Ikea Loft Bed Reviews

Get The Best September 2019 Loft Bed Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Ikea Loft Bed

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

IKEA is known for its affordable furniture for all types of living spaces. When it comes to their loft beds, they have a variety of designs for both children and adults alike. With a focus on space saving and easy to set up designs, most customers like their IKEA options. That said, there were some customer complaints around the ease of set up in some cases. Take a look at our top rated 2019 loft beds for alternatives.

Bed & Bed Frame Scores

Overall Score: 8.5/10

Customer Satisfaction: 8.4/10

Material Quality: 8.3/10

Design Options: 8.6/10

Ease of Assembly: 8.5/10

Price Value: 8.7/10

Price: $75-$490

Get Yours Now

Ikea Loft Bed Details

IKEA has a select number of loft beds, mostly focused on children. Versus other large furniture retailers, their loft bed selection is somewhat smaller with mostly metal options or painted wood versions that contain a desk. These loft beds get good reception from customers overall for their low prices, but some had issues with assembly and durability.

Quality of Materials

IKEA focuses on providing lower priced products with simple assembly guides. Overall, customers have described sturdy loft beds, but there were some that described difficult assembly and some issues with squeakiness for some models. Below, we'll go through their offerings and talk about the ins and outs of their designs.

Here is what's inside their lowest-priced Tuffing Loft Bed:

Their Tuffing loft bed comes in a twin size and is quite tall at 70'' and has a max load of 220lbs. Its metal frame had some mixed reviews when it came to ease of assembly. However, once assembled, most described it as a sturdy option for the price.

Next, here is what's inside their Svärta Loft Bed:

The Svärta is a bit taller than the Tuffing at just over 73'' tall and 220lbs max load. The design is steel and has an optional desk add on for the lower portion below the bed. Most customers found it easy to assemble but there were some mixed reviews about sturdiness with some mentioning squeaks.

Next, here is what's inside their Storå Loft Bed:

The Storå loft bed is quite tall at just over 84'' tall. It features solid pine with stain and lacquer. It gets some mixed reviews from customers with some mentioning issues with wobbliness and durability.

Lastly, here is what's inside their highest priced Stuva Loft Bed:

Stuva loft beds come in 5 different designs that feature a desk below the loft bed. These can be customized with different drawer and color options. These loft beds are almost 72'' high and have a max load of 220lbs. They are mainly made of particleboard and fiberboard blends, solid birch, and steel. Most customers like their Stuva loft beds and the value of the desk / bed combo.

Who Are IKEA Loft Beds Right For?

IKEA loft beds are ideal for those that have a strict budget, aren't too large in body size, and prefer simple design elements and don't mind extra assembly. See our List of Top Rated Loft Beds for great alternatives.

Browse Ikea Loft Bed Customer Reviews

Great for College Kids [Stuva]

My sister and I each purchased this bed yesterday to fit in our shared room. We are both college students and needed something that had a built in desk (we're both computer gamers). It took us about five hours to assemble the first loft bed and about three hours to assemble the second. We just finished up, and they are perfect! The desks are very large, and the beds are very sturdy. The only minor difficulty is getting up the ladder; however, it isn't a big deal. The bed is designed for a kid, so the ladder and entrance to the bed is a bit narrow. I managed to climb up it drunk, so it isn't impossible. Other than that, this bed is perfect for a college student! So much storage and really brightens up the room.

Excellent bed [Tuffing]

I bought this about a month ago for my son, he loves it! The only thing I would change would be to make the steps just a little bit wider, it’s a little uncomfortable stepping on them. Over great, very sturdy, and I love the extra space underneath.

Bed is Great [Tuffing]

The bed its self is great and my 9 year old loves it. It was not easy to put together. The holes did not line up and at one point we brought out the drill bc the hole was not big enough for the screw. IF I lived closer to Ikea i would have returned the bed.

Very good product. [Tuffing]

Very good product. Just not easy to assemble it.

Sturdy and looks great [Tuffing]

This was a breeze to put together until the mesh bottom and top. DO NOT TIGHTEN any screws until the very end. This is the best advice I can give when putting this bad boy together. Getting that bed "floor" settled into the frame is challenging...the reason why you MUST NOT TIGHTEN SCREWS till everything is put together. Then about a few days to a week after, tighten screws again to get rid of the squeaking sound. We have had this bed since July 2018 and it is fabulous! My 6 year old loves his big boy bed!

Great loft bed! [Tuffing]

I bought this a few months ago for my daughter’s college dorm room. It is sturdy, and made with quality materials. My daughter’s sorority actually used her dorm room during recruitment to show potential recruits how great their dorm room could be. The girls like that the height of her bed allows her to have a small living room area beneath, and she has a ton of storage under there thanks to other ikea products (not the desk). She also strung lights beneath the loft bed which gave it a cozy feel. It was a nightmare to put together since there are so many pieces, but completely worth it, especially for such a good price. I highly recommend, and so do my daughter and her sorority sisters!

