King Koil vs Saatva

Get an Instant Discount for Saatva Limited Time: Get $75 Off

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

King Koil

King Koil is a mattress brand that was founded in 1898. It started selling innerspring mattresses, but over the years has expanded to foam mattresses as well. You can find King Koil mattresses across the globe in local retailers. Some of their mattress models may be advertised under other names. Overall, they make comfortable mattresses in a variety of pricepoints, but some may find more value for the materials in other brands.

Saatva

Saatva is one of the best mattresses in a box for those looking for a traditional innerspring mattress feel. Rather than focus on lots of blowout sales and other gimmicks, Saatva decided to invest in better coil technology to provide sleepers with a better traditional mattress, but shipped in a box to pass on the savings to customers. By encasing their upper coils in foam, they have a 'best of both worlds' feel that makes them one of the most interesting brands available.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Saatva in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Saatva

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
King Koil: 8.4/10
Saatva: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
King Koil: 8.5/10
Saatva: 9.4/10

Price Value:
King Koil: 8.2/10
Saatva: 9.3/10

No Back Pain:
King Koil: 8.5/10
Saatva: 9.3/10

Price:
King Koil: $549-$3399
Saatva: $599-$1499

King Koil:
Get Yours Now

Saatva:
Limited Time: Get $75 Off

King Koil's Owner Satisfaction

Each of us want to see customer feedback before buying such an expensive product. However, it isn't always easy to make sense of the takeaways when confronted with a bunch of brands. Based on our analysis of customer reviews and sentiment, customers review these mattresses better than average. However, some were not as pleased Make sure to read on for added specifics.

King Koil's Supportiveness

Mattress support is important for keeping your spine well aligned and sleeping well. Overall, these mattresses are above average in terms of supporting sleepers. It is important to note for those that suffer with spine alignment or tossing and turning. Most customers report that these mattresses do a decent job providing support.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of supportiveness there is on the edges against the center section of the mattress. These mattresses have good edge support, but some customers may experience more contouring along the edges.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test provides a good measurements of mattress firmness. It is also a great test to see if there is evenness in support or if there are peaks and valleys. Overall, these mattresses will provide an even surface to sleep on.

King Koil's Durability

Mattresses that are durable will stay cozy at least 7 - 12 years based on the materials. Foam mattresses are less durable, while mattresses with springs tend to last longer if they are well made. That being said, mattresses that don't put emphasis on durability will start breaking down much faster independent of materials used. These mattresses get mixed reviews from sleepers. Some describe good comfort, but others have had issues with lasting support.

Saatva's Owner Satisfaction

Shopping for a new mattress is hard, which is why finding a brand with good customer satisfaction is a great starting point to finding if a mattress will work for you. Sleepers rate these mattresses highly versus others. Read on below for the customer reviews and mattress specifics.

Saatva's Supportiveness

Everyone needs a mattress that properly supports them. Independent of your firmness preference, a mattress that keeps your body properly aligned is very important. Overall, these mattresses offer that kind of support.

Edge Support
Edge support is one of the most important things to sleepers -- must don't know until they lose it. Customers report that these mattresses do well with edge support, which means sleepers feel propped up on the sides of their mattress as well as the center.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Resting a bowling ball on the mattress is a fun way to measure mattress firmness and it can measure even support too. These mattresses do well with evenness of support across the surface of the mattress.

Saatva's Durability

Having a mattress that lasts a long time can means thousands of dollars in your pocket. It's one more reason why longevity is so important for mattress buyers. That said, lots of brands are more concerned with profit. Even still, there are some brands that do a good job making durable products. These mattresses have good durability for most sleepers overall. Unless you have a heavier build, these mattresses should last for up to a decade easily.

Get an Instant Discount for Saatva:   Limited Time: Get $75 Off

Browse King Koil Customer Reviews

Great Quality for Price

This mattress is comfy! It's not too firm and not too soft. I love it! I was a little nervous before I bought it because the price is so low. Once I went in the store and tested it out, I knew I was going to get my monies worth. Granted I've only had it for about a week now, even my boyfriend has confirmed it's super comfortale. Get it while it's on sale.

View More Reviews

Browse Saatva Customer Reviews

Superb Luxury Mattress And Excellent Service Make The Saatva a Best Bet!

When I left a 35 year career as Creative Director for a major Advertising Agency my timing was perfect - the economy collapsed. I took a job with a major mattress chain creating campaigns to promote certain models.

During this period I visited a number of mattress manufacturers and was amazed that the same mattress meant to sell at a retail point of let's say $2,000 would by a simple change of the name and damask become a mattress set for an optimum price point of $800. This is why it's impossible for the consumer to comparison shop. If you find a mattress you like called "The Cloud" the store you're in is the only store that carries that mattress with that name.

Right down the street that very same mattress may be selling for as much as 50% more or less - the selling of mattresses is unfortunately a shady business and the consumer suffers from it.

I'll caveat the following by saying I am a research fanatic. It's in my blood and it drives most friends and family crazy - I am unrelenting and I go over board. That said when my better half and I realized that neither of us were getting a decent nights sleep, with the exception for our two Old English Bulldogs who could doze off on a bed of nails. I was handed my orders to find a mattress and the search began.

During a web search I found the Saatva site and book marked it along with the dozen others I had saved. When I finally read through the web site I was struck by two thing:.

1) The site is brimming with valuable information. There is virtually no what we call in advertising "fluff" or "weasel words" it's the best education about mattresses you'll find.

2) Claims by Saatva are backed up with facts. spec by spec, apples to apples. In fact there is a comparison chart between the Saatva mattress and other high end mattresses. As an example one comparison of the Saatva at $899 shows that the Saatva actually surpasses an equivalent Kings Down Mattress which has an MSRP of over three grand.

I drove them crazy with endless telephone calls and I'm surprised the company didn't take out a restraining order against me. What I found time and time again is that each person I spoke with knew the product inside and out. If I had questions about the coil system, the foam densities, the gauge of the springs they were answered. The few times there was a question that couldn't be answered ( because no normal person would ask these questions) but that's not me. I would be transferred to someone who could.

Never once was I pressured to buy. There is no "one time deal if you buy today" Pressure what so ever. Saatva means "Truth" and that's exactly what you get.

Now about the mattress!

We purchased the King Size Luxury Firm it was delivered with lightning speed and the plastic wrapping is beyond protective - it's closer to a Hazmat suit. When the mattress was placed in our bed frame - my spouse and I were both struck by how absolutely gorgeous it is. Quality touches abound. From the iron clad strong handles, to the intricate braiding on the sides. The deep tufted upholstered buttons make for an elegant and incredibly comfortable surface.

The Damask is pure 100% natural cotton both gorgeous in look and feel and the Damask ensures the mattress breathes. As far as support and comfort the Saatva mattress is brilliant. We haven't slept this well, this deeply and woken feeling this good in years, and that's a fact.
If you're still reading this novel and aren't comatose by this time, I applaud you. I promise to wrap this up in a minimum of 300 more pages.

The common thread between everyone at Saatva is passion.

Saatva promises silver but delivers gold and few mattress sellers, if any can make that claim. There is no single piece of furniture in the world that has such a profound effect on our health and well being. Our Saatva is the best investment we have made in years - and it's Bulldog Approved!

Highest Recommendation

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.