Kingsdown vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best January 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Kingsdown

Kingsdown has been around 1904 and provides luxury mattresses -- many seen in mattress retailers and homegoods stores. However, you can purchase them online through resellers. They offer eight mattresses with various fabric breakdowns -- from memory foam, to latex, to gel, and innerspring.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Stearns And Foster in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Stearns And Foster


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Kingsdown: 7.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Kingsdown: 7.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Kingsdown: 8.5/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Kingsdown: 8.5/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Kingsdown: $700-$2500
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Kingsdown:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Kingsdown's Owner Satisfaction

Getting a sense of how customers feel about mattresses can direct shoppers towards good options. Sadly, customers don't always feel comfortable with these mattresses. Some have immediate comfort, but othere have complaints. If you are considering, make sure to read on to figure out if one of these mattresses will work for you.

Kingsdown's Supportiveness

Most customers describe these mattresses as having above average supportiveness, which is hopeful for those that are looking for something to align their spine at night. However, there are some reviewers that describe a lack of support for their bodies, so make sure to do some extra research on the firmness and whether it will work on your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is a mesaure of the supportiveness along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses offer good supportiveness for most, but some folks may experience some contouring along the sides.

Kingsdown's Durability

Sadly, these mattresses aren't well loved for their durability. While some sleepers reported feeling comfortable, others describe feeling issues and discomfort of a short time. If you are thinking about buying, read up on the return and warranty policies beforehand.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering one of these mattresses, make sure to read on for more information. Sadly, not all customers review them well overall. Some were perfectly satisfied with their mattress, but others had complaints about their comfort.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Most reviewers report that these mattresses do well with support, but others didn't always agree with the feel. For those that have heavier than average body types, take a look at the firmness levels and overall specs as you'll want to make sure that this adequately supports your body and your spine.

Edge Support
For those that want a mattress they can sit comfortably on, these mattresses will provide comfortable support for most people. That said, some have had complaints so make sure to review more.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

These mattresses may not be as long-living as you'd like. Some reviewers have had complaints regarding durability and comfort over a short horizon. If you are larger or are looking for something supportive, you may feel good initial comfort, but take a look at the mattress specifications and reviews before buying.

Browse Kingsdown Customer Reviews

We literally tried everyone else. This is an amazing bed.

We went through four different mattresses, and actually returned a discontinued Kingsdown mattress before getting this mattress as a replacement. Although we did not buy through Amazon (did not know at the time we could), this mattress is amazing. We tried the top of the line "number" bed, sent it back. Top of the line (and I mean expensive) memory foam number bed, and sent it back. Tried another Kingstown mattress that we still didn't like, and they talked us into this mattress....and I am so happy they did. We have had this mattress for over a year, and there are still days my wife and I wake up and say "holy cow I love this bed." I wanted to pass along this review, because we searched for a bed that wouldn't leave us with aches for two long, long years, and since the customer service was so good, I wanted to pass this along to other people.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.