Ikea vs Yogabed

Get The Best July 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ikea

IKEA, the low price furniture store also offers mattresses that you can pick up in store or have delivered. They offer a selection of foam, latex-blend, and spring mattresses for the price conscious shopper. Those looking for a deal for the materials used find their mattresses compelling for their lower prices, but there are many that describe durability and firmness issues with their mattresses that lead to discomfort or poor sleep.

Yogabed

Yogabed is a relative newcomer to the factory-direct mattress category. Their Yogabed Classic mattress is made with a proprietary blend of foam that reacts faster and sleeps cooler than traditional memory foam. They also use the addition of gel-infused foam to whisk away heat through the middle layer of the mattress as well. If you are looking for a medium firmness option, take a look deeper into what Yogabed has to offer.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Yogabed in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Yogabed


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ikea: 7.1/10
Yogabed: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ikea: 7.1/10
Yogabed: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Ikea: 8.9/10
Yogabed: 7.2/10

No Back Pain:
Ikea: 7.5/10
Yogabed: 6.2/10

Price:
Ikea: $89-$1199
Yogabed: $649-$1049

Ikea:
Get Yours Now

Yogabed:
Get Yours Now

Ikea's Owner Satisfaction

There is some negative input from sleepers about these mattresses. Some customers didn't have a good experience, but others were completely satisfied. Therefore, it is more difficult to estimate if one of these will work perfectly for you. Do additional research below to learn from customers if one of these will work for you.

Ikea's Supportiveness

It's important to have a supportive mattress for a good night's sleep. These mattresses are generally rated well at the beginning, but there are some issues with long term support. Take a look at the specifications and the reviews to make sure that these fit your body.

Edge Support
Many look for good edge support as a way to be comfortable getting in and out of bed. Most folks find that these mattresses have okay edge support, but there may be issues with dipping on the edges for some.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In tests that measure the density and supportiveness of these mattresses, these mattresses have fairly even support. However, there are some that reference degrading support over time.

Ikea's Durability

Customers find that durability is one of the most important attributes to finding a mattress. We all want to find a mattress that is just as cozy as it was day 1 on day 1001. Sadly, not everyone has experienced great durability with these mattresses specifically. If you are considering using as your full time mattress, make sure to review the specs against your body type to make sure it will work for you.

Yogabed's Owner Satisfaction

Some folks were very pleased with their mattresses, but others had issues. Despite those that are completely satisfied, this brand has lower sleeper satisfaction scores than the average. Read on below for more information about these mattresses.

Yogabed's Supportiveness

Some have described these mattresses as being supportive, but some have had issues with support over the long term. For those that are larger in frame or have tender spines, make sure to do additional reviews before buying.

Edge Support
The customers have mixed thoughts about edge support on these mattresses. Some have been happy with even support throughout the mattress, but others had issues with supportive comfort and changes in support.

Yogabed's Durability

Discovering a durable mattress is really nice, but it's not always that simple. These mattresses are reported by customers to be not as durable as others. This means that some customers may experience that their mattress lasts longer than average, while other mattresses may not last very long at all. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues.

Browse Ikea Customer Reviews

great so far

I also have had lower back issues for a few months, especially in the morning, and I think it is because my 8yo sleepmaker pillowtop mattress had 'hammocked'. I tried adding a memory foam mattress pad to extend its life, but that didnt really work - it just felt like being partly buried in a softer hammock.
The Hesseng mattress is very firm, as others have mentioned, but using the mattress pad (its also ikea - tussoy) on it I find it really comfortable and supportive. I havent tried it without the mattress pad, but I think it would be okay. After only two sleeps, my back definitely feels a bit better this morning
I chose the Hesseng because it has good quality materials, zoned pocket coils and no pillowtop. I didnt want a pillow top because they get sink holes, so I wanted to be able to replace the mattress pad rather than the whole mattress when the mattress pad fails.
I checked out lots of mattress shops but couldnt get a mattress of similar quality with these features anywhere near this price, plus I kept getting the hard sell to upgrade which is very annoying!
As someone else mentioned, it really did smell a bit like hay in the first day or two, in a nice way, but it doesnt smell at all now.
I am very happy with it so far and will try to remember to post an update once I have had it a while, as I found it difficult to find enough reviews to make my decision. Others have indicated that the Ikea mattresses dont last that long, and nowhere near their 25 year warranty. However, my expensive sleepmaker also only lasted 8 years and I hear the same of other beds, so even if this one lasts about the same amount of time before needing replacement, I will save money

View More Reviews

Browse Yogabed Customer Reviews

looks nice from the outside.

I order the yogabed through their website, which was a breeze and the customer service was excellent. The bed, not so great. Upon unpacking, I notice a VERY strong chemical odor, which is from the foam off-gassing VOC's (volatile organic compounds) It took much longer than 3 days to dissipate, more like one week, which is much longer than anyone should have to inhale such a scent. Initially, the bed felt amazing, the cover is soft and stretchy (probably the best part of the whole mattress) and the top layer felt very nice. Sleeping on it was a different story though. After a few weeks the foam begins to soften as you "break-in" the bed. The parts where me and my partner slept, began to feel softer than the middle of the bed (and we're only 150 lbs). As a stomach and side-sleeper this was not ideal as I began to wake up with lower back pain. So we returned the bed. This seems to be a common problem with many foam beds in this price range. There are other beds on amazon that use similar materials and are a fraction of the cost (dreamfoam, brentwood homes etc). As for me and my partner, we opted for a bed that uses latex (natural, non-toxic, more durable than memory foam and doesn't smell) and a higher density base/core foam (more than 1.8 lbs) which seems to be holding up better. Do your research on foam beds and the quality of their materials. I would not recommend this bed to people who weigh over 180lbs or who have a sensitivity to chemical odors.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.