King Koil vs Sleep Science

Get The Best October 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

King Koil

King Koil is a mattress brand that was founded in 1898. It started selling innerspring mattresses, but over the years has expanded to foam mattresses as well. You can find King Koil mattresses across the globe in local retailers. Some of their mattress models may be advertised under other names. Overall, they make comfortable mattresses in a variety of pricepoints, but some may find more value for the materials in other brands.

Sleep Science

Sleep Science builds a line of latex and memory foam mattresses. Their claim to fame is their 'wedge' technology that provides edge support to every piece of the mattress. Additionally, they are Certipur certified, which means they have low VOC and no formaldehyde in their mattresses. They also use bamboo material in some of their mattresses. Their mattresses are made popular through their relationship with Costco warehouse stores where they are sold at a competitive price vs many of the retail sold mattresses of similar material quality.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend King Koil in this match up!

See Our Full Review of King Koil


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
King Koil: 8.4/10
Sleep Science: 8.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
King Koil: 8.5/10
Sleep Science: 8.4/10

Price Value:
King Koil: 8.2/10
Sleep Science: 8.7/10

No Back Pain:
King Koil: 8.5/10
Sleep Science: 8.3/10

Price:
King Koil: $549-$3399
Sleep Science: $399-2499

King Koil:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Science:
Get Yours Now

King Koil's Owner Satisfaction

Making sense of customer satisfaction can be a great guide in finding yourself the right bed, but it isn't that easy. Overall, these mattresses get mixed feedback. Some reviewers found them to be exactly what they were hoping for, but others had issues with the comfort. Research more below to learn what customers say and how one of these mattresses will react to your body.

King Koil's Supportiveness

Most find these mattresses to be supportive, which means they help keep the back aligned in conjunction with their firmness level. That said, there are a few complaints from reviewers, so make sure to make sure that the materials align with your body type and sleeping position.

Edge Support
Overall, most customers report these mattresses as having satisfactory edge support, which means most don't experience a depression when sitting on the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In bowling ball tests where the firmness is measured across the mattress, these mattresses have good even support throughout the surface. That said, some have had issues with support over the long term, so make sure it works for your body before purchasing.

King Koil's Durability

Reviewers provide mixed ratings about the durability of these mattresses. We all want to find a mattress that will be as cozy now as it was 10 years ago, but unfortunately not all mattresses last for the long term. If you are considering buying a mattress with mixed reviews on durability, do a double-check on the trial and warranty policies and price to make sure that you are comfortable.

Sleep Science's Owner Satisfaction

There have been diverse feedback from sleepers about these mattresses -- both good and bad. Many report sleeping soundly and feeling cozy in their new mattress, but there were others that didn't feel as positively. Read about the mattress specifics and browse customer reviews in the section below.

Sleep Science's Supportiveness

Most folks describe these mattresses as doing a good job supporthing their bodies, but others described some discomfort with their mattress choice. For those that have heavier than average body types, read the customer reviews before buying as you'll want to make sure that you are supported well enough for your spine to be aligned.

Edge Support
For those that like to lay down by the side of the mattress, most reviewers describe the mattresses as being supportive on the edges. However, some had complaints so review more if you need edge support for mobility purposes.

Sleep Science's Durability

Mattresses aren't as durable as they used to be. A mattress that lasts 15 years is a hard thing for find. But, finding a mattress that really is cozy for a long time can save you lots long term. Unfortunately, customers give these mattresses mixed reviews on durability. Many sleepers don't report issues, but others have complaints about durability over a shorter time frame than usual.

Browse King Koil Customer Reviews

Great Quality for Price

This mattress is comfy! It's not too firm and not too soft. I love it! I was a little nervous before I bought it because the price is so low. Once I went in the store and tested it out, I knew I was going to get my monies worth. Granted I've only had it for about a week now, even my boyfriend has confirmed it's super comfortale. Get it while it's on sale.

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Science Customer Reviews

NEEDS GOOD FOUNDATION - dont use bunky board!

We bought this mattress over a year ago...had no idea that they sold a separate foundation. Spent months replacing the bunky board we got from Crate and Barrell 2 times and dealing with back pain, even called the mattress mfr. The mattress mfr said they recommend their foundation instead of bunky board. Ordering it today, hopefully it will take care of the problem but paying $50 more than if I bought them together from the start. They need to update the description and recommend the foundation if they don't buy it separately OR don't even sell the mattress alone. Description said it needs a 'solid' foundation...what does that even mean? I had a hard time trying to find a bunky board that is solid wood from many retailers. Crate and Barrel's new bunky board is made of compressed cardboard! A painful process, but I like the mattress.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.