King Koil vs Sealy

Get The Best October 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

King Koil

King Koil is a mattress brand that was founded in 1898. It started selling innerspring mattresses, but over the years has expanded to foam mattresses as well. You can find King Koil mattresses across the globe in local retailers. Some of their mattress models may be advertised under other names. Overall, they make comfortable mattresses in a variety of pricepoints, but some may find more value for the materials in other brands.

Sealy Posturepedic

Sealy is a common brand that you would see in a big box mattress store or warehouse outlet. Sealy is part of a publicly traded conglomerate, Tempursealy, who owns brands such as Tempur-Pedic and Stearns and Foster. With some competitively priced options, Sealy is an intriguing brand with many firmness and material options, but there are some durability complaints reported by some sleepers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend King Koil in this match up!

See Our Full Review of King Koil


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
King Koil: 8.4/10
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
King Koil: 8.5/10
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.3/10

Price Value:
King Koil: 8.2/10
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
King Koil: 8.5/10
Sealy Posturepedic: 7.5/10

Price:
King Koil: $549-$3399
Sealy Posturepedic: $599-$1399

King Koil:
Get Yours Now

Sealy Posturepedic:
Get Yours Now

King Koil's Owner Satisfaction

Similar to Sealy, King Koil's mattresses focus on hybrid mattresses that feature foam on the top layers and pocketed coil support systems beneath. When it comes to comfort, most customers like the way that the King Koil beds feel, with a variety of firmness options and pricepoints to choose from. That said, there are some complaints abour durability and long term comfort. If you are looking for a similar mattress, take a look at our list of best rated hybrid mattresses.

King Koil's Supportiveness

You may think supportive mattresses are always firm mattresses, but when we write about support, we are describing mattresses that support the back and spine properly, independent of how firm the mattress feels. These mattresses are well rated for their supportiveness for the average customer overall, but there are some reports about degrading support over time in some King Koil models.

Edge Support
These mattresses have good support along the edges, which is ideal for those that sit on the side of the bed or enjoy laying on the edge of the mattress. If edge support is important to you, consider getting a medium-firm or firmer mattress to ensure the side of the mattress can take the focused weight of sitting down.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
By resting a bowling ball on the mattress, you can measure how even a mattress is in terms of support. These mattresses mostly provide even support at first, but the reports of degrading durability may cause some mattresses to sag over time.

King Koil's Durability

Finding a mattress that is highly durable can save you loads of money. But, these days, everything from what you wear to where you sleep are degrading faster. Customers have mixed feelings about the durability of these mattresses. Each bed is different so one may last years for you, but others may not be so lucky. Versus Sealy, King Koil's durability scores are somewhat better, but are still a concern for some of their customers.

Sealy Posturepedic's Owner Satisfaction

Sealy makes a variety of mattresses, from all-foam options to hybrids with pocketed coils that provide extra support to the spine. Their mattresses also come in many pricepoint and firmness options. When it comes to comfort though, sleepers have mixed reviews. Some have found lasting comfort, but there is a sizable number of customers that describe issues getting comfortable and long term durability concerns. If you are looking for a wide range of options for a budget-friendly price, take a look at our list of best rated mattresses.

Sealy Posturepedic's Supportiveness

Support isn't equal to firmness. Support is great if it aligns the spine and leads to a healthy night's sleep. Sadly, some customers don't find all of the Sealy models to have great support. Most find the mattress to be comfortable at the beginning, but some folks felt like support was lacking over the long term. While both King Koil and Sealy have some mixed reviews on support at time, King Koil may have better longevity in terms of support and comfort based on the scores from customers.

Edge Support
For those that sit on the edge of their mattress in the morning, edge support is very important. For most folks, these mattresses do a good job with edge support at the beginning, but some had complaints that edge support wasn't all it could be long term.

Sealy Posturepedic's Durability

Sadly, not everyone rates these mattresses well for longevity. While some sleepers reported lasting comfort, others have experienced quicker issues than average. Make sure to take a look at the specifications, warranty, and reviews before buying.

Browse King Koil Customer Reviews

Great Quality for Price

This mattress is comfy! It's not too firm and not too soft. I love it! I was a little nervous before I bought it because the price is so low. Once I went in the store and tested it out, I knew I was going to get my monies worth. Granted I've only had it for about a week now, even my boyfriend has confirmed it's super comfortale. Get it while it's on sale.

View More Reviews

Browse Sealy Posturepedic Customer Reviews

It really is a top quality innerspring mattress. It REALLY is!

I did a lot of research before buying this mattress. The deciding factor was the recommendation of Consumer Reports. When I first received this mattress, in a square box, I was soooo disappointed and upset. I attempted to return it before opening it, but realized how expensive shipping would be. I returned to the website and their were no reviews but I searched some other mattresses with the same features and price points and discovered that it would, when unfolded, rise to it's full 12 inches and it did indeed have cloth covered coils (innersprings). It Did rise, and then some. I think it's about 13". Very comfortable, everything Consumer Reports said it would be. It's a little firmer than I would like it to be. It's not hard by any means, in fact it's quite comfortable and very good for my husband's back, he likes it a little firmer than I. after putting a good quilted mattress cover on, it added just the amount of plush and squish I love. I get a good night's sleep and wake with no stiffness or aches. I really like it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.