Ikea Mattress Reviews

Get The Best October 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Ikea

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

IKEA, the low price furniture store also offers mattresses that you can pick up in store or have delivered. They offer a selection of foam, latex-blend, and spring mattresses for the price conscious shopper. Those looking for a deal for the materials used find their mattresses compelling for their lower prices, but there are many that describe durability and firmness issues with their mattresses that lead to discomfort or poor sleep.

Mattress Score

Overall Score: 7.1/10

Customer Satisfaction: 7.1/10

Price Value: 8.9/10

No Back Pain: 7.5/10

Price: $89-$1199

Trial Period: No Trial

See More Scores

Get Yours Now

See Our Top Mattress Choices

Ikea's Specifics

IKEA manufactures affordable memory foam, latex-foam blend, and spring mattresses. They are a fine entry point mattress without many frills, but there are significant reports of sagging over a very short period. For most, this can be a troublesome experience and can lead to problems like back pain and discomfort.

If you are interested in getting a long-lasting mattress that feels great to you, learn what sleepers are saying about our top rated US mattresses, our top rated UK mattresses, or our top rated Australian mattresses. Read on to learn more about IKEA's mattress offerings...

Mattress Types

IKEA separates its offerings into memory foam / latex and spring mattresses. We'll go through each of these offerings below so you can see what the differences are between each of their mattresses and which mattress will work best for you.

Haugesund

The Haugesund is one of their popular mattresses and features pocketed coil spring design. Its top comfort layers come with 2 layers of polyurethane foam. At a total thickness just under 10'', it aims to be a medium firmness mattress. However, some customers describe it sagging quickly and some others describing issues with firmness being too firm at first.

The pros: The mattress comes at a very low pricepoint for a pocketed coil mattress.

The cons: Sagging issues for many people. Some firmness complaints.

Price Range: $199-$449

Final Score: 7.1 / 10

Haugsvär

The Haugsvär is another mattress that features pocketed coils. It features 3 layers of comfort polyurethane foam that provides more cushioning and a medium firmness rating according to its specifications. This is one of their more popular mattresses, but has some customer complaints about being too firm and others that describe sagging mattresses.

The pros: The mattress comes with more layers of cushioning.

The cons: Sagging issues and some that had disagreements on the firmness of the mattress.

Price Range: $299-$549

Final Score: 7.3 / 10

Morgedal

The Morgedal mattress is an all-foam mattress that features two layers of polyurethane foam with a softer cooling foam on the surface and a firmer, more responsive foam as the base. It is rated as firm and most customers describe it as being quite firm at first and then having issues with sagging and dipping over a short duration afterwards.

The pros: Firm mattress with good cooling. Good for a short-term or temporary mattress.

The cons: Problems with durability and sagging over a short period of time.

Price Range: $199-$449

Final Score: 7.0 / 10

Knapstad

Knapstad is a medium-firm memory foam mattress at a slightly higher pricepoint. It comes with three layers of polyurethane foam and is almost 10'' thick. The layers are softer on the top with more contouring layers on top and firmer, support on the bottom layer. It gets good reviews from most customers at first, but has problems with sagging over a short period of time.

The pros: Medium firm mattress at a competitive starting price. Some customers feel comfortable at first with good cooling.

The cons: Some issues with durability and sagging reported. There are many better mattresses available at a comparable pricepoints.

Price Range: $199-$449

Final Score: 7.1 / 10

Matrand

The Matrand memory foam mattress is a slimmer and cheaper option at just under 8''. It comes with a low pricepoint in both latex and all-foam design. It has a firmer profile with two layers of polyurethane foam or synthetic latex blend. Overall, customers are generally comfortable at first, but there are complaints about cooling and firmness.

The pros: Slim mattress at a competitive pricepoint.

The cons: Some issues with cooling and many were left uncomfortable.

Price Range: $299-$549

Final Score: 7.0 / 10

Myrbacka

The Myrbacka is an all-foam or synthetic latex mattress that features two layers of polyurethane foam or synthetic latex blend with a medium-firmness memory foam or softer synthetic latex blend on the top layer and a firmer foam on the bottom. It is rated firm and is a bit higher at just under 10'' thick. It also features zoned support for less firmness in the shoulders and the hips for better spinal alignment. Although there are some nice features, this is one of the lesser rated IKEA mattresses. Its firmness degrades quickly and some find it initially uncomfortable as well.

The pros: Some firm lovers like this mattress at first.

The cons: There are some that had problems with durability and firmness level.

Price Range: $479-$649

Final Score: 6.9 / 10

Minnesund

Minnesund is a very thin mattress at a little under 4''. It is just one piece of foam and quite firm. Customers describe it as mostly uncomfortable and it should only be used for those that need something very inexpensive and temporary.

The pros: Very inexpensive mattress.

The cons: Very thin and many found this mattress to be very quite uncomfortable.

Price Range: $90-$179

Final Score: 6.8 / 10

Meistervick

Meistervick is another thin foam mattress by IKEA. It is two layers of foam with the top layer having some contouring, but it is still a very firm mattress. It is just below 5'' tall and quite firm, which makes it ideal for a temporary mattress. It gets poor reviews on the comfort -- with many describing it too thin for lasting comfort.

The pros: Very inexpensive mattress.

The cons: Problematic comfort to many customers.

Price Range: $150-$229

Final Score: 6.9 / 10

Mausand

The Mausand is IKEA's latex mattress with 85% latex and 15% synthetic foam. It is more responsive than memory foam and bouncier. This mattress features wool on the top layer for added softness above the thick layer of latex / synthetic foam. It gets better reviews than other IKEA mattresses, but all-natural customers found it lacking in materials. Others found that it was not comfortable.

The pros: Moderately priced mattress with latex.

The cons: Not all-natural for those who need it. Some have problems with discomfort.

Price Range: $799-$1099

Final Score: 7.1 / 10

Hasvåg

The Hasvåg mattress is a spring mattress that comes with bonnel springs (which are interconnected as traditional innersprings). It is just above 8'' thick and is medium-firm, with a polyurethane foam comfort layer. It has some mixed reviews from customers with some describing it breaking down quickly and that it is too bouncy.

The pros: Inexpensive spring mattress with foam comfort layers.

The cons: Despite medium firmness, people describe it as very firm and uncomfortable for pressure points.

Price Range: $799-$1099

Final Score: 7.0 / 10

Hesstun

The Hesstun mattress is another foam version that comes with double layers of pocketed coils and polyurethane comfort layers. It is higher profile at almost 13'' thick, which is comparable to many other mainstream hybrid mattresses. It also comes in two firmness options: firm and medium-firm. Despite more mattress materials and a higher pricepoint, more customers have mixed things to say. There were some that describe it sagging from the edges inward and retaining some heat.

The pros: Thick, high profile traditional hybrid design mattress.

The cons: Problems with sagging reported and also some complaints of heat retention.

Price Range: $399-$649

Final Score: 6.9 / 10

Hjellestad

The Hjellestad is another thicker hybrid style mattress with pocketed coils and polyurethane foam for the comfort layers. It is medium-firm and offers a pillow top with polyurethane memory foam to contour to your body. At a height of almost 16'', it is very tall compared to many other mattresses, but some still had problems with durability and others found it was too firm.

The pros: A lot of mattress for the price. Very thick amounts of foam and pocketed coils.

The cons: Durability complaints and firmness disagreements make some feeling duped.

Price Range: $679-$899

Final Score: 7.1 / 10

Holmsbu

The Holmsbu is IKEA's thickest mattress above 17'' in height. It comes with gel infused memory foam that is pressure relieving and contouring. It also comes with two more layers of transition foam that help provide support to the body. Under this, there are 100s of pocketed coils for added support.

The pros: The highest option from IKEA at a very competitive pricepoint.

The cons: Firmness problems for some customers. Others have issues with sagging problems.

Price Range: $779-$999

Final Score: 7.0 / 10

Husvika

The Husvika is a twin-only mattress that has both polyurethane foam and innersprings. With only a very thin polyurethane layer, it has a firm and bouncy structure that most disagree with. It is poorly rated with many describing it as uncomfortable.

The pros: Extremely affordable.

