King Koil vs Zenhaven

Get The Best August 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

King Koil

King Koil is a mattress brand that was founded in 1898. It started selling innerspring mattresses, but over the years has expanded to foam mattresses as well. You can find King Koil mattresses across the globe in local retailers. Some of their mattress models may be advertised under other names. Overall, they make comfortable mattresses in a variety of pricepoints, but some may find more value for the materials in other brands.

Zenhaven

Zenhaven is another brand by the factory-direct Saatva brand, which has done very well with their Saatva and Loom and Leaf brands. The Zenhaven mattress is an all-natural alternative with high-end materials like organic wool and 100% Talalay latex. What's more incredible: the pricepoint is much more affordable than major retailer varieties of the same quality, which is why it is such a great find for eco-conscious shoppers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Zenhaven in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Zenhaven

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
King Koil: 8.4/10
Zenhaven: 9.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
King Koil: 8.5/10
Zenhaven: 9.1/10

Price Value:
King Koil: 8.2/10
Zenhaven: 9.3/10

No Back Pain:
King Koil: 8.5/10
Zenhaven: 9.2/10

Price:
King Koil: $549-$3399
Zenhaven: $1299-$2499

King Koil:
Get Yours Now

Zenhaven:
Get Yours Now

King Koil's Owner Satisfaction

We all want to see how customers respond before we invest a lot of money in an expensive product. That said, it is sometimes more tedious to understand the whole layout after browsing many brands. We examined the online reviews and sentiment and found that customers give these mattresses above average marks overall. However, some had disagreements about overall feel. Study more about the mattress specifics below.

King Koil's Supportiveness

Mattress support helps with aligning the back and making sure that things are comfortable for years to come. Most folks experience these mattresses as supportive, but some folks who are lighter or heavier in build may have complaints.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important factor for customers shopping for mattresses and for those that like spending time on the side or bottom of their mattress. These mattresses should do well with edge support, but some heavier folks may find there is a slight dip along the side.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Bowling ball tests are good indicators of firmness as well as support. These mattresses provide good support overall, but there may be the rare few that don't experience the same evenness described.

King Koil's Durability

Based on the materials that are in the mattress, the average durable mattress will stay comfortable for at least 7 - 12 years. Foam mattresses are generally not as durable, while mattresses with springs last longer if they are well made. That said, mattresses that don't have good durability will start sagging much quicker no matter the materials. Sleepers have mixed things to say about these mattresses. Some feel they've found lasting good sleep, while others have problems.

Zenhaven's Owner Satisfaction

Customer satisfaction is a good foundation to looking more into a mattress. These mattresses have great customer satisfaction versus competitors based on online reviews. Customers have had good experiences with the company and feel comfortable in their beds. Take a look below to learn if this mattress will work for you!

Zenhaven's Supportiveness

Good mattress support is what you need to wake up feeling good in the morning. You don't want something that is going to sink and cause your back to curve rather than straighten. These mattresses do well working with your body and providing good support.

Edge Support
Edge support is always important to those that want to lay close to the edge of the mattress, desire sitting on the edge, or have mobility issues. These mattresses are supportive along the edges and don't suffer from too much contouring versus the center.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A popular item among readers, the bowling ball test gives a good reading on mattress firmness and evenness of support. If the mattress doesn't provide even support, then there is a big problem. However, these mattresses are rated well and shouldn't have that issue.

Zenhaven's Durability

Mattresses with high longevity are some of the most looked for by customers. However as companies focus more on profits and less on building quality products, it can be difficult to find the right mattress that lasts. However, even with this, thhese mattresses specifically do well when it comes to durability. They will last between 7 - 12 years for the average sleeper. Those that use their mattress more than nightly or are heavier than average may find their mattress is slightly less durable.

Browse King Koil Customer Reviews

Great Quality for Price

This mattress is comfy! It's not too firm and not too soft. I love it! I was a little nervous before I bought it because the price is so low. Once I went in the store and tested it out, I knew I was going to get my monies worth. Granted I've only had it for about a week now, even my boyfriend has confirmed it's super comfortale. Get it while it's on sale.

View More Reviews

Browse Zenhaven Customer Reviews

My new happy place

After sleeping on a very worn but beloved traditional mattress for 15 years and trying to be more eco-conscious and not taken by the big-box mattress stores that have popped up seemingly everywhere, my husband and I took a chance on the Zenhaven King. I was sold the minute I laid eyes (and my back) on it but my husband thought the Plush Soft side was a little too soft and while supportive, not firm enough for his back issues. So we flipped (actually rolled it over) to the Gentle Firm side and all is well in the universe. Flipping the mattress took our sleep experience to a new level. He is now talking about purchasing the Lineal Adjustable Base as well and I really want to try the pillows. The only thing that was a bit of an issue was that the mattress is designed to be used without a box-spring, which lowers the bed height significantly. Husband is 6'2 and I am 5'8. The bed was too low to easily get on without flopping so we are using our box-springs under the mattress to regain the height until we purchase the Adjustable Lineal Base. The customer service reps were very helpful and patient with our many questions and there was absolutely no pressure to buy. Considering the risk involved in purchasing something like this sight-unseen, this was by far one of the best decisions we have made.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.