Ikea vs Layla

Get an Instant Discount for Layla Get $100 Off & A Free Pillow

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Ikea

IKEA, the low price furniture store also offers mattresses that you can pick up in store or have delivered. They offer a selection of foam, latex-blend, and spring mattresses for the price conscious shopper. Those looking for a deal for the materials used find their mattresses compelling for their lower prices, but there are many that describe durability and firmness issues with their mattresses that lead to discomfort or poor sleep.

Layla

Layla got its start in 2015 as the mattress in the box trying to fight homelessness with every mattress purchased. Since then, they have focused themselves primarily on making one better mattress, crafting an infused-copper memory foam mattress for everyone. With materials that are cooler and more customizable, there is definitely something to this mattress. If you are interested in a slightly soft all-foam mattress, this is mattress is worth a look.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Layla in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Layla

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Ikea: 7.1/10
Layla: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Ikea: 7.1/10
Layla: 9.4/10

Price Value:
Ikea: 8.9/10
Layla: 9.3/10

No Back Pain:
Ikea: 7.5/10
Layla: 9.3/10

Price:
Ikea: $89-$1199
Layla: $499-$999

Ikea:
Get Yours Now

Layla:
Get $100 Off & A Free Pillow

Ikea's Owner Satisfaction

Making sense of customer reviews can be a powerful tool for shoppers. Customers don't always respond well to these mattresses. Some have immediate comfort, but othere have complaints. If you are pondering buying one, take a look below for more specifics.

Ikea's Supportiveness

Overall, these mattresses have above average supportiveness, which is ideal for those that are suffering from a sagging mattress right now. However, some have had issues with support long term, so make sure to do some extra research on the firmness and whether it will work on your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of resistance there is for sleepers along the side of the mattress. These mattresses do a fine job, but heavier folks may experience less than ideal edge support.

Ikea's Durability

Having a mattress that lasts is one of the most important factors to sleepers. We all want to find a mattress that is just as cozy as it was day 1 on day 1001. Sadly, not everyone has experienced great durability with these mattresses specifically. If you are considering purchasing as your full time mattress, read over the specs and policies to make sure it will work for you.

Layla's Owner Satisfaction

Having excellent ratings from sleepers is an important factor for shoppers. These mattresses receive better customer ratings than many other competitors, which should give you confidence in learning more about them. Read the specifics below to learn if one will work for your body!

Layla's Supportiveness

These mattresses offer a good amount of support Customers describe their shoulders and hips are well supported while their backs are aligned.

Edge Support
These mattresses also do well at edge support, which is the evenness of support along the sides. For people that like to sit or lay close to the edge of the mattress, these mattresses will do a good job being supportive to your body.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The famous bowling ball test is a great indicator of firmness, and it can also provide information on how the mattress firmness changes throughout the mattress. It can show if there is an uneven surface. Based on this information, these mattresses provide good, even support overall.

Layla's Durability

Getting a long lasting mattress is important to every shopper, but because of the large amount of new companies making mattresses, it can be difficult for shoppers to find out. That said, with all of the data on tests, customer feedback, and materials, we've been able to estimate. These mattresses do a good job with durability for the average customer. Those with larger builds might find these mattresses to be somewhat less durable.

Get an Instant Discount for Layla:   Get $100 Off & A Free Pillow

Browse Ikea Customer Reviews

great so far

I also have had lower back issues for a few months, especially in the morning, and I think it is because my 8yo sleepmaker pillowtop mattress had 'hammocked'. I tried adding a memory foam mattress pad to extend its life, but that didnt really work - it just felt like being partly buried in a softer hammock.
The Hesseng mattress is very firm, as others have mentioned, but using the mattress pad (its also ikea - tussoy) on it I find it really comfortable and supportive. I havent tried it without the mattress pad, but I think it would be okay. After only two sleeps, my back definitely feels a bit better this morning
I chose the Hesseng because it has good quality materials, zoned pocket coils and no pillowtop. I didnt want a pillow top because they get sink holes, so I wanted to be able to replace the mattress pad rather than the whole mattress when the mattress pad fails.
I checked out lots of mattress shops but couldnt get a mattress of similar quality with these features anywhere near this price, plus I kept getting the hard sell to upgrade which is very annoying!
As someone else mentioned, it really did smell a bit like hay in the first day or two, in a nice way, but it doesnt smell at all now.
I am very happy with it so far and will try to remember to post an update once I have had it a while, as I found it difficult to find enough reviews to make my decision. Others have indicated that the Ikea mattresses dont last that long, and nowhere near their 25 year warranty. However, my expensive sleepmaker also only lasted 8 years and I hear the same of other beds, so even if this one lasts about the same amount of time before needing replacement, I will save money

View More Reviews

Browse Layla Customer Reviews

The near perfect bed

I recently moved from a 15 year old box spring mattress to memory foam. I had always thought of myself as a firm mattress sleeper since my box-spring mattress was pretty hard. After doing a bit of research, I purchased the Amerisleep Revere bed. Most of the memory foam mattresses averaged a firmness of 6-7 on online reviews, but I found out that this was way too hard for me after sleeping on the Amerisleep Revere bed for a couple months. I ended up returning that mattress and trying the Layla mattress that had a firmness rating of 3 on the soft side and a 7 on the hard hard on online reviews, but also liked the idea of being able to flip it to a firmer mattress if I wanted to (which I have not tried yet). After about a week of getting use to, I found that I am falling asleep way more easily that I did with the box-spring or Amerisleep mattress. Also the company is true to its word that it dissipates heat well through its copper infused mattress even with a mattress cover. I have not tried it during the peak of summer yet but I stayed relatively cooler at the end of summer that my previous two mattresses.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.