The cons: Not very comfortable according to most reviewers.

Price Range: $120

Final Score: 6.7 / 10

Support

Take a look at the above scale. As you can see, IKEA focuses mostly on firm mattresses, with lesser medium and medium-firm varieties. One piece of feedback that a lot of customers have for their mattresses are that they are too firm.

Who Are IKEA Mattresses Best For?

IKEA mattresses are extremely affordable, which may be one reason to be interested, but there are significant complaints about durability and firmness. Many have described sagging mattresses over a short period of time. For those in the North America, see our our list of best mattresses for the money for those we see as the best alternatives. For those in the UK or Australia, see our our top mattresses in the UK or our top mattresses in Australia.

Browse Ikea Customer Reviews

great so far

I also have had lower back issues for a few months, especially in the morning, and I think it is because my 8yo sleepmaker pillowtop mattress had 'hammocked'. I tried adding a memory foam mattress pad to extend its life, but that didnt really work - it just felt like being partly buried in a softer hammock.
The Hesseng mattress is very firm, as others have mentioned, but using the mattress pad (its also ikea - tussoy) on it I find it really comfortable and supportive. I havent tried it without the mattress pad, but I think it would be okay. After only two sleeps, my back definitely feels a bit better this morning
I chose the Hesseng because it has good quality materials, zoned pocket coils and no pillowtop. I didnt want a pillow top because they get sink holes, so I wanted to be able to replace the mattress pad rather than the whole mattress when the mattress pad fails.
I checked out lots of mattress shops but couldnt get a mattress of similar quality with these features anywhere near this price, plus I kept getting the hard sell to upgrade which is very annoying!
As someone else mentioned, it really did smell a bit like hay in the first day or two, in a nice way, but it doesnt smell at all now.
I am very happy with it so far and will try to remember to post an update once I have had it a while, as I found it difficult to find enough reviews to make my decision. Others have indicated that the Ikea mattresses dont last that long, and nowhere near their 25 year warranty. However, my expensive sleepmaker also only lasted 8 years and I hear the same of other beds, so even if this one lasts about the same amount of time before needing replacement, I will save money

Worst Mattress Ever

I had bought firm Hesseng Pocket Sprung Mattress (Article Number 402.577.29) from Ikea in June this year, and ever since facing back issues. It's not only me, but my wife as well as her parents; everyone in my family is experiencing back pains. Even an employee from Ikea told me that she too faced the same back problem. Additionally, my friend who bought the same mattress too faced the same issue.

But Ikea is not ready to accept this. All they are saying is that the mattress can be swapped only once as per your comfort level. But what do I swap it with? This is apparently the best mattress in Ikea.

For the past one month, I am sleeping on a rug happily and I wake up without any pain. And my family is sleeping on the other bed. Overall, we have a $800 big junk lying on our bed :(

Nice matures but show room ones feel much more comfortable

Does not feel anything like the ones in store although only had for one night hope it softens up a bit more I may have to buy a topper as well although the ones in store were very comftable with out topper just have to wait a few more days and see

Great mattress, firm just as described.

Having had back issues for some time, I was convinced that it was our, not so old and expensive Sleepmaker mattress, which I was very disappointed in. The combined product information, price and good reviews for the Hesseng sounded like what I was after; a firm and natural mattress without all the nasty chemicals. I feel so supported by this mattress, it's lovely. I was concerned that my husband, as a side sleeper, would find it too hard, but this has not proved to be the case. Like a previous review, both of us experienced discomfort in adjusting to the new firmness for a couple of weeks. However, we have now had the mattress for a month and I can honestly say that we are both very happy with it and all discomfort has gone. I actually look forward to going to bed now. My husband does not need the topper either. A great mattress at a good price, only time will tell how long this will last. I would definitely recommend it for someone looking a for a firm mattress and without being ripped off.

Simply good quality at a good price.

Simply excellent quality at a good price. After my last terrible experince spending too much money on a horrendous Harvey Norman, King Beard, I cant recomend this highly enough. Agree with comments below. No smell and super coooomfotable.

Love it

After reading others' reviews here, I decided to get the firm Hesseng and also buy the Tromsdalen mattress pad in case the Hesseng was too firm. Upon delivery, I tried out the Hesseng without the mattress pad for a week. For the first few nights, I was a little achey after waking. Retrospectively, I think my spine was readjusting, having been used to a seriously sagging mattress that was well beyond its use-by-date. After those first few nights, I just loved climbing into bed on that Hesseng mattress. I ended up returning the Tromsdalen mattress pad unused - didn't need it. The other thing I LOVED about the Hesseng was that because it's all natural fibres, it doesn't have the toxic leach of most new mattresses. It didn't need any airing time, no smell at all. The only downsides I can see are that a) it's super heavy (52kg) which will make turning it a chore and even makes fitting sheets on it a little tricky and b) its one-sided so you can't flip it. Hopefully that doesn't have wear implications. Overall though, I'm very happy, sleeping extremely comfortably and highly recommend it.

The worst mattress ever!

I wouldn't recommend this mattress to anyone. My boyfriend and I bought it last year, and ever since I have suffered from a terrible back ache. (I have never had back problems and always had hard mattresses previously) It is the hardest mattress money can buy and even with a topper it doesn't make the slightest difference. The biggest waste of money.. : (

A great mattress

After 2 years of constantly reading mattress reviews, we bit the bullet and decided to go with the Ikea Hesseng. We figured that as it was half the cost of other brands like a similarly sized Sealy, if we didn't like it at least we weren't as much out of pocket. We bought the firm king sized mattress with the extra mattress topper and like another reviewer, we found it to be very firm at first but loved it anyway because we could move without disturbing each other. We have now had it for almost 2 months and have to say that I would buy another one in a heartbeat. It is still firm but does not cause any back or side pain, the topper can be easily swapped around, unlike other brands where they are attached and I like the fact that the materials are predominantly natural ones.

Avoid the medium/firm Hesseng!

First we bought the firm Hesseng which was a bit too firm, and when you first lie on it I can guarantee it will be the firmest mattress you have ever slept on. In hindsight I wish we had persevered with it but after a week we decided that it was ridiculously hard and we swapped it for the Hesseng medium/firm, which was a very, very, VERY bad idea. The Hesseng medium/firm is not supportive whatsoever, it feels like an air bed with 1/3 of the air let out, moving around in the bed throws you off balance, the mattress digs into your back and hips. You can only swap mattresses once at IKEA so we are stuck with a £600 mattress that we can't sleep on. Avoid at all costs.

Affordable and comfortable (Hesseng firm plus Tromsdalen topper)

My husband and I bought the Hesseng (firm) a few months ago, after much research and shopping around. We wanted a reasonably firm mattress with sufficient padding, but preferred to avoid memory foam due to concerns about toxicity. The Hesseng is advertised as being comprised of natural materials.

Before buying this mattress, I was only getting a few hours sleep each night due to lower back pain. My sleep improved significantly after buying the Hesseng, but I found it was still a bit too firm. We did not want to swap the firm version for the medium firm, however, as we found the latter to be far less supportive. So, we ended up buying the Tromsdalen mattress pad to go on top. Fortunately, this product does not have memory foam either. Instead, it has a 4cm thick layer of natural latex. I'm also glad that the mattress pad is replaceable, since I've read a lot of complaints about mattresses which have the plush layer attached. Purchasers often complain that the top layer sinks and gets distorted and uncomfortable.

In any event, the mattress pad was a good solution for us, as it provided enough cushioning to adequately support our lower backs. Having said this, it's worth noting that my husband and I are both (predominantly) back sleepers and I don't think this particular mattress and topper combination would be soft enough for a side sleeper. Also, the topper did make the bed feel much warmer, but we were able to work around that by keeping the winter doona on but wearing summer PJs to bed.

To be honest, we were a bit reluctant to buy an IKEA mattress, but they said that if we scanned our IKEA Family card we would have 12 months to return the product if we didn't 'love' it. So far so good. We don't have any plans to return it yet.

