Ikea vs Resort Sleep

Get The Best February 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ikea

IKEA, the low price furniture store also offers mattresses that you can pick up in store or have delivered. They offer a selection of foam, latex-blend, and spring mattresses for the price conscious shopper. Those looking for a deal for the materials used find their mattresses compelling for their lower prices, but there are many that describe durability and firmness issues with their mattresses that lead to discomfort or poor sleep.

Resort Sleep

Resort Sleep offers a mid-range/mid-price memoryfoam and gel mattress. They sell almost exclusively on Amazon and some of their reviews complain about misadvertised width and misrepresentation of where the mattress is made. Although there are plenty of good reviews, please do your homework -- there are plenty of high quality mattresses for similar prices that don't involve the same risk.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Ikea in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Ikea


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ikea: 7.1/10
Resort Sleep: 6.9/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ikea: 7.1/10
Resort Sleep: 6.8/10

Price Value:
Ikea: 8.9/10
Resort Sleep: 6.5/10

No Back Pain:
Ikea: 7.5/10
Resort Sleep: 6.2/10

Price:
Ikea: $89-$1199
Resort Sleep: $699-$1,199

Ikea:
Get Yours Now

Resort Sleep:
Get Yours Now

Ikea's Owner Satisfaction

Using customer reviews as a guide can be great for discerning shoppers. Unfortunately, customers don't always have good things to say about these mattresses. Some feel cozy and comfortable, but others don't feel that way. There are more details below to study if you are considering buying.

Ikea's Supportiveness

These mattresses offer above average supportiveness, which is ideal when you're looking for a mattress to cradle your hips and shoulders. That said, some reviewers have mentioned support issues in reference to their bodies, so mull over the reviews to make sure that your choice is going to work for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of resistance there is for sleepers along the side of the mattress. These mattresses have good resistance, but heavier folks may experience some contouring.

Ikea's Durability

Sadly, these mattresses don't always get love from customers on durability. While some customers found them to be comfortable, others found that quicker break down than others. Make sure to take a look at the specifications, warranty, and reviews before buying.

Resort Sleep's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews are sometimes hard to make sense of -- especially with some companies focusing heavily on protecting their reputation. These mattresses, unfortunately, don't score as well with customers. There are still those that love them, but many others have complaints. Learn more details about the mattresses below.

Resort Sleep's Supportiveness

These mattresses get mixed feedback from customers on support. Though there are some that prefer the feel of these mattresses, others have found these mattresses to disagree with their backs. If you like these mattresses, make sure to look at the specifications to make sure it will agree with your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is essential to those that like to lay close to the edge of the mattress. Others don't really feel its that big of a deal as long as they are comfy sleeping. These mattresses may not offer the kind of edge support that lasts so make sure to do added research if it is important to you.

Resort Sleep's Durability

Mattresses with lasting comfort are amazing, but not always easy to find. Unfortunately, these mattresses are not well rated when it comes to durability. This means that some customers may experience that their mattress lasts longer than average, while other customers find their mattress to break down quicker than expected. If you have a wider frame than average, make sure to do some more research because you may be at a higher risk for durability issues.

Browse Ikea Customer Reviews

great so far

I also have had lower back issues for a few months, especially in the morning, and I think it is because my 8yo sleepmaker pillowtop mattress had 'hammocked'. I tried adding a memory foam mattress pad to extend its life, but that didnt really work - it just felt like being partly buried in a softer hammock.
The Hesseng mattress is very firm, as others have mentioned, but using the mattress pad (its also ikea - tussoy) on it I find it really comfortable and supportive. I havent tried it without the mattress pad, but I think it would be okay. After only two sleeps, my back definitely feels a bit better this morning
I chose the Hesseng because it has good quality materials, zoned pocket coils and no pillowtop. I didnt want a pillow top because they get sink holes, so I wanted to be able to replace the mattress pad rather than the whole mattress when the mattress pad fails.
I checked out lots of mattress shops but couldnt get a mattress of similar quality with these features anywhere near this price, plus I kept getting the hard sell to upgrade which is very annoying!
As someone else mentioned, it really did smell a bit like hay in the first day or two, in a nice way, but it doesnt smell at all now.
I am very happy with it so far and will try to remember to post an update once I have had it a while, as I found it difficult to find enough reviews to make my decision. Others have indicated that the Ikea mattresses dont last that long, and nowhere near their 25 year warranty. However, my expensive sleepmaker also only lasted 8 years and I hear the same of other beds, so even if this one lasts about the same amount of time before needing replacement, I will save money

View More Reviews

Browse Resort Sleep Customer Reviews

I'm in love. Like laying on a cloud that wants to hug you

Ok, I know that was a lame headline but this mattress is a dream. Here is how it went down. The delivery was 2 days early (free shipping 3 days). It arrived wrapped in plastic rolled like a tightly rolled sleeping bag. This concerned me at first as I thought it it was much thinner than expected. However upset n opening it expanded to the promised thickness (this is my first memory foam mattress, so that may be a duh statement if you have ordered one before). It isn't too heavy for an average strength person, but I would recommend two people maneuver it on've open. It feels like a cloud and i just love it. It comes with a memory foam pillow (it was a nice surprise, but a detailed l may have missed in the discrption. I think you will love it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.