Layla vs Sleep Number

Get an Instant Discount for Layla Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Layla

Layla got its start in 2015 as the mattress in the box trying to fight homelessness with every mattress purchased. Since then, they have focused themselves primarily on making one better mattress, crafting an infused-copper memory foam mattress for everyone. With materials that are cooler and more customizable, there is definitely something to this mattress. If you are interested in a slightly soft all-foam mattress, this is mattress is worth a look.

Sleep Number

Sleep Number has innovated over the years. What most people know them for is their firmness number technology that allows you to adjust the firmness on either side of the bed with the touch of a remote. However, over the last few years, they have launched more smart technology in their mattresses. This tech adds sleep tracking and automated adjustment as you sleep. While most sleepers find this technology very interesting, there are some complaints from customers about durability and long term comfort. Read on to drilldown into each of their mattresses.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Layla in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Layla

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Layla: 9.4/10
Sleep Number: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Layla: 9.4/10
Sleep Number: 7.4/10

Price Value:
Layla: 9.3/10
Sleep Number: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Layla: 9.3/10
Sleep Number: 8.5/10

Price:
Layla: $499-$999
Sleep Number: $499-$7099

Layla:
Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Sleep Number:
Get Yours Now

Layla's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses are provided great scores from sleepers versus others, which means that based off of recent and overall customer sentiment these mattresses have great percentages of positive feedback. Now that you know what customers think in total, read on to learn more about specifics.

Layla's Supportiveness

Solid support throughout a mattress is essential to its feel and whether it does a good job with the back and spine. These mattresses offer a good supportive surface to sleep on for most sleepers. So, you should rest easy with these mattresses supporting your back.

Edge Support
Most reviewers describe the edge support as good overall. This means that you can lay on the side of the bed comfortably and the mattress will prop most sleepers up rather than sinking.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Some reviewers love the bowling ball test to measure firmness and support. These mattresses do well at keeping consistency across the mattress surface without many quality issues, which is perfect for customers wanting to feel secure about support.

Layla's Durability

We all want a mattress that will last for years, but due to new companies and products, it can be hard for shoppers to find out the truth. That said, customers are clear when you can read all of the reviews. These mattreses last for more than a few years for the average customer. For those that are of heavier builds, these mattresses may be less durable.

Get an Instant Discount for Layla:   Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Sleep Number's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be hard to see from a high level -- especially with brands trying at all costs to protect their reputation. Customers, sadly, don't give these mattresses as high reception as others in the industry. There are still folks that love their mattresses, but there are many others with complaints. Read on to understand the specifics of the mattresses.

Sleep Number's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is key for getting a good night's sleep. If your bed doesn't prop you up, a mattress that aligns the spine could give you a much better sleeping life. Most customers were happy with the support from these mattresses, but some had issues with the feel.

Edge Support
Most will find these mattresses to be fine for edge support, which is ideal for those who like to put weight on the side of the mattress. Some that are heavier and have larger builds may still experience some sagging along the edges.

Sleep Number's Durability

These mattresses may not last as long as you'd hope. Some reviewers have had complaints regarding durability and comfort over a short horizon. If you are larger or are looking for something supportive, one of these mattresses may provide initial comfort, but make sure to do some more research before buying.

Browse Layla Customer Reviews

The near perfect bed

I recently moved from a 15 year old box spring mattress to memory foam. I had always thought of myself as a firm mattress sleeper since my box-spring mattress was pretty hard. After doing a bit of research, I purchased the Amerisleep Revere bed. Most of the memory foam mattresses averaged a firmness of 6-7 on online reviews, but I found out that this was way too hard for me after sleeping on the Amerisleep Revere bed for a couple months. I ended up returning that mattress and trying the Layla mattress that had a firmness rating of 3 on the soft side and a 7 on the hard hard on online reviews, but also liked the idea of being able to flip it to a firmer mattress if I wanted to (which I have not tried yet). After about a week of getting use to, I found that I am falling asleep way more easily that I did with the box-spring or Amerisleep mattress. Also the company is true to its word that it dissipates heat well through its copper infused mattress even with a mattress cover. I have not tried it during the peak of summer yet but I stayed relatively cooler at the end of summer that my previous two mattresses.

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Number Customer Reviews

Going with the C2 and adding my own bells and whistles

Very grateful for Candid Reviewer's advice. We were interested in the C2 after seeing the excellent rating it received from Consumer Reports, with high marks for durability, side and back sleeping. We went to the sleep number store, stuck to our plan and avoided being up- sold, and bought (on Amazon) both the recommended fiber topper and a gel topper to experiment with once the C2 arrives. We also are using our old metal frame with a queen-size bunkie board ($69), for a nice savings compared to the $300 foundation from sleep number. More $ for new sheets and bedding!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.