Doesn't smell! hooray

We originally got the Hyllestad from Ikea and it smelt awful, chemicals etc due to the memory foam (I found out after some research) after 3 weeks with the window open night and day the smell still wasn't gone. Took it back and swapped it for the Hessing (ok so we spent another 300) boy it is worth it not to have the awful smell! It smells a tiny bit but more like a fabric smell, or like hay, it's cleaner and not chemical. Soo much happier now...

After 6 months of searching ....

Hesseng medium firm was the one we looking for 6 months.Firm but soft at the same time,it keeps stable your body temperature.I can t feel my wife movements during the night because of the self springs.Latex keeps the body relaxing.Best price for value.thanks ikea!!!!

Hyllestadt

It was a good mattress for one year and then the whole side collapsed. The sleeper weighs 48 kilos so it was not a weight issue. I am hoping IKEA is faithful to the guarantee. I will update you as it unfolds.

I'd give them 0 stars

I'd give them 0 stars if i could.. Ordered a crib and mattress, haven't received the mattress....It's for my new born; 1. I waited on the phone for hours to speak about a missing mattress and wrong parts 2. They still haven't answered, i think it's ridiculous to wait 2 hours to speak with someone 3. Wrong parts .. Most frustrating situation i have been in, never will i shop at ikea again

One star

One star for ease of shopping in-store, the speed of the assembly techs, and the relative inexepensiveness of the items (relative to quality). Minus four stars for the after point-of-sale customer service, which has tainted our whole experience. During the last month since our purchase, I have spent over 5 1/2 hrs on hold/speaking with 5 or 6 different customer service reps at 888-888-4532. In defense of the humans, everyone was very nice, apologetic and deferential. I believe Ikea's customer service system needs an overhaul; at the very least, it needs way more staffing to reduce the hold times. Woe be unto you, shopper, should you ever need to speak with a live rep: it is a cyber no man's land. Thank goodness for earbuds and other tasks. We selected our items ($3000 worth) and chose to have Ikea deliver/assemble. This was the easy part ---except the delivery time was changed on us without notice, which I only found out about because I am a planner (plan for the worst, hope for the best) so I called to verify when they were coming. Now began the first of our many "on hold" odysseys. We were told the original delivery time was no longer correct. Did it become inconvenient for Ikea's outsourced delivery company? Not sure; the result was we, the customer, had to rearrange our schedule. Btw, assembly techs were excellent. Interspersed with the above occurrence was the fact that the mattress we were sold was no longer available. (While in the store shopping, we had made sure that it was because it seemed a little "iffy" even then. And besides- they sold us the darn thing!) Also, found out a chest was not available, but would be soon. A case number was created for me to apply for a credit to back to my card and schedule the chest delivery. By and by, the first scheduled delivery occurred and an item was damaged ---more time on the 888 number to arrange replacement item via a new case number. (I got a lot done around the house while on hold.) Replacement item and chest was scheduled/delivered/assembled a few days later (they combined delivery of the two items, which was convenient for all), but again, not at the originally appointed time. I suspect poor communication between Ikea and local delivery service they use. Or maybe it's just that no one is trained for excellent customer service anymore. We had had such a time with delivery/damage/no mattress, that the next customer service rep agreed to refund our $59 delivery fee and mail us a $100 gift card. We thought all would be well, finally. Then, after many days, I pulled up my credit card online and: no credit for mattress. To chase that down required three additional calls; two of these requried I be put on hold so the rep could call the store. I have just gotten off the phone, so I hope the credit will show up in "2-3 business days." Also, we received only a $30 gift card; an additional card for the balance is, supposedly, coming soon.

A few days ago I made a purchase

A few days ago I made a purchase at the IKEA store in Frisco, TX, USA. I drove to the store to purchase the Sultan Hultsvik (king size) bed, which retails at $749. Prior to checkout, I stumbled upon the same mattress in the "as-is" section at a discounted price (because it was an in-store display). The mattress was very clean, other than the words "as-is" written on the bottom of the mattress (which was acceptable). I decided it was a great deal so I purchased the discounted mattress instead of paying full retail. Since I only have a small car, I took the mattress over to home deliver, and paid an additional fee for it to be delivered to my home. While making the payment, I asked the employee (Chris) to please make sure they wrap plastic around the mattress to prevent it from becoming dirty during transport, and he assured me they would. The mattress arrived at my home with no plastic, and an additional large round dirt stain on the corner at the head of the mattress, and another stain on the "pillow" top of the mattress. The large stain had some sort of smell (i'm guessing its from whatever was on the floor of the truck during transport). I asked the delivery guys why there was no plastic cover and they replied, "we told them the customer asked for it to be wrapped in something so it doesn't get dirty," and they said IKEA told them it was "as-is." Having purchased nearly all of my furniture at IKEA, I am disgusted to say the least, at the service I received on this day. An "as-is" item doesn't give IKEA the right to damage the product even further and force the customer to take it. The delivery guys could have urinated all over the mattress and I would have been forced to accept the product. The clean product I purchased in the store is NOT the same product I received at home. I was unable to refuse the product because the document I signed stated IKEA wouldn't replace the product because it was "as-is", so I'm stuck with the dirty smelly mattress. I attempted to eliminate the smell and the dirty stain still exists. This is not how you treat your customers in ANY business and I would certainly expect more from a company such as this. If it cost extra to wrap the mattress in plastic, I would have gladly paid the price to prevent further damage to the product. After contacting customer service and the store, they refused to help me. IKEA should be a company of integrity and do the RIGHT THING for the customer. I will seek legal help for this!

I went in and bought a bed, mattress

I went in and bought a bed, mattress, box spring and Bos spring cover and paid for delivery and assembly. The day they were scheduled to deliver they were a no show with no call. I had to spend over an hour to get through only for them to tell me there was a discrepancy in my order, but they couldn't tell me what. I went all the way back to the store to get answers and they said it wasn't delivered because the BOX SPRING COVER was out of stock! I told them to please move forward with everything else. So, they rescheduled for the next day. I sat and waited for the 4 hour window and again, no one shows up. I called back into customer service and was told the drivers van broke down. Again, no call letting me know they weren't going to show up. I reschedule again for the third day, the day of my daughter's graduation so had to have a neighbor sit for the delivery. They finally show up and put the bed together but didn't have the mattress. The reason they gave us that they couldn't locate it in the warehouse! No special mattress just one of their main ones they sell all the time. The delivery people didn't tell my neighbor they didn't have the mattress just made it seem like everything was grand! Again call, hold for about an hour only for them to let me know they have to reschedule the mattress delivery. I finally ask to speak to a manager and they say they don't have a manager working for the next couple of days. Here it is over a week since I placed my order and I still don't have everything to make my order complete, for an order I was told that everything was in stock. Would have been better off paying a little more to a more professional furniture store with real customer service.

IKEA's customer service was so bad

IKEA's customer service was so bad, I was waiting for 1 hour to finally someone answered my call. Deliver service was good for me, they delivered on time, nothing was damaged and no missing part. But the mattress I ordered from IKEA caused my neck and back pain. The return process was so painful. This is my first time shopping at IKEA, very likely the last time.

In regards to delivery

In regards to delivery, I had to have a king size mattress delivered, there is no other option this bed had to be delivered. A week and a half ago I ordered my mattress and king size bed. Today my bed showed up, no mattress. I have disassembled and donated my bed. I have no where to sleep. I call IKEA, they are after all the ones I paid, they arranged this delivery. I call IKEA, they tell me North American logistics has the mattress they just need to find it and they will call me. It is 3.5 hours later and nothing. I call the delivery company myself, they tell me they do not have the mattress. Why on earth was I not told earlier, why on earth deliver a bed frame knowing the mattress was not there. This is not a living room set missing the coffee table, and IKEA has not lifted one finger to resolve or help in this situation.

Simply awful

Simply awful in every aspect of service. Nearly all of the bad events listed by others here - website malfunction, terrible phone response time and frustrating in store experience - have also happened to us in the last week, so I won't repeat them. Suffice it to say, our first major purchase - bed, dressers, nightstands, mattress, etc - will be our last. As I write this, delivery for several of the larger items has not happened as scheduled and we've been on the phone for literally 4-5 hours trying to reschedule. Insults to injuries abound! We stayed home ALL DAY for them (they had a four hour window) and they didn't show up, didn't call as promised and then ABOVE ALL, someone, somewhere, reported that they attempted delivery - a flat out lie. Beware. Prepare to waste lots of precious time and feel frustration like few other retail experiences provide. Truly, in today's consumer driven world, it's a wonder how so many put up with this terribly managed product service and delivery model.