Great loft bed! [Tuffing]

We got this for my sons room. It is sturdy and simple to assemble. The side rails are my only issue. They are not very tall and once you put in a mattress there is a fall hazard.

Not easy to assemble [Tuffing]

I brought it weeks ago for my kid. The only complaint is that I spend 4 hours to assemble. Not worth it.

Great design [Tuffing]

I really like this bunk bed The only downfall is the ladder connection design it needs to be fixed

Garbage Product [Tuffing]

The netting for this bunk bed is absolute garbage. You literally have to cut the net so it fit on. The netting is tight that is scratched the top from trying to fit it on. I have put together $8000 worth of Ikea products and have never had this much trouble with something. DO NOT BUY THIS OR I PROMISE YOU DESTROY IT AND PUT IT IN THE GARBAGE!

Very Solid Bed - Great Options for Underneath [Tuffing]

We bought this bed for our son while traveling on vacation since we don't have an IKEA anywhere near us. It did take 2 people to put together but that's exactly what the directions recommended. We had no problem at all putting it up. Its nice and high so our son has plenty of room for a desk and bookshelf underneath. We are very impressed at how solid it is. Well done, IKEA!

Easy assembly and great bed! [Tuffing]

I don't usually write reviews but felt I should this time. After purchasing this bed in the store, I went home and read the reviews (I know... reverse order). The reviews I read said that assembly was difficult.. I was terrified. However, we had no problem at all with assembly. We thought it was simple and yes, you had to put a little force on it but it is loft bed... it's very important that things are tight. The only thing I would advise you to look at before starting is the instruction booklet. Our pages were in the wrong order so we had to tear the book apart and put them in the right order. However this bed is definitely worth the money!!

Great Bed. Great Value [Tuffing]

Just bought bed yesterday and assembled it that night. Take your time and pay attention to the pictures in the instructions. Give yourself plenty of room for assembly. Plan on it taking at least 2 hours for assembly. I dont have superhuman strength either like other negative reviews but I didn’t have to alter the fabric to make things work. Good purchase.

Solid and inexpensive [Tuffing]

I had been planning to build loft beds for my two children and had done research into options, etc. and then checked IKEA to see what they had. These beds, at around a hundred dollars each, met all my criteria and were made of metal to boot. I did some research and saw many people who complained about the difficulty in assembly and thus I approached the process carefully. You definitely need to have somebody help you, and you have to NOT tighten everything down as you go. By leaving slack in the structure before the final tightening you can avoid the issues some people seem to have faced.

Holy SMOKES! That was not fun... [Tuffing]

I love the bed for my son, well made solid structure it is a one person job until you get to the end and have to install that d&$m slat/webbing mess. Then you'll need like 3 people minimum. It took 2 HOURS of strife, sore fingers and a sledgehammer to install just the base. It was aaaallll gravy and a few not too bads til then, we have had it for about 2 months it's really awesome but boy #2 is getting a different loft bed. I'm not doing this again!! Recommended with a Warning.

PAY TO HAVE IT ASSEMBLED [Tuffing]

IT IS NOT WORTH IT IF YOU ARE GOING TO ASSEMBLE IT YOURSELF. Once the bed is partially assembled, you have to tip it on it's side to assemble it further, so you will need a large amount of floor space to lay this tall loft bed on it's side. The instructions are exclusively questionable images, no words. it's a metal bed and the pre-drilled holes are not PERFECT, there is NO GIVE with metal, it made the assembly feel like a complete nightmare. I believe it took me 5-7 hours to complete, I had the help of one adult, 2 teenagers, and a child - all patient, willing participants. PAY FOR ASSEMBLY. Once the bed is up, it's a nice, solid piece of furniture. My daughter loves it. I wouldn't do it again though.

not what I expected [Tuffing]

I purchased this for my 7 year old however it’s too big for her room. This has been the hardest thing I’ve ever put together and the pieces just doesn’t seem to fit where they’re meant to. I’m eager to return this and if it wasn’t for the hassle of taking it apart I would have returned it already. Do yourself a favor and don’t bother with this. I now know all sales aren’t good sales.

GREAT for small spaces [Tuffing]

Listen, this bed was CRAZY DIFFICULT to assemble. Yes you need two people, or more. If anyone was able to do this on their own....kudo's to you.

