Ikea Mattress Toppers Reviews

Get March 2021 Mattress Topper Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Ikea Mattress Toppers

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

IKEA offers four different mattress toppers to choose from, the Tussöy, the Knapstad, the Tananger, and the Tistedal. These toppers range from just over 2'' to just over 3'' high and are a good alternative to purchasing a brand new mattress. Some customers have great things to say about their IKEA toppers, but there were others that found their firmness level uncomfortable and odor problematic.

Mattress Topper Scores

Overall Score: 8.5/10

Customer Satisfaction: 8.4/10

Comfort: 8.4/10

Support: 8.5/10

Cooling: 8.3/10

Price: $89-$349

Get Yours Now

Ikea Mattress Toppers Details

IKEA's mattress toppers range between medium-soft to firmer, with materials like polyurethane memory foam, synthetic latex, and cotton. Overall, customers describe them as giving pressure relieving comfort to the top layer of mattresses, but there were some customers that mention strong odor and some quality / durability problems.

If you are interested in the best rated mattress toppers, take a look at our list of top rated mattress toppers.

Quality of Materials

IKEA is known for their discount materials and their mattress pads and toppers are no different, focused on passing discounts onto the customer rather than the highest quality materials. We'll go through each of their toppers available and discuss what is inside each one so you can get a sense of what will work best for your body.

Here is what's inside their lowest-priced Tananger Mattress Topper:

Cover Layer: The cover is made of a polyester and cotton blend that helps wicks away moisture and keep the top layer soft and cool. It also has a zipper for easy cleaning.

Layer 2: The comfort layer is a little over 2.25'' of polyurethane memory foam that is contouring to the touch without being too soft. Most describe it as a medium-firm profile and is firmer in cooler environments.

Next, here is what's inside their Tussöy Topper:

Cover Layer: The cover is made of a polyester and cotton blend that helps keep the top layer cool and dry. It has a zipper and is easy to wash and dry.

Layer 2: The primary comfort layer is a little over 3'' of polyurethane memory foam, which is pressure relieving and designed to give a more plush sleeping surface for firmer mattresses. Most found it comfortable, but some had problems with the odor and hard firmness in some conditions.

Next, here is what's inside their Knapstad Mattress Topper:

Cover Layer: The cover is a polyethylene, polyester blend that is cooling and moisture wicking, making it ideal for those that want a cooler surface than their mattress provides currently.

Layer 2: The second layer is polyurethane foam with a layer of gel-infusion on the surface area, which makes it superior at cooling. IKEA notes that you can flip the topper for a warmer option. Customers note that this 2.5'' topper is cool for most, but some had issues with the odor and it being too firm in some cases.

Lastly, here is what's inside their Tistedal Mattress Topper:

Cover Layer: The cover and lining is made of 100% cotton and offers wool wadding as a protective fire resistant coating.

Layer 2: The 85% natural and 15% synthetic latex foam offers a mix of pressure relief and supportive response. With this blend, customers should feel moderate pressure relief, but is more expensive than other options. With the combination of latex and synthetic foams, some looking for an all-natural or environmentally friendly option may want to look for an all latex option.

Firmness

The IKEA mattress toppers come in a variety of firmness options. However, some customers note that despite toppers being rated on the softer side, they remain firm. IKEA notes that their polyurethane toppers are firmer when cooler.

Back Pain Relief

Some customers describe these mattress toppers as solving minor back pain discomfort with uncomfortable mattresses. Others, however, felt that these toppers were too firm and aggravated pressure points.

Cooling

For those looking for cooling toppers, the Knapstad is the highest ranked for cooling with the addition of cooling materials, like a fully synthetic cover and gel-infused memory foam. Others may retain some heat for warm sleepers or in warm environments.

Who Are IKEA Mattress Toppers Right For?

IKEA mattress toppers are ideal for those that prefer to pick up a topper in-store. There are some mixed reviews about the comfort and odor, which means others may do better browsing our top list of mattress toppers.

