Kingsdown vs Southerland

Get The Best April 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Kingsdown

Kingsdown has been around 1904 and provides competitively priced, luxury style mattresses -- many seen in mattress retailers and homegoods stores. You can also find them sold online through larger mattress retailers. They offer a variety of mattresses with various designs -- from latex, gel foam, and innerspring vareties. Though most customers like their mattresses at first, there are some complaints about durability problems over a short duration reported by customers.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend both Kingsdown and Southerland in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Kingsdown: 7.2/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Kingsdown: 7.2/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Kingsdown: 8.5/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Kingsdown: 8.5/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Kingsdown: $700-$2500
Southerland: $399-2399

Kingsdown:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Kingsdown's Owner Satisfaction

Discovering how folks really feel about a certain mattress is sometimes a hard thing -- especially with all of the marketing being done by companies and retailers. These mattresses, sadly, aren't rated as well by sleepers. There are still customers that really appreciate these beds, but many others that don't. Get more details on the specifics and hear from customers below.

Kingsdown's Supportiveness

Being supported by your mattress is intrinsic to having a good night's sleep. At the beginning, these mattresses have high marks for support, but there are some reports of problems with support over the long term. This is one reason to really do your research to make sure that these mattresses will fit your body type.

Edge Support
Edge support is important to most folks and makes it easy to get in and out of bed. These mattresses are generally well regarded on edge support, but some may experience the edges to dip more over the long term.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In density tests that measure the initial supportiveness, these mattresses have fairly even support. However, there are some folks that have experienced issues with support over time.

Kingsdown's Durability

Finding a mattress with long lasting comfort is awesome, but difficult. These mattresses are reported by customers to be not as durable as others. That said, some mattresses may last a significantly long time without issue, while other customers may have much faster discomfort. If you are heavier in body type, you may want to do extra looking before buying.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were very pleased with their mattresses, but others had issues. Despite those that are completely satisfied, this brand has lower sleeper satisfaction scores than the average. Look on below for more information if this mattress will work for you.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Customers have mixed feelings about the lasting support of these mattresses. Though there are some that find these mattresses good for them, if you have a wide frame or shoulders, do some added dilligence before purchasing.

Edge Support
For customers looking for good edge support, some reviewers report that these mattresses may not have the kind of edge support over the long term that you may need.

Southerland's Durability

These mattresses may not be as durable over the long term as you'd expect. Some sleepers have had complaints about the feel and durability over a short time. If you would consider yourself larger or looking for something with lasting support, these may provide initial comfort, but make sure to brush up on the warranty and return policy before buying.

Browse Kingsdown Customer Reviews

We literally tried everyone else. This is an amazing bed.

We went through four different mattresses, and actually returned a discontinued Kingsdown mattress before getting this mattress as a replacement. Although we did not buy through Amazon (did not know at the time we could), this mattress is amazing. We tried the top of the line "number" bed, sent it back. Top of the line (and I mean expensive) memory foam number bed, and sent it back. Tried another Kingstown mattress that we still didn't like, and they talked us into this mattress....and I am so happy they did. We have had this mattress for over a year, and there are still days my wife and I wake up and say "holy cow I love this bed." I wanted to pass along this review, because we searched for a bed that wouldn't leave us with aches for two long, long years, and since the customer service was so good, I wanted to pass this along to other people.

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.