King Koil vs Purple

Get The Best September 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

King Koil

King Koil is a mattress brand that was founded in 1898. It started selling innerspring mattresses, but over the years has expanded to foam mattresses as well. You can find King Koil mattresses across the globe in local retailers. Some of their mattress models may be advertised under other names. Overall, they make comfortable mattresses in a variety of pricepoints, but some may find more value for the materials in other brands.

Purple

Purple® mattresses are taking the industry by storm with their super lightweight polymer that is purple. It uses 'smart grid' technology to keep things cool and relieve joint and pressure point pain. Overall, they run a bit less firm than other memory foam mattresses and are rated in the medium firmness range, which is great for side sleepers. Some folks love the feel of this mattress, though there are others that prefer a more traditional feel.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Purple in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Purple

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
King Koil: 8.4/10
Purple: 9.1/10

Customer Satisfaction:
King Koil: 8.5/10
Purple: 9/10

Price Value:
King Koil: 8.2/10
Purple: 9.1/10

No Back Pain:
King Koil: 8.5/10
Purple: 9/10

Price:
King Koil: $549-$3399
Purple: $699-$1299

King Koil:
Get Yours Now

Purple:
Get Yours Now

King Koil's Owner Satisfaction

We all want to see what customers are saying before we buy a product -- especially a pricy one. However, it can be hard to distill the takeaways after browsing countless other sites. In our analysis of sentiment and reviews, we found that sleepers score these mattresses above average. However, there are some complaints Make sure to read on for added specifics.

King Koil's Supportiveness

Overall, support is important for spine alignment and overall comfort of a mattress over the long term. These mattresses do a good job providing support for most folks, but some folks who are lighter or heavier in build may have complaints.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute for great mattresses and for those that are working on their mobility. Most customers report that these mattresses do well on edge support, but some heavier folks may experience more contouring along the sides.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Bowling ball tests are good measures of firmness and support. These mattresses provide good support overall, but some folks may experience issues with support long term.

King Koil's Durability

Customers gives these mattresses mixed reviews on lasting comfort. We're all big fans of mattresses that feel just as great as they did 10 years ago as they do today, but sadly, not all of them are made this way. If a mattress with mixed feelings on durability is on your short list, double-check the trial and warranty policies to make sure you are comfortable.

Purple's Owner Satisfaction

Reading online reviews is a wonderful way to find out if a specific product will work for you. Overall, these mattresses have high ratings from customers, but there are some that had a negative experience. Do some looking below into the mattress specifications to see if it will work for you.

Purple's Supportiveness

These mattresses are more supportive than others, which means they help keep the back aligned in conjunction with their firmness level. That said, there are a few negative reviews from customers, so make sure to make sure that the materials align with your body type and sleeping position.

Edge Support
Overall, most sleepers report that these mattresses have good edge support, which means most don't experience a depression when sitting on the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In tests of the mattress density evenness and firmness, these mattresses have similar firmness levels and therefore even support throughout. That said, some have complained about support issues over a long period, so make sure to browse the reviews before buying.

Purple's Durability

Customers are always on the lookout for highly durable mattresses. However, with durability not always being the highest priority for companies, it can be a tough prospect to find a mattress that lasts. However, even with that being said, these mattresses have some good marks on durability. They should last over 7 years for the average sleeper. If you are heavier or use your mattress more than nightly, then you may expect a little less durability.

Browse King Koil Customer Reviews

Great Quality for Price

This mattress is comfy! It's not too firm and not too soft. I love it! I was a little nervous before I bought it because the price is so low. Once I went in the store and tested it out, I knew I was going to get my monies worth. Granted I've only had it for about a week now, even my boyfriend has confirmed it's super comfortale. Get it while it's on sale.

View More Reviews

Browse Purple Customer Reviews

Excellent - Jonah

I read and watched multiple reviews and was a little skeptical about if this mattress would be a good fit for me. I decided to give it a try, and am so happy with my decision. I have only been able to sleep on it a few nights, so I can't speak to long term satisfaction, but just the feel of the mattress is so unique and comfortable. Every time I pass by my bed now, I can't help but flop on it and lay there for a few minutes. If you are on the fence about trying the mattress, I would say go for it for sure. The only disadvantage that I've noticed so far is that it is near impossible to get out of bed in the morning. I was a few minutes late to work the last few mornings because I did not want to leave my bed. When I was reading all the reviews, I heard that purple fluffs up their review page to make their mattress look better. After trying this mattress, I do not believe that is true. I believe that people genuinely love the product and want to share it with other people. I am not typically one to go out of my way to write a review, but this product is incredible so I felt compelled to do so. Obviously everyone is different so you may not have the same experience I have had, but if you are on the fence and looking for a great mattress, give Purple a try.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.