Browse Ikea Mattress Toppers Customer Reviews

Comfy

I bought this to sleep on the floor with sick dog. It was really nice (and the dog took it over for a while - he loved it). Dog is better and put it on top of guest room single bed. Very nice and inexpensive for this memory foam stuff

firm

gives great support for lower back and curves withbody

Great Find!

We purchased this three weeks ago and have loved every night with it on our bed.

Hard as a Rock

I was hoping to soften up my mattress a bit with this topper. However, it was more firm than the mattress I put it on.

Will return

I will return this item as it has an exceedingly strong odor

Saved our bed

We put this into our trailer and it has made a world of different both in comfort and warmth. It was a good way for us to "fix" our hard mattress without the bigger expense of buying a new mattress.

Good products

In accordance with the purchased

Consistently comfortable

This mattress pad is the best we've ever had. So comfortable yet not too soft. Highly recommend it.

I love it

Love the quality.... my bed is my castle

My sore back isnt sore anymore

Plus being thin its a breeze to make the ned. 3rd time I've had this topper, for a smaller adult who finds it hard to get the right support, Ive always enjoyed this .

Plenty plush

Bought it to add extra cushion to our Popup camper bed. Worked perfectly.

Perfect and as expected

I bought this to supplement a less than great mattress and it has worked wonders. I’ve also taken the topper on a trip and place it on the floor. Awesome sleep!

Great features

We love this topper, bought it for our travel trailer.

Made a terrible mattress in our guest house comfy

Made a terrible mattress in our guest house comfortable and prevented us replacing

Matress

I bought it for my daughter’s dorm bed! Very happy!

Love the firmness

We love the firmness of this mattress! We brought a topper to put on top and it’s perfect

Mattress topper

Bought this to use with the FRIHETEN sleeper sofa but it didn’t work out for us. Too bulky and hard to sleep on. We looked at all the options and assumed the thickness would gives us more cushion for a good nights sleep. Nope! Not comfortable. Felt like a hard futon mattress.

Too firm

This memory foam is pretty firm. It is supportive but perhaps for a younger, less creaky body. No relief for painful hips.

Mid range mattress topper

this is the best deal for a memory foam topper! Adds just the right amount of height to a Hemnes bed to make it easy to get in and out! Dramatically improves the comfort and nights sleep on any mattress! Only issue was that there were mattresses stocked in the bin instead of these! I verified the bin numbers but not the stock number on the product. I discovered this after checkout, so had to go back to return and find the topper!

Matteress topper

Great product we love the support your mattress provides. We have tried various mattress over the years and yours rates right up there.

Pain free

No more back ache in the morning, did the job I hoped for.

Almost perfect topper

This topper is almost perfect. Not too cushy, not to firm. It conforms to body at night and returns to it original during the daytime. Makes our firm mattress most comfortable.

Sound Sleep

We bought this for my daughter because she said her bed was uncomfortable. She said she would wake up many times during the night. After putting this on her bed, she said she had the best sleep in years.

Flexible for my folding bed

Love Ikea,ikea help me and my family to have a beautiful home and save money .

good topper but slides

The topper is great but it slides on the bed and becomes uncomfortable to sleep on.

Great value, great mattress!

We've had it a few months and love it. Very comfortable and we also bought the TUSSÖY Mattress topper and the combination is perfect.

great!

we got this for on top of an Ikea foam mattress and it made our bed amazing. Like sleeping in a $5000 mattress for a total of less than 900. We love it and would highly recommend it.

Extended my mattress life

I've been sleeping on a mattress that has seen better days and needs to be replaced. I'm going to be moving soon and am not sure what size bed I'm going to purchase, so this was my bandaid. And a good choice it was. It was like replacing my bed. The only drawback that I can say is that it creeps across the mattress and needs to be adjusted regularly. This is a small price to pay for the extra comfort. I intend on buying another when I purchase a new, larger bed set. Oh, and the cover zips off and is washable. Another plus.

It worked for me

I thought my mattress could be a little softer,so I picked this up. The salesperson said the foam toppers tended to be warmer than other varieties, but I haven't noticed. At first, it had a slight "freshly unwrapped" smell, but that soon went away. No problems so far. My bed if more comfortable with it than without.

sleepin' like a baby !

love it. we are both sleeping like we haven't slept in years

Did the trick

Changed a concrete hard bed into a firm more comfortable bed.

