Kluft vs Southerland

Get The Best April 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Kluft

Kluft is the signature brand of E.S. Kluft, who also crafts Aireloom mattresses. The claim to fame of Kluft mattresses is their use of luxury materials like cashmere and Joma® wool. They offer three hybrid mattress collections with pocketed coils, latex, foam and packed luxury comfort materials, and a latex mattress option. Most customers like their Kluft mattresses at first, but durability is a big concern for many reviewers who experienced sagging issues.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Kluft in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Kluft


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Kluft: 7.7/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Kluft: 7.6/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Kluft: 6.1/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Kluft: 7.8/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Kluft: $3422-40842
Southerland: $399-2399

Kluft:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Kluft's Owner Satisfaction

Sleeper reviews can be hard to understand from a high level -- especially with all of the great marketing that is being done to capture people's attention. Sleepers, sadly, don't always feel comfortable from these mattresses. There are still customers that are very satisfied, but many others who are not. Learn more below to understand the specifics.

Kluft's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is essential for having a good night's sleep. These mattresses do well in supporting folks at the beginning, but there are some who have found the long term support lacking. Make sure to take a look at the reviews to make sure these mattresses work for you.

Edge Support
Most folks find edge support to be an important deciding factor on the feel of a mattress. These mattresses have okay edge support for most sleepers, but some sleepers may experience more dipping over time.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In bowling ball tests that measure the supportiveness of a new mattress, supportiveness for these mattresses is fairly even. That said, there are some that have experienced issues with support over time.

Kluft's Durability

Having a mattress that lasts is one of the most important factors to sleepers. Everyone is hopeful in finding a bed that is just as comfortable ten years from now as it was day one. Unfortunately, not all folks have had good things to say about these mattresses in regards to durability. If you are thinking about using this mattress nightly, read through the customer reviews and return policies to make sure that you are secure in your purchase.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were very pleased with their mattresses, but others had issues. Despite those that love these mattresses, these mattresses have lower than average customer satisfaction. If you are considering one of these mattresses, make sure to read on for more information.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Some folks feel good with the support in these mattresses, but some others have complained about loss of support. For those that already have aches and pains, do some added research before purchasing.

Edge Support
There are some mixed reports about edge support for these mattresses. Some find these mattresses to have even support, but others had problems with dipping along the sides.

Southerland's Durability

These mattresses may not be as durable as you would hope after buying. Some sleepers have had complaints about the feel and durability over a short time. If you have a larger body frame and are hoping for something with longevity, these may provide initial comfort, but make sure to brush up on the warranty and return policy before buying.

Browse Kluft Customer Reviews

Big lump in the middle

Extremely dissappointed after I shelled out so much money. After only a few days, there is severe body contouring and a lump in the middle. This is so ridiculous. I called them and they said that it is normal for a 1.5 inch depression, but I can't believe this because it is unsleepable. I feel like I can barely reach my partner through the hump.

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.