Ikea vs Technogel

Get The Best July 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ikea

IKEA, the low price furniture store also offers mattresses that you can pick up in store or have delivered. They offer a selection of foam, latex-blend, and spring mattresses for the price conscious shopper. Those looking for a deal for the materials used find their mattresses compelling for their lower prices, but there are many that describe durability and firmness issues with their mattresses that lead to discomfort or poor sleep.

Technogel

Technogel® is a brand of mattresses and pillows that uses a proprietary gel technology. The gel has properties of both water and a solid, which enables it to better alleviate pressure and maintain proper spinal alignment while allowing ease of movement. It is used in everything from wheelchair seats, to car interiors, and lastly in mattresses. Most customers describe it as comfortable and pain-relieving, but pricey for the average sleeper.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Technogel in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Technogel


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ikea: 7.1/10
Technogel: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ikea: 7.1/10
Technogel: 8.8/10

Price Value:
Ikea: 8.9/10
Technogel: 8.1/10

No Back Pain:
Ikea: 7.5/10
Technogel: 9/10

Price:
Ikea: $89-$1199
Technogel: $3999-$10579

Ikea:
Get Yours Now

Technogel:
Get Yours Now

Ikea's Owner Satisfaction

Finding out how sleepers really feel about a mattress is difficult business -- especially with some companies moderating reviews. These mattresses, sadly, aren't rated as well by sleepers. There are still folks that are content, but others who are really not. Read on to understand the specifics of the mattresses.

Ikea's Supportiveness

Support in mattresses is deeply important to spine health and deep sleep. If you have a bed that doesn't support you, you are probably not getting the best night of sleep. These mattresses have been rated above average in support, but some had issues with how they felt for them.

Edge Support
Most customers find these mattresses to have good edge support, which is good for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress. Some that are larger may still experience sagging near the edges.

Ikea's Durability

Unfortunately, not everyone rates thair mattresses well in terms of longevity. While some have experienced good performance, others describe problems with comfort over a short time. If you are considering, make sure to read more reviews and go over the return policies before you buy.

Technogel's Owner Satisfaction

Starting with a brand that has a good customer satisfaction rating is a good tactic. Customers rate these mattresses highly when it comes to comfort. Sleepers report feeling cozy on their new mattresses and have reported good experiences buying. Keep reading below to discover if one of these mattresses will work well for your body!

Technogel's Supportiveness

Having a mattress that supports you will help with spine alignment and comfort over the long term. These mattresses will provide good support for most sleepers, but there are some rare cases where folks haven't felt completely supported.

Edge Support
Edge support is a popular metric of success for mattress makers and for those that are working on their mobility. These mattresses are well regarded for edge support, but some who are heavier may experience some extra contouring when sitting

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Bowling ball tests are a great way to measure firmness and support. These mattresses offer solid support for most customers, but there are some reports that mention alignment problems over the long term

Technogel's Durability

Having a durable mattress is a deciding factor to mattress shoppers. Today, mattresses that last between 7 and 12 years are considered durable with average use. That said, there are a lot of factors such as body weight and craftsmanship that can affect durability. These mattresses do a great job with durability overall. There are some customers who are heavier that may find a slight decrease in durability.

Browse Ikea Customer Reviews

great so far

I also have had lower back issues for a few months, especially in the morning, and I think it is because my 8yo sleepmaker pillowtop mattress had 'hammocked'. I tried adding a memory foam mattress pad to extend its life, but that didnt really work - it just felt like being partly buried in a softer hammock.
The Hesseng mattress is very firm, as others have mentioned, but using the mattress pad (its also ikea - tussoy) on it I find it really comfortable and supportive. I havent tried it without the mattress pad, but I think it would be okay. After only two sleeps, my back definitely feels a bit better this morning
I chose the Hesseng because it has good quality materials, zoned pocket coils and no pillowtop. I didnt want a pillow top because they get sink holes, so I wanted to be able to replace the mattress pad rather than the whole mattress when the mattress pad fails.
I checked out lots of mattress shops but couldnt get a mattress of similar quality with these features anywhere near this price, plus I kept getting the hard sell to upgrade which is very annoying!
As someone else mentioned, it really did smell a bit like hay in the first day or two, in a nice way, but it doesnt smell at all now.
I am very happy with it so far and will try to remember to post an update once I have had it a while, as I found it difficult to find enough reviews to make my decision. Others have indicated that the Ikea mattresses dont last that long, and nowhere near their 25 year warranty. However, my expensive sleepmaker also only lasted 8 years and I hear the same of other beds, so even if this one lasts about the same amount of time before needing replacement, I will save money

View More Reviews

Browse Technogel Customer Reviews

Worth every penny

This mattress has been worth every penny I spent. What was important to my wife and I was a cool and supportive mattress. I fall asleep sooner and stay asleep longer now we have what we need. Thank you

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.