Get The Best Holiday 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Intellibed vs. Sleep Number

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Intellibed

Intellibed was founded in 2000 with a mission to be a sleep and health wellness company. Their hybrid mattresses feature their innovative Gel Matrix® -- a responsive gel grid that is firmer than memory foam. Intellibed mattresses feature layers of latex or memory foam, the Gel Matrix, and a coil support system. Overall, customers like their mattresses and liken them to other familiar gel technology used in other mattresses. Still, the price points are much higher than expected for the materials, and some customers have mentioned issues with firmness and longevity.

Sleep Number

Sleep Number has innovated over the years, from their firmness number technology and now their smart mattress and anti-snore features. With more smart technology than ever before such as sleep tracking and automatic adjustments of temperature and firmness, most sleepers find the Sleep Number 360 mattresses very interesting. However, durability is a concern for many customers with reports of some components wearing out faster than expected given the high prices.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Intellibed in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Intellibed


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Intellibed: 8.7/10
Sleep Number: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Intellibed: 8.6/10
Sleep Number: 7.4/10

Price Value:
Intellibed: 8.2/10
Sleep Number: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Intellibed: 8.8/10
Sleep Number: 8.5/10

Price:
Intellibed: $3099-$12998
Sleep Number: $699-$11098

Intellibed:
Get Yours Now

Sleep Number:
Get Yours Now

Intellibed's Owner Satisfaction

Most customers feel quite comfy with these mattresses and they gave them high marks overall. Some customers, though, didn't feel as positively. If you are considering buying one of these mattresses, make sure to read on to make sure it will work for your body.

Intellibed's Supportiveness

Mattress support is the secret for keeping things comfy at night and in the morning. These mattresses are above average in supportiveness across all sleepers. It is important to note for those that suffer with spine alignment or tossing and turning. Most reviewers describe these mattresses as providing a decent amount of support.

Edge Support
Edge support is the measure of supportiveness along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses offer a good amount of edge support, but some may experience sinking or contouring along the edge of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test provides a good measurements of mattress firmness. It is also a solid test for understanding evenness of support throughout the mattress surface. Overall, these mattresses will work well to provide even support.

Intellibed's Durability

Longevity is one of the most important things to mattress buyers, but because of the large amount of new companies making mattresses, it can be difficult for shoppers to find out. That said, the customer feedback is clear when you can get at the data. These mattreses have good durability for the average customer. Heavier folks may find these mattresses to be less long living.

Sleep Number's Owner Satisfaction

Understanding customer feedback can be a great relief when spending hours searching for the right product. Unfortunately, sleepers don't always feel great about these mattresses. Some are content with the feel and comfort level, but others are not so much. There are more details below to study if you are considering buying.

Sleep Number's Supportiveness

Based on the reviews, these mattresses have above average supportiveness, which is ideal for those that are suffering from a sagging mattress right now. That said, some folks have had issues with the firmness and support levels overall, so make sure to figure out if the firmness and overall specifications are for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is the measure of how well the mattress supports weight on the sides. These mattresses do well here, but some may experience some degrading of support over time.

Sleep Number's Durability

Durability is one of the most important attributes to finding a mattress. Everyone is hopeful in finding a bed that is just as comfortable ten years from now as it was day one. Unfortunately, not all customers regard these mattresses highly overall on durability, and some have had some problems over the short term. If you are thinking about buying and using full time, do some research on the reviews and return policy before purchasing.

Browse Intellibed Customer Reviews

Love the mattress and pillows

This is one of the most comfortable mattresses I have slept on. Have enjoyed it since the first night we received it. Got pillows to go with it and love them too. Highly recommend

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Number Customer Reviews

Going with the C2 and adding my own bells and whistles

Very grateful for Candid Reviewer's advice. We were interested in the C2 after seeing the excellent rating it received from Consumer Reports, with high marks for durability, side and back sleeping. We went to the sleep number store, stuck to our plan and avoided being up- sold, and bought (on Amazon) both the recommended fiber topper and a gel topper to experiment with once the C2 arrives. We also are using our old metal frame with a queen-size bunkie board ($69), for a nice savings compared to the $300 foundation from sleep number. More $ for new sheets and bedding!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Puffy

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.