Great mattress topper!

Bought this mattress topper about a month ago since my husband was complaining about waking up sore. Our mattress is only about 3 years old. So, buying a new one was not an option. We’ve looked into other toppers before but could never seem to find one that we thought would be a good fit. They were quite often either too thin, so they really didn’t do much (bought one and tried it since it was cheap) or they would be way too thick. This would make our already plush mattress too deep to fit a sheet around it. When we found this one from IKEA we were skeptical because it we weren’t sure how much it would help since it wasn’t overly thick and it was $$$. What made us decide to take the plunge was the fact that it was made from a certain material where one side was cooling and the other would keep you warm. Since my hubby is always complaining he’s hot at night, we figured we’d give it a try. We are glad we did... totally worth it. We both sleep comfortably and the cooling side works amazing! No more night sweats! Would def recommend. I’d have given it a perfect 5 stars if it wasn’t so $$$.

Chemical smell

I purchased this for my 8 year old to soften up the Ika mattress she already had. But was unable to use this mattress topper due to the overwhelming chemical smell that was off gassing. I aired it out for a month and that still did not help .. I was told by the Ikea quality control dept that there was no toxic chemicals but there was no way I would let my kid sleep on it .. Other then the smell it seemed like a good mattress topper .. I really wanted it to work out

Love it

When I purchased this topper I didn’t realize what I had been missing. Since my purchase I have only used the cool side and it has been great.

Horrible smell

It took several weeks to be able to be in the same room with the topper. We slept in the guest room for 2 months because it was unbearable. It’s fine now, but I wasn’t impressed at first.

Makes already comfy IKEA Mattress more Comfortable

Have had our ikea hard/firm foam mattress for three years & have always had great night’s sleep. Thought this topper might soften the mattress a bit so we took the cost plunge & have not been disappointed. Been using for a month & are very happy with purchasing this topper. “Cool Side” option for this hot summer has been perfect

Great Value!

Bought this several months ago and quite satisfied - has the feeling of a much more expensive one.

Good for Summer and Winter, just flip over

Comfortable. Easy to lay on cool jell side for summer, then flip for warmer side in winter. However, need to air out a few days first to let plastic smell disapate.

Cool & Comfortable

I bought this mattress topper a month ago and I've been waking up without joint pain and feeling more rested

It helps

This topper has helped ease the back pain caused by the block of concrete-like Haugsvär queen mattress that is way more firm than the sample in the store. We like the warm/cool side feature.

Doesn't cool and sheets,even deep pocket don't fit

Have had this a week, it doesn't cool really and my regular sheets wouldn't fit and so I bought deep pocket sheets and still not satisfied. It's like the sheets move every time you move no matter what kind, they slid. You would think there would be a fitted sheet just for this but there isn't. I will be returning this product.

Life Saver

I had been through multiple different mattress toppers to try and help me keep cool and sleep better at night, all to no prevail. I live with my grandfather and he keeps our house at 77 degrees year round in Florida. I used to sleep with 3 fans and nothing covering me so I could not sweat the whole time I slept. I work nights so basically I’m sleeping during the hottest part of the day. I went to IKEA with no intentions of buying a mattress topper but when I saw it was a cooling gel foam I figured there was no harm in laying on it in the showcase. It felt very cool and thought the ac in the showcase might be part of the reason but thought to myself “why not, if it doesn’t work I’ll just return it”. Let me just say, I have no intentions on retuning this. Not only do I finally sleep soundly through the day in a 77 degree house but I can do so with my comforter on top of me. I no longer need 3 fans and prayers that’s I can get decent sleep. This thing has truly been a life saver for me. Definitely worth the money.

Redicoulsly comfy.

My husband is a notoriously bad sleeper. The second he laid down after I bought this mattress topper he said "Wow, I feel like I'm being swaddled by baby angel clouds!" It's worth every penny.

So comfy!

