La Z Boy vs Urban

Get The Best April 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

La Z Boy

La-Z-Boy has become a well-known and recognizable furniture brand, best known for their exceptionally comfortable recliners and sofas. Over the years, they have also expanded into other furniture items, including mattresses. They craft two mattress options -- the Select and the Essential, both of which feature pocket coil support systems.

Urban

Urban Mattress is both a retailer and a brand of mattress. They were founded in Boulder, CO in 2008 with only one store and have grown to 14 stores in over 12 cities across the US. Their retail operation carries other mattress brands such as Vispring (the luxury British bedding brand) and Tempur-pedic, along with their own brand Urban Mattress and Urban Naturals. They are also active in social responsibility, donating to local charities in each of their locations. They have a budget line of Urban Mattress bedding focusing on both memory foam and hybrid bedding with a mid-price point to fit any budget.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend La Z Boy in this match up!

See Our Full Review of La Z Boy

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
La Z Boy: 9.2/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
La Z Boy: 9.2/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Price Value:
La Z Boy: 9.3/10
Urban: 8.8/10

No Back Pain:
La Z Boy: 9.1/10
Urban: 8.9/10

Price:
La Z Boy: $600-$1300
Urban: $299-$4299

La Z Boy:
Get Yours Now

Urban:
Get Yours Now

La Z Boy's Owner Satisfaction

Having great ratings from customers is an important indicator for shoppers. Customers give these mattresses higher marks than most competitors, which should give you a good starting point to learn more. Read on to discover if one of these will work for you!

La Z Boy's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress is one of the most important things to just about everyone. Even if you like mattresses in non-firm varieties, a mattress that gives you a healthier back and spine is very important. These mattresses offer good support for most reviewers.

Edge Support
Lots of folks are looking for mattresses with good edge support. These mattresses do well in that category, which means that sleepers report feeling consistency in support near the sides of the bed.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is a great way to measure mattress firmness and it is a great way to measure even support too. These mattresses do well with evenness of support across the surface of the mattress.

La Z Boy's Durability

Everyone who is looking for a mattress is looking for one that will last. However, with some brands out there focused on other things than durability, finding a mattress that lasts can be a difficult thing to find. However, even still, these mattresses are rated well for durability. Most sleepers will see them last up to a decade. If you are larger in frame, you may find your mattress slightly less durable.

Check the Prices For La Z Boy:   Get Today's Prices

Urban's Owner Satisfaction

Most sleepers feel excellent with their mattresses and reviewed them well. However, some folks didn't have the same feeling. If you are thinking about buying one of these mattresses, make sure to read more below to make sure it will work for your body type.

Urban's Supportiveness

Overall, support is important for spine alignment and overall comfort of a mattress over the long term. Most sleepers describe these mattresses as having solid support, but some customers have reported not feeling 100% supported all the time.

Edge Support
Edge support is an absolutel must for folks looking for the best mattresses and for those that like to lay close to the side. These mattresses provide good resistance on the edge of the mattress, but some heavier folks may find the edge support less than ideal for them.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A bowling ball test is a great way to measure mattress firmness and support. These mattresses offer solid support for most customers, but there may be the rare few that don't experience the same evenness described.

Urban's Durability

All mattress buyers want to find a mattress that will sleep comfortably after a decade or more. Though there might be some factors, like our bodies, that would mean that we would still want to a new mattress after 15 years, we all hope that our mattress would still last that long. These mattresses, specifically, are competitive when it comes to durability. Most customers will find they last over 7 years, but some have reported not loving the overall feel. If you are a larger person and concerned about durability, make sure to read the reviews before selecting.

Browse La Z Boy Customer Reviews

Very surprised! - Darlene G.

I honestly was skeptical, when this box was delivered to my house and I was thinking, how is there possibly a King size mattress rolled up inside of this?.. My family found it quite exciting getting it opened and watching it quickly expand! Our first night, my husband, thought it might be a little firm for his liking but by the 3rd night, he noticed he's having a more restful sleep with less waking up during the night. What I am happiest about, is I'm not waking up with my lower back hurting from feeling like I've been sleeping in a hole. We've had 3 different mattresses in the past 10 years and this is the best I've felt in the mornings, by far..This mattress has completely changed my thoughts on a foam bed.

View More Reviews

Browse Urban Customer Reviews

Bought it in Aurora, CO

Liked what I felt in the store, but it feels a little less magical at home. However, I can't complain much because it still really beats my old crappy Serta.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.