.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Layla: 9.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Layla: 9.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Layla: $499-$999
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Layla:
Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Layla's Owner Satisfaction

Having a mattress that works well for customers is a good place to begin before learning if it will work for your specifically. These mattresses have great customer satisfaction versus competitors based on online reviews. Sleepers describe having good experiences with the brand and feeling comfortable in bed. Keep reading below to discover if one of these mattresses will work well for your body!

Layla's Supportiveness

Being supportive is extremely important to how customers feel on their mattress and whether it provides health benefits to the spine. These mattresses are good at supporting sleepers overall. So, if you were worried about support for these mattresses, you can rest easy!

Edge Support
Most customers report that they are satisfied with the edge support of these mattresses. This means that the sides of the bed will offer resilience and the mattress will prop most sleepers up rather than sinking.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is popular for measuring firmness. Customers report that these mattresses offer a good consistent surface, which is perfect for customers wanting to feel secure about support.

Layla's Durability

It is extremely important for shoppers to find a durable mattress, but some brands focus more on shipping product than they do about quality. Luckily, these mattresses have good ratings when it comes to durability. Most customers are happy with their mattress after 5 years, but some heavier folks may find that it breaks down faster for them.

Get an Instant Discount for Layla:   Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews are sometimes hard to make sense of -- especially with all of the noise in the industry. These mattresses, unfortunately, aren't scored as well by customers. There are still those that love them, but many others have complaints. Make sure to read on to figure out if they will work for you.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Based on the reviews, these mattresses have above average supportiveness, which is refreshing for those struggling with the aches and pains of a sagging bed. That said, some people have reported that they don't feel well supported, so make sure that the firmness range is aligned with your body type.

Edge Support
Edge support is how much a mattress props you up along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses do fine overall, but some folks may experience some contouring along the sides.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Finding a mattress that is highly durable is the best, and when our mattress starts to hurt our backs after a few months, we feel swindled. However, now more than ever, it is getting harder to find lasting comfort. With more choices for us than ever, some brands aren't always investing in quality. When it comes to these mattresses, unfortunately, they have some sleepers who have reported durability issues over a short time. That doesn't necessarily mean that durability issues will happen to everyone, but make sure to read up more before buying.

Browse Layla Customer Reviews

The near perfect bed

I recently moved from a 15 year old box spring mattress to memory foam. I had always thought of myself as a firm mattress sleeper since my box-spring mattress was pretty hard. After doing a bit of research, I purchased the Amerisleep Revere bed. Most of the memory foam mattresses averaged a firmness of 6-7 on online reviews, but I found out that this was way too hard for me after sleeping on the Amerisleep Revere bed for a couple months. I ended up returning that mattress and trying the Layla mattress that had a firmness rating of 3 on the soft side and a 7 on the hard hard on online reviews, but also liked the idea of being able to flip it to a firmer mattress if I wanted to (which I have not tried yet). After about a week of getting use to, I found that I am falling asleep way more easily that I did with the box-spring or Amerisleep mattress. Also the company is true to its word that it dissipates heat well through its copper infused mattress even with a mattress cover. I have not tried it during the peak of summer yet but I stayed relatively cooler at the end of summer that my previous two mattresses.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss

Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.