This mattress topper was a great investment! So comfortable and very affordable! The cool side is great for summer months and just flip it over during the winter months. Sleeping like a baby now!

Knapstad Topper Has STRONG Chemical Smell

We bought the topper to go along with our natural latex mattress we purchased as the latex mattress seemed a little too firm and thin. Now with the topper we sleep better however the chemical smell is strong. We woke up with a bad headache the first night but the second night we were fine. I am considering returning it if the smell does not go away soon.

Stinks

If you like the smell of paint, buy it.

Great purchase

Bought this to use on a fold out sofa bed. It’s amazing. I’d recommend this product. I’m super impressed.

Perfect

I gt this for my sons bed and he is sleeping better and loving it.

Love it!

I bought this a month ago and so far everything is great! I would definitely recommend to my friends.

Great product but smell takes long to go away

Bought this a month back. Very comfortable to sleep on. However, my wife wanted me to return it as she could not deal with the chemical smell. We aired it outside for a couple of days, yet the smell didn't go away. After a month it smells much less, so we've got used to it. Wish it was less expensive

Too thin and too hard

We had to take this mattress topper back for an exchange. We bought it, along with the mattress, but it was still too thin and hard.

Greater features

I bought this month and am very happy with the products

Strap strength

One of our rubber straps attached to the topper got ripped after short time of use. We use IKEA mattress so... it should fit!

So comfortable!

I bought this tananger mattress topper a month ago. I love it. It sleeps so good.

Adds comfort

This topper works well with mattress

Not happy

I bought this topper a month ago. I was very excited to have found it. The topper seemes very strong yet soft, a perfect combo for me and my husband. I love the fact this topper came with a cover you can wash. The topper also seemed to be made well. Fast forward a month, this topper was a waste of money. The foam does not bounce back from the night before. There are 2 significant divots on each side of the topper. One from. My husband, the other from me. It is like the topper has completely broken down. Had I known this would happen, I would not have bought it. Don't think I can return it since have been sleeping on it. At this point, I am going to take it off and most likely throw it away some how.

Comfy but chemical smell lingers

Much thicker and more comfortable than the cheap “egg carton” type of foam toppers found in big box stores. Due to the thickness, it is quite heavy. It is cool in temperature to sleep on. In fact it feels too cold when first lying down. It also has a strong chemical smell that still lingers after a month. It is nice that the cover comes off for washing. Would recommend despite the minor flaws.

Excellent mattress topper

My daughter has been using our FRIHETEN as her bed for a few months. It softened up enough she was feeling the creases. On my last visit to IKEA I saw the sofa, which was set up as a bed and low and behold, this mattress topper was on it. It fel wonderful so I bought one, and she is so happy to be able to sleep "crease free".

Great comfort

So happy that I bought this mattress pad this month. Very comfortable and better than i expected.

Wonderful product

I had used in the past foam or feathers pillow tops . I always preferred the feathers type, all until we purchased this memory foam one. I say, it might feel a little stiff at first, but once settled on , the support is perfect.

Very comfortable topper

I bought this mattress topper approximately 3-4 weeks ago for my daughter to use on her too firm mattress. This provided just the right amount of comfort for her while still maintaining mattress firmness for her back and neck.

Does the job

Child was going to college and beds there are known to be uncomfortable. Child states that bed comfort went to a 5/10 from a 2/10. Hey that's an improvement! Best thing was that we didn't need to carry it to college from home. We did click and pick and collected it the morning we arrived. Especially great since we were flying to college location. Would give it 5 stars if they made it Twin XL as that is the size of dorm bed. Plus roommate has one too.

Quality cover but thtopper is not very comfortable

We bought two of these to use on top of the standard mattresses in our camping trailer. The zip-on cover is made of a good quality terrycloth material and is very soft. However, the foam itself is too firm and does not add a softer layer to a standard mattress. We returned both items and were very disappointment to learn that Ikea would only give store credit because the packaging had been opened. That fact should be made very clear to the consumer when spending good money on a mattress or mattress topper. In short, the topper is well-made but uncomfortable, so it fails at its primary purpose.

Really improved my sleep!