Read this before you decide to use their delivery service

Read this before you decide to use their delivery service. IKEA failed my delivery twice. They never loaded my furniture to the delivery truck and never informed me proactively about the issue. For both times, I had to call customer service, average waiting time is 40 mins, to find out that my delivery is canceled. If you are reading below, my nightmares start on 4/24 4/22 Purchased sofa and mattress at Emeryville IKEA; delivery is arranged on 4/24 from 11am - 3pm 4/23 Received a text message asking to confirm Tuesday's delivery; happily responded YES. Received missed calls from North American Logistics, IKEA's delivery partner. Called back and was connected to the automated system which told me my order will be delivered from 11-3pm. 4/24 Started waiting at 11am. Received no email, text message, or call from 11am to 3pm. At 3pm called American Logistics. Got to the automated system which says the order is on schedule for delivery. Decided to talk to a customer representative, took 20 mins to speak with someone. Gave my order number and she said she will connect me with California team, they can then connect me with the driver. Got transferred, waited for another 5-10 mins, a female rep answered, I explained the situation, she asked for my order number, after I answered, I was immediately put on hold, waited for another 5-10 mins, then a guy picked up and said he can't help me, he only supports deliveries to Canada. He transferred me again to the US team. No one picked up and I was connected to voice mail. I then decided to call IKEA customer service. Waited 20 mins to connect to a rep. Took the rep a few mins to pull out the status. She explained that my order was never loaded to the truck. She told me it rarely happens but it does happen sometimes, maybe the product was damaged. She said she filled out a form for me, gave my info to the delivery team, they will get back to me about the delivery time. I asked her to make a note that they need to call me back ASAP as I just moved in and am waiting for the mattress. She said she made a note in her request; they will call back on the same day or the next day. I asked whether I can make a claim on the situation. She said yes. She said she made a note on my record and transferred me to the customer resolution team. I waited for 10 mins, no one picked up, I eventually hung up because I needed to get to a meeting. No one called me back on 4/24 4/25 Received an email in the morning indicating my order will be delivered 4/26 without the 4-hour timeframe indicated. At 7pm, my husband called customer services, trying to figure the delivery window. He waited for 1 hour and 20 mins before speaking with a representative. The rep told him it will be delivered from 11am to 3pm. He told my husband he is sorry about what happened. He advised us to talk with customer resolution after receiving the delivery. 4/26 Received text message at 9:05 am asking to confirm today's delivery from 9am to 1pm by responding YES or call to reschedule (what? You told me it's from 11-3 and now is 9-11 and you are telling me at 9:05???) Called, the system told me the wait is 41 mins; waited for 30 mins. Hung up because I had to go to a scheduled meeting. Meeting ended at 10:30; I decided to skip the rest of the scheduled events; replied the confirmation text message with a YES and rushed home. Got home at 11am. Waited till 1pm. IKEA never showed or called. Called customer service, waited for 40 mins before speaking with someone. Took her awhile to find out what happened. The result is she doesn't know, because she couldn't get a hold of the right people at Emeryville to find out what happened. As for compensation of my time lost and had to buy a air mattress before my real mattress arrived, she asked me to deal with the store. I've never been so disappointed as a consumer. Never. And when it happened with one of your favorite brand in the world, it can get your emotion down pretty badly. Please fix this IKEA.

As a repeat visitor I keep getting let down

As a repeat visitor I keep getting let down by your terrible customer service and cheap furniture. I would rather build a bed out of Levi's than ever buy another mattress from you guys. Meatballs get five stars cuz they are on point.

I have been here many times

I have been here many times and never really had an issue to vent about until my experience yesterday. The restaurant is always clean and relatively fast, the store is clean and organized, was able to find a team member when needed near by and the cashiers are always quick and ready for their customers. I went to Ikea yesterday to buy a king mattress and frame. The employee put what I wanted in the system and told me that it would be ready downstairs when I was done shopping. AWESOME. We browsed a bit more and then went to check out. Forgetting my wallet in the car, MY BAD, I finally checked out. We, my husband and 3 children (3 month old, 2 year old, 8 year old), made out way to the pick up. Our order was in red, not picked yet. We waited a hour, after them reassuring us it will only take 15 minutes. I talked to 3 different employees to check on my order. People after me have come and gone. The employees told me it was being taken care of, when it clearly wasn't. I went to the returns to ask for a refund because I was truly done and at this point we wanted to just go home, and she politely went to check on my order again, and only then was my order picked and was getting ready to be pulled. 20 more minutes and my order was finally ready. There excuse was because they didn't have the proper employee to use the machine to get my order that was up high. Wouldn't have been nice if they would have told me that or let me know that my order will be a little longer than expected. Neither was it a busy day or a time of a day either, mid week, mid morning.

I have lived in many homes before

I have lived in many homes before. But I never had my own, so when my family and I finally obtained our own place, we were excited and decided to buy furniture. Hence, Ikea. We go and everything seemed fine... until we got home. I have never lived in a home with bed bugs. But when we set up the Ikea Kura bed for my daughters, they were constantly getting bit by something. The doctors thought it was hives or something in our detergent but only my two daughters who were sleeping on the bed seemed to be affected. After 3 long months of questioning why my kids were always itching, with no answers to be found I was pretty much at wits end. Then as I was tucking my daughter in one night, there it was a bed bug as big as a chocolate chip drop. I freaked and told my husband to inspect it, low and behold it was a bed bug. But how was it that we got bed bugs. Everything in the house was fine, it was a brand new mattress. I took it to google, "Emeryville Ikea" and there I found reviews of people also coming home with bed bugs. I will NEVER buy a bed from here again as much as I love Ikea. I'm sorry but this has got to change. If you know what's good for you, please I advise you to take precaution when purchasing furniture from here.

Today

Today, I came to get the mattress . My mattress was at aisle 24 bin 34. I came and grab the mattress on that bin. I have double checked the bin and the brand of my mattress. But I was at the checkout I just figure out it wasn't the brand I want. And the price was double . I asked one of the assistance, he told me this have two location. My mattress was moved to the front of aisle 24. It was wasting my time that I have to return the paid mattress and get in line to checkout other one. Please!!!!!! If you have moved your item please put a note or change its location on the tag. The mattress was heavy and I was just alone today. !!!!!

Bought a mattresss

Bought a mattress in the Emeryville ikea last week and after the first night I noticed a bite on my leg, 2 nights later i had 17 bites, i striped the mattess and found a BED BUG on my mattress, I had no bites before i got the mattress. after 2 hours on hold to customer service they said they would give me a gift card for the cost of the mattress. they said i had to talk to there insurance company if i wanted to get them to pay for extermination,. I asked them to pick it up but they refused, I have no mode of transport and now i have nowhere to sleep, thanks IKEA, my skin is crawling at the thought of my room Ikea=BED BUGS

We went here to buy pillow top

We went here to buy pillow top. After a long way walking around we finally got mattresses and pillows. Disappointed, after pick out the pillow top that we want, the girl who works there said if we buy it, can't return. Damn it is $300 bucks plus tax and what if it is not good for our bed then what we gonna do with it. Definitely never come to Ikea buy mattresses or pillow top. And the service is not good.

