Get The Best May 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Intellibed vs. Southerland

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Intellibed

Intellibed has been making gel mattresses since 2000 with its patented gel technology. They have have two collections: the Legacy and the Luxury. These mattresses come with pocketed coil support systems and layers of latex or foam. Overall, customers like their mattresses and liken them to other familiar gel technology available in other mattresses. However, the prices are much higher than expected for the materials and some customers found their firmness disagreeable.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Intellibed in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Intellibed


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Intellibed: 8.7/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Intellibed: 8.6/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Intellibed: 8.2/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Intellibed: 8.8/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Intellibed: $1399-$4399
Southerland: $399-2399

Intellibed:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Intellibed's Owner Satisfaction

By using customer reviews, you can create a better list of potential mattresses to target. These mattresses have some great reviews by sleepers, but some didn't agree with the feel. The below has more information about the feel of the mattress and a selection of customer reviews -- study on!

Intellibed's Supportiveness

These mattresses do well when it comes to support. Though there are a few folks that don't like the firmness of these mattresses, the majority of customers like the level of support these mattresses have.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for folks that need a little extra time sitting on the side of the mattress or roll towards the edge of the mattress at night. These mattresses have good edge support and they should be able to support most customers.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is a nice way to measure mattress firmness and support. These mattresses do a good job with delivering even support throughout the mattress, which means they should do well responding to your shoulders, hips, and spine.

Intellibed's Durability

We all want a mattress that will last forever, but that is sometimes easier said than done. That said, data on materials, customer reviews, and tests make things a bit easier. These mattresses are more durable than the average and should last over 5 years for most, but some who weigh more may find they are less durable.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Understanding customer feedback can be a great relief when spending hours searching for the right product. Sleepers, regrettably, don't always repond positively towards these mattresses. Some are content with the feel and comfort level, but others are not so much. There are more details below to study if you are considering buying.

Southerland's Supportiveness

These mattresses aren't the best in terms of support. Though most report initial comfort and support of the spine, others don't like how they work with their body. If you are looking at this brand, make sure to do additional research on how it will work for your body type before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is definitely an important indicator to those with mobility concerns. However, others don't really mind as long as they are comfortable sleeping. Edge support in these mattresses may not be excellent so make sure to do added research if it is important for you.

Southerland's Durability

Everyone wants to find a mattress that will last over a decade, and when our mattress starts to hurt our backs after a few months, we feel swindled. However, now more than ever, it is getting harder to find lasting comfort. With more choices than ever, many companies are sacrificing quality to make a quick dollar. When it comes to these mattresses, unfortunately, they have some sleepers who have reported durability issues over a short time. Durability issues don't happen to everyone, but make sure to read more about the warranty and the return policies.

Browse Intellibed Customer Reviews

Love the mattress and pillows

This is one of the most comfortable mattresses I have slept on. Have enjoyed it since the first night we received it. Got pillows to go with it and love them too. Highly recommend

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.