I've had this mattress topper for about a month, and it has really improved my sleep! I have arthritis in my back, and used to wake up aching. Since using the mattress topper, I wake up rested and without any back ache. I liked it so much, I got one for my guest bedroom!

So comfortable

I bought this just over a month ago and have slept like a log ever since. Also no more back pain!

Mattress topper

I bought this to go on the Friheten sofa bed with chaise. I wanted something to help hide the seems between the different sections. This is the thinnest mattress topper that Ikea has and I was a little afraid that it might be too thin, but it is perfect!

feels so nice!

I'm so happy I bought this!! great price and very confortable!!

You get what you pay for!!!

You saw the products and feel it . Its worth it .

Great mattress!!

I purchased this for my son. He loves it!

Horrible smell

The mattress cane sealed and when opened there was a horrible smell like rancid cookies, I took the foam out to air it out overnight and the next morning when I tried to fit it inside the cover it had expanded so much that it did not fit inside... had to cut the borders. Beyond that after a week or so the smell was gone and the bed is indeed a bit more comfortable, but it is still quite hard.

Good Buy!

Normally we wouldn’t spend so much on a mattress topper (king size) but after purchasing the latex Myrbacka mattress (which we love!) we knew we’d want just a little more squish to go with all that support of the mattress, and this was the topper on the store display so we went for it. I love that it adds just the right amount of comfort so I feel comfortable sleeping on my sides as well as my back/belly. It does make you a little warm, but considering other toppers we’ve had in the past on other mattresses (cheaper and more expensive), you don’t feel nearly as much heat as you do with other foam toppers. It was exactly what we needed, and being roll packed made it easy to transport home without a problem in the minivan at the same time as a king mattress, king bed base, and several other items/pieces of furniture.

Like sleeping on a cloud

Bought this for our guest bedroom and receive many compliments.

Perfect topper for Matrand Memory Foad Mattress

My Matrand Memory foam mattress was a little to firm, but adding this topper makes it much more comfortable.

Handy, comfy topper

Got this to use with my pullout sofa when I have guests (and when the a/c can’t keep my bedroom cool enough on super hot days) and it’s super comfy. I even used it directly on the floor for a few days during a girls weekend without enough air mattresses/couches to go around and it made a huge difference. Getting the cover back on after washing (and following the label directions to the t) was a challenge because it’s such a tight fit—keep it clean and ask for an extra set of hands for that task.

Very comfortable

Put it on our queen bed at our park model trailer. Improved my night's sleep.

Added comfort to upgrade mattress comfort.

I purchased this mattress topper to make the bed in the spare room more comfortable for a friend of mine who as staying with me after she had surgery. She commented that the mattress topper was very comfortable and she asked where she could buy one for her bed at home. I think that says it all.

Like the easy transfer from store to home.

I bought my daughters mattress first and she liked it so I bought myself one!

Pretty Good

I bought this TANANGER topper for my daughter's Ikea mattress that was not feeling as new. They recommend placing a mattress topper on top of their mattresses anyway, so I went and bought this mid range priced topper. I shopped around and Target has some but you have to buy the shell/cover separately and it was slightly more expensive. I like it that you can wash the cover if needed. I did not notice any odor or smells when I unpacked it. I unrolled it and placed onto the bed and her sheets still fit with both topper and mattress together. We slept on her bed the first night and my daughter said that she slept very well and her bed feels better. I went back and got one for my son's bed and my bed as well!

bought for our trailer!

I had a really broken down foam mattress in a trailer we bought from a family member, and couldn't see spending 700+ on a custom trailer mattress, so I bought this. It is amazing! I sleep so well on it, and it is so cozy and comfortable. There is enough support, that it made the foam mattress on plywood, feel perfect. I might get an electric carving knife and trim it down to fit the space perfectly, since my camper has a weird angle, that you would expect in an RV. I agonized over what to get, and looked at many things online and on site at IKEA, and am more than pleased that it was a 99 dollar solution that worked better than I had expected! p.s. I really love the cover on it. the material is very good quality.

So cozy!!!