Unfortunately, I had the worst consumer experience

Unfortunately, I had the worst consumer experience of my life at IKEA. It's still a pretty sore subject for me, but I think potential shoppers need to know this. 13 months ago I bought a bed, (Sultan Flokenes) with frame and slats, at IKEA. Less than 2 months later the bed started to sag in the middle. I checked the frame and how I put it together, and it was built fine. I used to work as a builder, so I had no problem solidly putting together a bed frame. Here is the painful part. I called IKEA to talk to them about this sagging mattress problem, and it was impossible to get anyone from IKEA Emmeryville on the phone. I reached a call center. They told me, "go ahead and take the mattress in and they will take a look at it. We can't really say anything unless we look at it first." "Bring it in???" I said. "It's a mattress not a lamp. I can't just throw it in my back seat and drive it over. This is a very difficult situation." He replied coldly and sternly, "Sorry sir, but that is all we can do. We can look at it to determine if it is defective. If so, we can talk about a replacement." "Is there anyone from IKEA who can come and look at it?" I asked. "No. Sorry sir. You have to take it in." He answered. "May I please have a phone number for someone at the store in Emmeryville?" I requested. He took my phone number and several days later someone from IKEA Emmeryville called me and pretty much told me the same thing. That I had to bring it in, and they would "look at it" to determine if it was defective. No one could come look at it in my apartment. (to their credit, there was a manager there who was very kind, but he was stuck within their rigid, unhelpful customer service policies) So... I got a friend, rented a truck, and took the mattress in. They gave me a brand new replacement, the same mattress (Sultan Flokenes) and I brought it home. I was happy Two weeks later it started to sag. Right in the middle. Back pain inducing sag. Horrible. I was so upset I didn't even want to call IKEA. I just wanted to sell the mattress and get the whole thing over with. Leave IKEA behind completely. But then again, I did not want to sell a lousy mattress to someone else because that is not nice either. I slept on the lame mattress for several months. Then... Around a month ago, in a moment of strength, I called IKEA (I still had the number and extensions of some managers) and left a manager a long message letting him know what was happening. I told him to please be mindful when replying. I asked him to please not call me and ask me to "bring the mattress in." I asked him to please talk to top level management and carefully weigh his response before returning my call. I told him this was the worst consumer experience of my life. I told him I wanted a refund. He called me back 5 days later and told me they would refund my money if I brought the mattress in. I took it in. They gave me a cash refund. I doubt I will ever walk into IKEA again. It was so insensitive to ask me to "just bring it in and we'll look at it." A mattress!! For a lamp or a trash can or a dish rack that would be fine. But for a mattress?? I drive a compact car and live on the 3rd floor of an apartment building! Come up with other options! Help me out a little! But they stuck it to me. 2 failed mattresses. The Sultan Flokenes. Don't buy it. IKEA? Beware. The worst customer service I have ever experienced. Horrible horrible experience.

On July 4th, 2016, I purchased a foam mattress

On July 4th, 2016, I purchased a foam mattress from IKEA Emeryville. On November 19th, I found the mattress has lots of mold spots on the back side. The old mattress that I have been used for more than ten years. I never see any mold situation. This one just four and half months! So I tried to call customer service. But I was waiting for 45 minutes still not get though the phone. I just went to IKEA in Emeryville. The lady who works in return center said she cannot do anything, cannot return or exchange it for me. I said I want to talk to a supervisor,Later A lady came to me her name is FEUPA. I show her the picture of moldy mattress and receipt . She said no problem just go ahead bring the foam mattress in, she will take care of it. I went back home and picked up the mattress back to IKEA, I waited in return line for 2 hours, she checked the mattress and said it looked different from the picture,it is not mold, it's stain! She can't do anything, And she called a duty manager came out. He said yes it is mold but the warranty is expired! They gave me different excuses!! I argued if FEUPA told me at the beginning. I don't have to stay there waste 4-5 hours for nothing. She made promise, later she went back on what she had said. It is unprofessional!! If she didn't make any promise. I don't have to waste half day. Terrible Customer service!!! DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME AND MONEY, I will NOT go IKEA again!!!

Worst delivery service ever

Worst delivery service ever, they threw the new mattress upside down and left the wrapping on, onto the brand new bed frame (fjell the hardest to assemble piece we've ever put together). The delivery people would rude and extremely 'rough'.

In desperation, I am utilizing public media

In desperation, I am utilizing public media. Online orders made at Ikea.com are a BAD idea. I purchased a mattress and bed-frame, supposed to be delivered on Friday, August 21. Instead, I received the bed-frame, an apology from the moving company that Ikea had not provided the mattress. Judging from the extraordinarily high call volume, all circuits being busy, and a non-functioning email contact -- supposed to be up and running by August 29th, but still not -- I would say I am not the only patron with a problem. I have been on hold twice for over two hours. Ikea, this is terrible. I will never order from this company again and would never recommend to anyone else that they do so.

not furniture

TL:DR: ikea is kewlz to browse and for swedish meatballs but not furniture. Don't get me wrong, I like browsing through Ikea. I love seeing their displays because it allows me to become inspired and decorate my house to my own creativity. Buuuuut...the quality here..there is no quality. Ikea is nice for those who plan to constantly replace their furniture but if you want something durable and is built to last, I would not, I REPEAT, not buy your shizzz here. I've purchased a bed frame and a mattress here (no, not their cheap roll out mattresses but the higher priced ones that they offer) and its been barely two years and my mattress is dipping. It's uncomfortable as hell to sleep on at this point because it is so lumpy. The mattress frame is a little better but the base boards were so annoying initially because they constantly fell under and my bed would collapse, I eventually just placed actual large pieces of wood under to keep everything in place. I've purchased a lot of furniture and random things for the house over the years and some items are more long lasting than others but honestly I would recommend taking your money and going elsewhere. You pay a little more, or less..I guess it depends where you go and if you haggle, but most times you WILL find better grade furniture. To be honest, the prices at Ikea are not even that cheap. Like I bought a leather couch here and it cost me well over $1000 and the center started to concave not even a year into my purchase. Annnnnd another thing, have you ever seen those videos of when they cut Ikea furniture in half?? Everything is like cardboard, no wonder it breaks so quickly!! And another-nother thing, everything is so complicated to build...

I like shopping in the store

I like shopping in the store - definitely have had a range of experiences with their products from feeling like I got a great deal on something that lasted to a few items that did not wear well, but over all good experiences - however I am giving them one star for my latest saga with them and please Do NOT BUY A MATTRESS HERE!!!! Or anything you have to have delivered!!!! I purchased a mattress after carefully trying out the mattresses in the store AND ASKING LOTS OF QUESTIONS- the one I received felt nothing like the one in the store. Confused I went back and asked why mine felt so much harder - I was told "of course the ones in the store are softer - lots of people lay on them" Do you think they could have mentioned that when I was there for over 45 minutes the first time? Then I exchange it - but if I had them pick up the first one, wait for the return, then order the second one with the credit I would have been without a bed for about a few weeks. So I asked - can I purchase a new mattress and have you credit the old one to my credit card when it comes back - THEY SAID YES - then a manager reviewed it and made it a store credit for the first one since it was "used"( ie I took the plastic off of it) without contacting me to give me the option to exchange - so I am stuck with an IKEA gift card - Grrrrr. Never again! Horrible customer service!!!! Miss informed. Management that does nothing to help. I will never get anything delivered from here again. Just to add to my frustration they have their hours on their outgoing message do not include a time zone - I do not know what time zone they are in - but they said they were closed at 10am pacific time on a Wednesday- go figure and their email link to the contact information for problems with online sales is broken (I have reported it to them twice) They really need someone to fix their systems and their customer service.

Absolutely TERRIBLE SERVICE!

Absolutely TERRIBLE SERVICE! Delievery was scheduled labor day! Ruined my holiday waiting for it, and it never showed. Then 3 scheduled NO SHOWS since then. Finally today, weeks later, they show up at a time I specified NOT TO SHOW up! Then they have the balls to say I need to go back to the store to settle this?!?! This is my first apartment, this was my first furniture buying experience, and I am offended at how poorly they have treated me and how unwilling they are to accomodate their own mistakes. Money lost calling out of work, I have been sleeping on a blowup mattress waiting for my bed! My apartment is a mess because I have nothing to put my stuff in! DO NOT GO TO IKEA IF YOU NEED TO RELY ON DELIEVERY!

