King Koil vs Zinus

Get The Best March 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

King Koil

King Koil is a mattress brand that was founded in 1898. It started selling innerspring mattresses, but over the years has expanded to foam mattresses as well. You can find King Koil mattresses across the globe in local retailers. Some of their mattress models may be advertised under other names. Overall, they make comfortable mattresses in a variety of pricepoints, but some may find more value for the materials in other brands.

Zinus

Zinus has been in the furniture game since 1979, selling extremely affordable furniture. They have used that experience to craft a solid Consumer Affairs accreditation and also online customer experience. They make three different mattress lines -- iCoil®, Green Tea Memory Foam, and Gel Memory foam varieties, all of which are extremely low-cost, which can be a big draw with customers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend King Koil in this match up!

See Our Full Review of King Koil


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
King Koil: 8.4/10
Zinus: 7.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
King Koil: 8.5/10
Zinus: 7.6/10

Price Value:
King Koil: 8.2/10
Zinus: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
King Koil: 8.5/10
Zinus: 6.5/10

Price:
King Koil: $549-$3,399
Zinus: $100-$499

King Koil:
Get Yours Now

Zinus:
Get Yours Now

King Koil's Owner Satisfaction

Reviews are a great way to distill the benefits and drawbacks to a mattress. That said, it can be easy to get lost in the noise of hundreds of brands that seemingly have great reviews. Customers report feeling both positively and negatively about these mattresses. Some customers are very pleased with their decision, but others are not so much.

King Koil's Supportiveness

Mattress support is extremely important to a good night sleep. These mattresses are above average in their supportiveness. It is important for those that have restless night sleeps from achy backs. Most folks report that these mattresses are supportive initially.

Edge Support
Edge support is the measure of supportiveness along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses provide solid edge support overall, but there are some folks that may experience more contouring along the edge.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball and density tests are good measures of mattress firmness. It is also a solid test for understanding evenness of support throughout the mattress surface. Overall, these mattresses will provide an even surface to sleep on.

King Koil's Durability

Mattresses with good durability last between 7 and 12 years based on the materials. Generally speaking, foam mattresses will have a lower baseline of durability, while coil mattresses will last longer if they are high quality. However, mattresses of any kind that don't offer good durability will start sagging quicker especially for larger sleepers. These mattresses have mixed feelings from customers. Some find them to be fine when it comes to durability, but others have had issues.

Zinus's Owner Satisfaction

Sleeper reviews can be hard to understand from a high level -- especially with some companies focusing heavily on protecting their reputation. These mattresses, sadly, don't get the highest reception from sleepers. There are still customers that really appreciate these beds, but many others that don't. Make sure to read on to figure out if they will work for you.

Zinus's Supportiveness

All folks need a mattress that is supportive. Whether you like a firm, soft, or medium mattress, a mattress that leads to better spine alignment is key. These mattresses do a good job with support over much of the competition.

Edge Support
Many reviewers describe edge support as a key attribute of the best mattresses. Customers report that these mattresses do well with edge support, which means there is good support for sleepers on the sides of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Measuring mattress firmness with a bowling ball is a good approach and it is an excellent way of measuring support across the surface. These mattresses offer good evenness throughout the sleeping surface to help with better spine alignment.

Zinus's Durability

Finding a mattress that is highly durable can save you loads of money. But, these days, everything from what you wear to where you sleep are degrading faster. These mattresses, specifically, have mixed ratings when it comes to longevity. Each person is affected differently by their mattress and these may be fine for you, but others have had complaints long term. If you are considering, make sure to read more before buying.

Check the Prices For Zinus:   Get Today's Prices

Browse King Koil Customer Reviews

Great Quality for Price

This mattress is comfy! It's not too firm and not too soft. I love it! I was a little nervous before I bought it because the price is so low. Once I went in the store and tested it out, I knew I was going to get my monies worth. Granted I've only had it for about a week now, even my boyfriend has confirmed it's super comfortale. Get it while it's on sale.

View More Reviews

Browse Zinus Customer Reviews

Very cozy!

I've been sleeping on this for about 2 weeks now, and I'm kicking myself for not buying sooner! Very cozy.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.