My boyfriend has a saggy king bed that is unfortunately not that old so getting a new one wasn't an option. I bought a memory foam roll out egg crate type topper at Walmart and it was actually great too. But then I sat on this on at IKEA and had to have it. Now I have 2 toppers on my bed and it's so comfy!!! Although I'm sure this one in particular would be plenty on a non saggy bed. Lok

NEW MATTRESS FEELING

I bought two toppers for my pop up trundle beds and they make both old mattresses feel brand new!

Very comfortable

Very comfortable to sleep

Great value for the money

It makes sleeping very comfortable!

VERY COMFORTABLE

I bought this item a month a go to place on top of the futton matress. It made it more confortable.

Perfect Fit

Very happy with purchase !

Like a Rock

I actually returned this mattress topper. I got it with an Ikea futon. The futon was more comfortable WITHOUT the mattress topper. The topper was so hard and uncomfortable. I waited several days with it laid out on the futon, hoping it would "fluff up," but it never became even remotely comfortable. Luckily I was able to easily return in store (except for the 1 hour wait time in the returns line...).

Better sleep

I saw this mattress topper in the storage unit of the Friheten sleeper sectional which I had purchased two years ago. I was so excited because everyone who had slept on the sofa said it was really hard. The topper does help and the sleep is more comfortable but I don't think it was made for this couch. It hangs over about 3 inches and is very hard to put into the storage unit. I went back to the store to verify I had purchased the right one and I had. The one in the store fit in the storage unit perfectly where I have to fight with mine to fit and push down all the "bumps". I would buy it again though as it makes the bed more comfortable.

Cool!

It is what what it says it is...love it!

Saved my sofabed

I used as topper for older mattress in sofabed while we had a full house over the holidays. super comfortable.

Strong smell

We used to have very good IKEA products such as two mattresses and a topper bought seven or eight years ago, no obvious chemical smell at all. We really wanted to like this latex one, made well in Germany, but it smelled so strong that we could not sleep on it and had to take it away. It tells that the smell will gradually disappear in a note accompanying the product. But for how long and why they allow such products in market in the first place? we have decided to return it although it’s difficult and costly. We noticed the smell issue from reading the reviews but wanted to take our chance. We failed and IKEA really disappointed us.

Perfect for the purpose

Needed something to "fluff" the comfort level for anyone sleeping on my hide-a-bed sofa. This is perfect. Just thick enough, but not so thick I couldn't close the bed back to sofa status.

Softer in store

I think because the store model gets tested so often, it's much softer than the one we brought home. Unfortunately, the return policy is not friendly. You can only get a store credit. This topper was $300.

Worth It!!

At first I thought the cost of this item was high, but with the combination mattress and topper, I've never slept better!!

The right thought

Its too expensive. Use the money to upgrade the mattress

Horrible smell

I can't tell if it's memory foam it doesn't feel as plush as it should but the smell is frightening. I woke up all throughout the night chokeing on the toxic fumes.

Looks nice

Bought this to make a memory foam mattress firmer but it made it so firm I felt like I was sleeping on the floor! It also had a terrible odor which is to be expected with latex mattresses however, the odor never left, even after putting it out on my porch for a week, it still was there after 6 months. It looks nice but not important if you cover and sleep on it!

Surprisingly PERFECT

I was hesistant, having tried two others at a higher cost. But IKEA dialed this mattress pad in very well. I have severe neurological pain from a back injury. For the first time in 11 years I am sleeping almost 8 hours nightly. For the dollar a great investment. I hope you find the same relief I did.

Price is worth it

I actually bought this mattress topper about 7-8 (possibly 10) years ago and it is still holding up excellently as a topper for our queen mattress. The queen mattress was literally like sleeping on a slab of cement and shortly after acquiring it free (from a friend who barely used it), I thought I would go nuts so it was either try a mattress topper or buy a new mattress altogether. Well this topper was all we needed and unbelievably is all the comfort we need. I do not feel the uncomfortable mattress under it at all. It was a bit more in price I wanted to spend on this topper (same price as now) but certainly the solution and the difference between normal sleep and torture.

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.