This Ikea has BY FAR the worst customer service

This Ikea has BY FAR the worst customer service and without a doubt should be rated below average. I have never experienced anything like this before: I went to Ikea Emeryville, CA to purchase a queen malm (brown veneer ash) bedframe, lonset slats, mattress and mattress pad. I was helped by an Ikea worker, because I couldn't put everything on the cart by myself since it slid around when trying to put heavy objects on it. I proceeded through checkout, and got my items delivered that day. I put together my bed frame first, which I then realized was actually a full bed frame. Whoever helped me at the store pick the bed frame off the shelf, the cashier, and the person who did my delivery all looked at either the item or the receipt of my purchase and no one pointed out that I was buying a full bed frame. So I called to get the full bed frame picked up for return and delivery of a queen bed frame, and also admitted it was my fault for not checking my receipt closely. Even though, the store worker picked out the wrong size bed frame for me, the customer service person said it would still cost $50 (half of the delivery fee) to get my bed frame, which is ridiculous, but I agreed. I now have been playing phone tag with both two customer service reps (extensions 1458 and 1378). They asked me to send them an authorization form with my credit card information because they cannot accept payments over the phone. I've emailed that form a dozen times and left at least six messages on each of their voicemails.

I love IKEA

I love IKEA and have been shopping there since it opened. Today I bought a mattress it took about 15 min to get it and pay. I then stood in the "Home Delivery" line for over an hour. There are two lines labeled "Home Delivery" I got behind one person in one of the lines. It took about 15 min to process her. I smiled at the employee while she took care of the woman in front of me. When she was done she walked away and seemed to meander around-She never said to me when I arrived "I am sorry but when I am done with this person in front of you I will be leaving" . I watched her go up to someone in the "Pick up line" and ask them if she could help them. I had to get in the other "Home Delivery" . I waited 45 min behind 2 people. When I finally was next person up the Ikea employee kept turning and having a conversation with another employee about some personal gossiping while I stood there waiting for her to finish. I finally asked her to focus on processing my paperwork. The employees in the store and at check out have always been helpful and nice, but my first experience with "Home Delivery" was terrible.

Well this is a review on one of the customer service

Well this is a review on one of the customer service people on the floor. So I wasn't told that I needed a mid-beam for the bed frame I purchased from the Palo Alto location. I only found out that it was needed when I read the instructions on how to put the bed together. I got all 3 boxes which is all I thought I needed. Anyway, I asked one ikea sales floor person about whether the beam was supposed to come with the bed and she mentioned no. I asked for the part number and she gave me the bin where I can find it. Then off to the bed section of ikea. I asked another sales floor person about slats for my bed. I also mentioned that I was getting a foam mattress so she added a specific slat to get for a foam bed. I don't like sales people most of the time because they are too pushy or most customer service people don't spend that much effort into explaining things, but this was a diamond in the rough. And I had to write a review about it.

Ikea and its employees behave like gangsters

Ikea and its employees behave like gangsters when a customer complains about a not delivered as promised product. Wife bought a mattress and after checking in person at store was told it was ready for pick up at a warehouse in Hayward. We rented a truck and drove all the way from Larkspur but were told it was not there. We returned to the store and asked for an explanation, which was not acceptable for us since they just blamed the other company. When we requested a refund they said basically that it was up to them, whenever they wanted. The supposed store manager, by the name of Jeff acted rudely, abusive and when he realized that we did not accept his abuse decided to call two muscle men to force us out of the store, My wife and I are 60 year old persons just stating our right to get our money back for a product that was not delivered to us as agreed. Ikea and its employees acted in an abusive and overbearing manner, just like gangsters pushing out an unwanted customer. The supposed manager Jeff showed no real capacity to sustain an intelligent argument or satisfy a client's rights. I do not appreciate being treated like a criminal just because I do not agree to being abused, lied and threatened by management's muscle men. It is incredible that this type of behavior is still allowed in this day an age by an international business, SHAME ON IKEA and its incompetent employees. Why does the customer have to pay for their incompetence and abuse! By now the purchase price of the product has more than doubled in cost, thank you Ikea and thank you Jeff for humiliating me and my wife. I cannot believe that this company has such an incompetent working there, a real gangster! Or perhaps it reflects the company's real policies? Is he the gangster or are they all?

I'm always reluctant to write reviews

I'm always reluctant to write reviews on such poor customer service but I feel as though this time around it needs to be heard. Like many of us, Ikea has been a great source for inexpensive do it yourself furniture. I actually find that the quality of the furniture has gotten better over the years which is the ONLY reason this review gets 1 star, otherwise it would be zero if the choice was possible. My gripe is with the awful customer service! Where should I begin? The problem first came up when I went to buy a new bedroom set for the spare bedroom. Bed Frame, Box set, Mattress all in all just under $900. Before I gathered all the items on my cart I asked if there would be a delivery date available for the upcoming saturday. It can only be saturday because no one is home friday and sunday would be too late as my family that will be visiting will already be there. I was very specific about the request. The guy at the service desk assured me that YES the saturday I need my things delivered should not be a problem. So here I am in my suit sweating as I gather all the items onto two separate carts. Roll them through the checkout, stood in line for home delivery for another 30 minutes, got to the front only for them to tell me that Saturday delivery is NOT available! Needless to say I was pretty upset. This was the last thing I needed after having worked overtime all week with family on their way into town and I only had ONE opportunity to get them some type of bed to sleep on before their arrival. So now I had to stand in line in returns to get my money back. That was another 30 minutes. I had to explain to them why I'm returning items I only just bought a little over an hour ago. The concept wasn't sinking in so they called a supervisor. The supervisor final approved my return but low and behold they didn't have enough cash to cover what I paid in cash for the transaction. So they gave me a smaller portion back in cash and were supposed to refund the remaining amount back to my credit card. "Supposed" to be the key word there. After several days of not seeing the refund hit my account I called Ikea. They said its the banks fault. I called the bank. Bank said there is nothing on their end indicating that a refund was made. Told me to go back to Ikea. Long story short, I've now been back to Ikea 4 more times since the initial purchase and return date and still nothing has been resolved. They have an authorization number to re-do the return because it wasn't completed the first time. I was told a rep would call me to get the credit card number over the phone so I wouldn't come back in. That was now 4 days ago. At this point I should be surprised. I'm still missing my $600+ dollars and I'm looking to go back again to settle this once and for all.

This is a review for Dynamex (IKEA's delivery service)

This is a review for Dynamex (IKEA's delivery service) I bought a king size bed, slats, and mattress from IKEA and paid for a delivery service on Thursday. I was informed by IKEA that Dynamex would call me Saturday to let me know of a 4 hour delivery window for the Sunday. Saturday: I never received a call from Dynamex. Sunday: I called them as soon as they opened to find out what was going on and was told that no information on my order has been updated and to call back in an hour... So I did call back in an hour and was told that I did not have a delivery scheduled and that neither the dispatch nor the driver was picking up the phone. I was assured by the woman at Dynamex that she would call the driver every 15 minutes to get an update on my delivery and that she, in turn, would call me to give me a status update. Sure enough she did call me back (only phone call that was ever returned) and let me know that no delivery window was available. I called a few hours later again and spoke to a very rude man named Michael who interrupted me numerous times. He told me my order "could not be located." When I asked for an explanation he simply said, in a matter of fact tone, "Your order is lost and there is nothing I can do" Wow. Monday: I called around 11 am and spoke to a woman who said no delivery window was available but promised me that I could expect a phone call back from Dynamex in a short while at which time I would receive a 4 hour window for delivery the following day. I was worried when she added, "If you don't receive a call, call us before 4pm today" Well, as I am sure you can guess, nobody called me. So, before 4pm I gave Dynamex yet another call. Again I spoke to Michael who gave me the run-around. Same, story "ma'am your order cannot be located in the warehouse" and "ma'am, we are doing our best." When I ask Michael for details/ an explanation he acts as though I am irritating him. I let him know that another Dynamex employee let me know that my delivery would happen tomorrow and I could expect to get a delivery window today. He basically said that wasn't true and that I was shit out of luck. What customer service! I STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED MY ORDER. IKEA should not do business with this clearly incompetent company. Yes, this is the fault of the delivery company, but I hold both IKEA and Dyamex responsible. If you have to buy something oversized from IKEA may I suggest renting a U-Haul or Truck for the day and doing it yourself? There's no doubt that it will be cheaper and more efficient. Side Note: I've called IKEA to say that if my items are not delivered tomorrow I want a refund/ cancel my order. I've been on hold for $25+ MINUTES. What a beacon of efficiency !!!

