Ikea vs Southerland

Get The Best July 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ikea

IKEA, the low price furniture store also offers mattresses that you can pick up in store or have delivered. They offer a selection of foam, latex-blend, and spring mattresses for the price conscious shopper. Those looking for a deal for the materials used find their mattresses compelling for their lower prices, but there are many that describe durability and firmness issues with their mattresses that lead to discomfort or poor sleep.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Southerland in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Southerland


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ikea: 7.1/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ikea: 7.1/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Ikea: 8.9/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Ikea: 7.5/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Ikea: $89-$1199
Southerland: $399-2399

Ikea:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Ikea's Owner Satisfaction

Some customers were very happy with their new mattress, but others reported problems. Despite those that had a good experience, overall these mattresses have lower than average satisfaction from customers. Read on for more specifics if you are interested in buying.

Ikea's Supportiveness

For stomach and back sleepers, a supportive mattress is essential. Even side sleepers need gentle support to make sure their spines are aligned. For most sleepers, these mattresses offer a good amount of support. That said, some folks didn't feel supported enough so if you are heavier, make sure to take a harder look.

Edge Support
Most find these mattresses to provide good edge support. That said, there were some mixed reviews about the edge support.

Ikea's Durability

Unfortunately, these mattresses aren't appreciated as well for their durability. While some have experienced good performance, others had comfort issues faster than average. If you are thinking about buying, read up on the return and warranty policies beforehand.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

If you are examining this brand, take a look below for more details about these mattresses. Sadly, not all customers review them well overall. Some were extremely happy with their purchase, but many others were not as excited.

Southerland's Supportiveness

These mattresses may not be the best in terms of support. Though most report initial comfort and support of the spine, others have found these mattresses not to be comfortable. If you are considering these mattresess, make sure to take a look further before buying.

Edge Support
Edge support is definitely an important indicator to those with mobility concerns. Others don't really feel its that big of a deal as long as they are comfy sleeping. Some folks feel strongly about support issues so make sure to do added reading if edge support is an important item for you.

Southerland's Durability

Getting a long-lasting mattress is awesome, and when instead we get a mattress that hurts our backs after a couple months, we feel awful. That said, finding a durable mattress nowadays is really hard. With the crazy amount of choices now, some companies are focused more on capturing mind-share and sacrificing quality. When it comes to these mattresses, some folks had issues with discomfort over a short period of time. Durability issues don't happen to everyone, but make sure to read more about the warranty and the return policies.

Browse Ikea Customer Reviews

great so far

I also have had lower back issues for a few months, especially in the morning, and I think it is because my 8yo sleepmaker pillowtop mattress had 'hammocked'. I tried adding a memory foam mattress pad to extend its life, but that didnt really work - it just felt like being partly buried in a softer hammock.
The Hesseng mattress is very firm, as others have mentioned, but using the mattress pad (its also ikea - tussoy) on it I find it really comfortable and supportive. I havent tried it without the mattress pad, but I think it would be okay. After only two sleeps, my back definitely feels a bit better this morning
I chose the Hesseng because it has good quality materials, zoned pocket coils and no pillowtop. I didnt want a pillow top because they get sink holes, so I wanted to be able to replace the mattress pad rather than the whole mattress when the mattress pad fails.
I checked out lots of mattress shops but couldnt get a mattress of similar quality with these features anywhere near this price, plus I kept getting the hard sell to upgrade which is very annoying!
As someone else mentioned, it really did smell a bit like hay in the first day or two, in a nice way, but it doesnt smell at all now.
I am very happy with it so far and will try to remember to post an update once I have had it a while, as I found it difficult to find enough reviews to make my decision. Others have indicated that the Ikea mattresses dont last that long, and nowhere near their 25 year warranty. However, my expensive sleepmaker also only lasted 8 years and I hear the same of other beds, so even if this one lasts about the same amount of time before needing replacement, I will save money

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.