My IKEA experience: After graduating and moving across the country

My IKEA experience: After graduating and moving across the country, I found myself in an empty hardwood studio with a suitcase, stereo, and debt... Trip 1. AWESOME -$60 roll-packed twin mattress -$20 comforter -$100 of household necessities IKEA provided--at an extraordinarily low price--the absolute necessities for me to be able to live in a new place. Not only that, but the hobo-like bed I had created was exceptionally comfortable and warm. Trip 2. HELPFUL -$800 super cool looking sofa-bed with storage space, removable slip covers and easy assembly First off, I had taken excruciatingly detailed measurements of the whole apt, studied the IKEA catalog like it was my job, rolled into the store knowing exactly what and where. It made my life a hell of a lot easier. Grabbed my ticket, skipped down to pick-up and waited for my easy to transport flat-packed couch that would fit neatly in my car...except when they rolled the thing out, it was two mammoth boxes four feet to a side.. supposed to fit into a Camry? Amazingly, it fit; thanks Jovany, you totally kick ass and are the best IKEA employee ever; the dude helped me cram that thing piece by piece in my car for 45 minutes. The couch looks awesome and is comfortable as hell. Trip 3. NIGHTMARE; probably will never shop there again -$600 of total crap passed off as a table, chair, and entertainment center and some other junk GF in town, excited to go finish equipping the apt; pretty much everything picked out before we arrive... After 4 hours of wandering around that maze fighting the crowd we arrive at the self serve area... and cant find *anything* we need. First, the entertainment table is totally out of stock. Awesome. So we go with the backup choice.. whatever, it looked OK. Second, the chairs.. totally out of stock. We find one chair... decide to go with it; we can get the other later. Blessedly the dining table was in stock. Buy the shit, mildly irritated, put in the car and get the hell out. The 2nd choice $170 long running board style entertainment table: appears to sag in the middle... but nah, its brand new hard wood with an I-beam support.. surely... But after dropping a battery on either end and watch it zoom to the center.. it sealed the deal. The lone chair: smashed in the box with a big-ass crack.. immediate return. The dining table: painfully difficult to assemble (but that's expected), but the finish is chipped off in multiple places.. unacceptable. Conclusion: I'm returning everything I bought from the last trip and would rather eat off the floor with my stuff lined against the wall than spend bucks on "new" furniture like that. I'm poor and in transition, but come on... I have to do better than IKEA. Garbage in = garbage out. 2 stars because I have a low tolerance for crap.

Returning a mattress

Returning a mattress. Tried to call the local store for advice. No luck. No phone directory. It actually hung up on me! Called the toll free # and after 15 minutes no one answered.

It's hard to review Ikea

It's hard to review Ikea. You dread the mass of people, long lines, and the inevitable frustration at putting together any furniture you happen to purchase. But, you also love the showrooms, the prices and all of the possibilities. My wife and I needed a new bed frame and mattress. So we headed out there Saturday and Sunday. We knew what we wanted, though we ended up NOT getting the memoryfoam mattress, at the advice of one of Ikea's friendly employees. Instead, got a coil because he said memoryfoam keeps in body heat, which I hate! Boy was he right! I LOVE our new coil mattress!! I also love our new Brimnes bed. It's simple, cheap but has tons of underneath storage, which we need since we live in a studio apartment downtown. Yes, the lines are long, other customers can be annoying and obnoxious, but you know you'll always have an adventure! Oh, and the food isn't bad really.

This is a feedback

This is a feedback and review specifically of the Orlando FL IKEA Home delivery experience. This is the 2nd time we got HD, the 1st one was on-time and within promised window. Placed order (pick and deliver option) July 4 inside the store. Bed, mattress, sofa chairs etc etc....Promised delivery July 14 which was OK since my guests were coming in on 17th. With no phone call all week I started calling on 10th. Was told it would be on time. On 14th got a call for delivery on 15th evening by around 5 pm. which was ok with me. Delivery guy comes at 9 pm, is very short tempered, literally dumps stuff. They short-delivered the most crucial piece, the mattress. Not his fault I know. Started calling IKEA from next day multiple times a day. NOBODY in Home Delivery picks up the phone!!!!!!! If I left a VM nobody responded. Finally contacted Duty manager. The 1st guy promised to get back never did. Some days later someone called and left a VM and said they would rescheduled delivery and would I call back and talk to them. I did. Again nobody picked up the phone. Then I called Duty Manager again.....the 2nd time around Dan (I think his name was) helped big time, made a CS rep (Renee) call me and only then did the process start. She said she could only delivery Sat (too late for me) and when I said no she agreed to not only return the mattress money but delivery charges (as much as she could, no promise of full refund). She said somebody from post sales would call next day. Guess what....nobody did. When I tried calling again guess what...nobody picked up the phone. Only when I went into the store on Saturday did they refund all amounts owed. Moral of the story - careful of HOME DELIVERY folks at IKEA Orlando FL

Dear Ikea, The back of your receipt specifically says I can return my mattress

Dear Ikea, The back of your receipt specifically says I can return my mattress within 365 days to exchange it. It's not my fault if your product was marked at a lower rate when I paid for it, and now bring it back when it's 50 bucks more expensive. Nowhere on the receipt does it say anything about paying the difference. Therefore, please tell your manager not to get an attitude with me when I present both the original receipt and the store credit when I specifically asked for an exchange of the same brand of mattress and then give several excuses why I now have to pay more for an item I bought less than a week ago. Why should I now have to pay 50 dollars more for the same item because I want semi-firm and not firm?? Unacceptable customer service...

I ordered a mattress online

I ordered a mattress online to pick up the next day. I get to the store wait for an hour just for them to tell me they don't have it in stock. I ordered it the night before and online it said they had at least 4 in stock. And all the manager could tell was that they pull inventory from the same place customers do so a customer must have took the last one. ???? Doesn't make any sense at all! So the only thing they could do is refund me my money. It's been 8 BUSINESS days and I have yet to get my refund. And when I called customer service, which by the way is the worst, I was told it takes anywhere from 10-14 days but in the store they said it'll take 3-5 business days. This was the worst customer experience ever.

My husband and I ordered quite a bit of furniture

My husband and I ordered quite a bit of furniture for our new place from Ikea on May 6. It shipped out on May 30 and was delivered to us on June 20. All the furniture came except for our mattress. I called customer service line and they said they'd ship us a new mattress since it was forgotten in our order. I have called customer service 4 times now because it is July 11 and we STILL don't have the mattress. Every time I called they gave me a new date about when it would be ready. I would think the company would expedite the item since it was their mistake, but clearly they do not do that. The last person I spoke with said for sure the mattress would be in my apartment on July 12....and when I called today to say I haven't heard from the delivery company, the person said the new date is July 17. I don't know what to do anymore. I'm about to call and cancel the order and ask for a refund. I've called customer service 4 times and wasted 3 hours of my life on hold just to be told a later date each time. It's been OVER TWO MONTHS since I ordered this mattress and I don't have it.

THE WORST experience EVER

THE WORST experience EVER! CANNOT GET OUR MONEY BACK! Purchased a king sized mattress and bed frame in store for approx $1000 at the end of May. When XPO delivered, our stairway was too narrow for delivery so we requested a return. The store stated that someone would contact us with 48-72 hrs. to go over THE return detail. XPO(delivery co) stated it would go back to the store that day. After a week, I called the IKEA # which is an 888 number(you cannot contact the store directly). This requires a 1 HOUR HOLD TIME!!!! They tell me that the refund takes 7-10 days. Another week later I call back and am told that the mattress was received back on 6/10, 4 days after delivery and that they would request the store contact us within 2 days. We did not hear from the ATL store. Another week later I call back again and am told the refund will be processed 7-10 days from when it was handled on 6/16. It is now 6/20 and NO REFUND. I would never purchase anything online or in-store from IKEA again.

Recently, I purchased about 10

Recently, I purchased about 10 or so pieces furniture from Ikea and had them delivered to my apartment. For some reason, the deliverymen did not deliver my $1000 mattress, which I did not realize until 30 minutes later when they had already left. So, I called Ikea to ask them to check with the deliveryman about the mattress. The phone receptionist and her supervisor called the driver, and after talking to the driver, they insisted that the deliveryman DID deliver the mattress, and that their store would not be sending me *****ANOTHER***** mattress. They were extremely rude, and sounded like I was lying about the mattress not being delivered. She told me that she personally talked to the driver and the driver was ***VERY*** confident that the mattress was delivered. When I told her that there was a security camera at my apartment and that we could review the tape, she put me on hold again to talk to the driver. After talking to the driver this time, her voice softened and said that the driver told me that "well, they forgot to deliver the mattress, and it is still in their truck". WHAT!?!?!?!!!!! Not once did she apologize. That was the worst customer service I have received anywhere. Avoid Ikea at all cost!!!

Typical IKEA

Typical IKEA - if you've been to any other location. The place is packed. I enjoy their food. Love the ice cream - good, low-fat, and super-cheap. You can get some really great finds here, and the furniture lasts. IKEA has really been 'a must' for so many young people - maybe it's a rite of passage to have IKEA furniture before upgrading. I like their desks, chairs, and bookcases, but their mattresses on their bed frames are uncomfortable. Billy, Hemnes, Malmo, Besta - kind of like a Scandinavian trip as you read the furniture series names . Oh, and get the cloudberry jam.

I am a fan of Ikea!

I am a fan of Ikea! My family and I shop here pretty frequently and usually make a day of it. We have purchased 2 dressers and our children's beds/mattresses here and they have held up great so far. The cafeteria is awesome and cheap!

Bought a bed and box spring.

Bought a bed and box spring. Stood in line for an hour to pay $25 extra to have old mattress and box spring removed. When movers showed up refused to take box spring even though showed receipt for service. They claim they never take old box springs. Uh why would anyone want to just remove a mattress? They agreed to take it downstairs and when I came down I found it left in front of neighbor's garage. Trash men won't take it. Never will buy anything at Ikea again. Plus they scratched up a dresser when taking out stuff. Goodbye Ikea.

BEDBUGS

BEDBUGS. Don't buy a mattress from them. I bought a NEW mattress that, unbeknownst to me at the time, had bedbugs in it. The exterminator showed me the evidence and walked me through the time table of my infestation. I didn't notice the problem until months after my purchase, but it was exactly how long it takes for eggs to hatch and for the second generation to propagate and start eating me alive. He showed me the spots that the second generation had left, and then showed me the older spots in a smaller area where the first generation had dwelt. And he said that IKEA had actually reported bedbugs to his organization around the time my mattress was in the warehouse/sales floor. He also explained that, being a Swedish company, their inspection standards for exporting are not as... shall we say, fastidious? I was not the first victim, and I would not be the last. Once you're 90 days past your purchase date, you're on your own. But it takes longer than that to develop a bedbug problem, and the suckers can live for up to a year without a single meal. Do the math, and decide how much of a gambler you are. Apart from that nightmare experience, I wouldn't give the place more than three stars on a really, really good day anyway. In the interest of being thorough, I'll review the rest of the place, though I think I had you at the first word of my review. There's a reason the furniture is so cheap, and socialist labor is only part of it. Their stuff is cheap because it is CHEAP. Flimsy junk with a reputation for not even fitting together half the time. Even so, I find everything in the store to be kind of an eyesore. It's all just trendy, modern junk. It's the perfect one-stop store for getting the most bang for your buck when helping your kid move into their first college dorm, but I can't imagine wanting to furnish even my humble efficiency apartment with this stuff. As for the food, I haven't actually had it, but it doesn't impress me at a glance. I don't see what all the hype is about. I can't imagine why people actually take road trips to come to IKEA. Why? Swedish meatballs? Give me a break. You can dismiss my review because of taste, as the food is unappealing to me and the furniture does not fit my aesthetic, but let me reiterate: Bedbugs. Don't risk it. Buy a mattress that WON'T be infested and WON'T wear out in a year and a half. Spring for a real mattress. This place is just not worth the "bargain."

Compare Ikea With These Brands

Compare With Dreamcloud

Compare With Nectar

Compare With Level

Compare With Bear Mattress

Compare With Awara

Compare With Avocado

Compare With Puffy

Compare With Brooklyn Bedding

Compare With Eight

Compare With Plushbeds

Compare With Saatva

Compare With Amore

Compare With Layla

Compare With Nolah

Compare With Birch Living

Compare With Nest Bedding

Compare With Helix

Compare With Leesa

Compare With Tuft And Needle

Compare With My Green Mattress

Compare With Loom And Leaf

Compare With Cocoon

Compare With Allswell

Compare With Tulo

Compare With Winkbeds

Compare With Sleep Ez

Compare With Idle

Compare With Sapira Sleep

Compare With Zenhaven

Compare With Big Fig

Compare With Ghostbed

Compare With Nora

Compare With Voila

Compare With Aviya

Compare With Purple

Compare With Essentia

Compare With Luxi

Compare With Spindle

Compare With Hyphen

Compare With Cariloha

Compare With Dreamfoam Bedding

Compare With Tempurpedic

Compare With Naturepedic

Compare With Lull

Compare With Performasleep

Compare With Arctic Dreams

Compare With Brentwood Home

Compare With Casper

Compare With Reverie

Compare With Oso

Compare With Airweave

Compare With Urban

Compare With Craftmatic

Compare With Restonic

Compare With Technogel

Compare With Christeli

Compare With Lifekind

Compare With Hypnos

Compare With Novosbed

Compare With Endy

Compare With Eve

Compare With Dromma

Compare With Intellibed

Compare With Doze

Compare With Dormeo

Compare With Verlo

Compare With Cuddle

Compare With Easy Rest

Compare With Classic Brands

Compare With Zotto

Compare With Amerisleep

Compare With Flobeds

Compare With Eluxury Supply

Compare With Bed In A Box

Compare With Therapedic

Compare With Sleepys

Compare With Vi Spring

Compare With Pranasleep

Compare With Foam Sweet Foam

Compare With Keetsa

Compare With Kiss

Compare With Savvy Rest

Compare With Postureloft

Compare With King Koil

Compare With Simmons Beautyrest

Compare With Diamond

Compare With Sleep Science

Compare With Dream Bed

Compare With Ikrema

Compare With White Dove

Compare With Qomfort

Compare With Comfort Tech

Compare With Comfortaire

Compare With Ashley Furniture

Compare With Parklane

Compare With Natures Sleep

Compare With Innomax

Compare With Springwall

Compare With Banner

Compare With Safavieh

Compare With Hästens

Compare With Mlily

Compare With Charles P Rogers

Compare With Tuck

Compare With Lebeda

Compare With Corsicana

Compare With Perfect Cloud

Compare With Purasleep

Compare With Sleep On Latex

Compare With Dynasty

Compare With Wolf

Compare With Novaform

Compare With Custom Comfort

Compare With Hampton And Rhodes

Compare With Eclipse

Compare With Zinus

Compare With Sherwood Bedding

Compare With Sleep Innovations

Compare With Kluft

Compare With Spa Sensations

Compare With Aireloom

Compare With Gold Bond

Compare With Enso

Compare With Ethan Allen

Compare With Personal Comfort

Compare With Bed Boss

Compare With Shifman

Compare With Bowles

Compare With Sleep Number

Compare With Yogabed

Compare With Solstice

Compare With Signature Sleep

Compare With Jamison

Compare With Boyd

Compare With Raymour And Flanigan

Compare With Ortho

Compare With Sealy Posturepedic

Compare With Stearns And Foster

Compare With Maxim

Compare With Cheswick Manor

Compare With Icomfort

Compare With Dutch Craft

Compare With Lucid

Compare With Zuzu

Compare With Serta Perfect Sleeper

Compare With Linenspa

Compare With Symbol

Compare With Astrabeds

Compare With City

Compare With Kingsdown

Compare With Spring Air

Compare With Southerland

Compare With Eastman House

Compare With Denver

Compare With Bobs Bobopedic

Compare With Englander

Compare With Pangeabed

Compare With Tomorrow

Compare With Resort Sleep

Compare With Zeopedic

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.