Big mistake! [Tuffing]

I just finished building this loft . The mesh is a mess to put on . The other mesh were the mattress goes the screws didn’t aligned with the holes . I should have listened to every one and not buy that bed !! I regret it so much . The instructions are not clear it’s horrible . I don’t recommend it to anyone and if you do buy it hire someone professional to put it together.

Great Bed....Disaster Assembly! [Tuffing]

I bought two of these and should have probably read the reviews before doing so. However, they were a nightmare to put together but I do love the outcome. They are just what we needed for our boys.

A nightmare to put together [Tuffing]

This bed has amazing online safety reviews. It's made of steel... it's super sturdy once you put it together.

Don't do it. [Tuffing]

Probably one of the biggest purchase regrets ever. This would be an awesome bed if I could actually get it put together. We all know ikea furniture is hard to put together, but this bed was impossible. I had to rig everything and am left with a crummy loft bed.

Great bed [Tuffing]

This is the 2nd one I bought. 1st one about 6 months ago for my 13 year old. I was worried it would not stand up to him being rough/jumping/climbing on it. And it seemed to be for smaller kids. He insisted he wanted this bed. He can sit up there with friends. Its low enough I can get up the with the assistance of a stool and clean. He loves it. When it was time to redo the 9yr olds room, he wanted the same bed. I was happy to get it for him. I even feel confident enough to climb up on the bed ( we had a moment that required a cuddle ) and I am not a small person. The plan is to do a quick spray paint when the 13yr old decides he wants a change and pass the lodt to his ypugher sisiter. I am totally confident that the bed will last through him and get a few years in for her. So ibtil the are ready to sleep in a bed on the ground I am more than happy to put them closer to the ceiling in this loft. *also light wieght enough to have 2 people lift when doing a room rearrange.

Worst Ikea product ever. [Tuffing]

Assembly is a disaster. You are pulling against the mesh most of the time and the pieces do not line up well. Had to take one piece back to the store to have them fix the drill holes because "welding flash got into the holes. Instructions were very unclear. Very likely the last item we buy from Ikea - I'm done with them almost getting it right.

Ideal for us! [Tuffing]

Purchasing an additional one for a sibling. Not a bad price either!

Great bed at great price [Tuffing]

The price is great. The bed is comfortable. We have purchased matching mattress, sheets and covers. My son loves it. The downside is the assembly. It took us longer than expected to put it together. It requires some strength and skill. Following instructions is crucial, but it’s still difficult to assemble bottom of the bed and netting around it. After few months some hardware near the rail needs re-tightening. Averall great piece for the money spent.

Great product for the price [Tuffing]

This is a really great product for such a low price. I got it for my kids to give them more space in their rooms. They love them and they have held up really well even after a year of use.

Sturdy and fun [Tuffing]

The bed took about 2 hours to put together with two adults. I questioned the netting sections but they are strong and there are no issues. We love it.

Good bed, challenging assembly [Tuffing]

The bed is good and sturdy. It provides a lot of space underneath and was a good addition to my daughter's small room. The assembly was indeed challenging and is a two-person job. Like another reviewer said, be sure to avoid tightening down all the screws when you are installing the mesh mattress support. I would recommend as long as you recognize that set-up may take longer than you anticipate. If I had to do it over, I would have spent $50 more to buy the other metal loft bed sold by IKEA.

Need to be superman to build [Tuffing]

The bed turned out to be extremely hard to build. The strength needed to put the netting and secure it was absolutely ridiculous. I have built many ikea items and I noticed the items that are metal never seem to line up properly . Would definitely not recommend this bed to anymore unless you have super human strength.

Very good [Tuffing]

A descent bed for the price

TERRIBLE ASSEMBLY [Tuffing]

This bed was a NIGHTMARE to put together. The pieces were very difficult to put together. It took hours and we barely got it together. We were 2min from taking it back, but it was already half way together. DO NOT BUY THIS BED!

Great price [Tuffing]

Great price. Easy to transport in station wagon. A little tricky to assemble. We used a thicker mattress because my son could feel the "slats" through the thinner one. One of the screws didn't exactly line up so we had to use a little persuasion to get it in. Perfect for a small room. Desk etc fit nicely beneath it.

Bed itself is sturdy but assembly was horrible [Tuffing]

First of all, I have assembled many Ikea products with complex instructions, and never had such a hard time as I did with this bed. Similar to other reviewers, I found that the mesh cover which needs to be slipped over the posts on top and stretched into place to affix the side bars and front rails is sewn to such tight tolerance that a huge amount of force was required to stretch it into place. Even with 2 adults and a pry bar it was a huge struggle. I ended up tearing a small part of the seam to get the final rail end screwed in place. I did follow the instructions to leave all connections loose until the mesh was in place, it did not help.

Good for the price [Tuffing]

We returned the 2 that we bought because they would not fit the room. The only complaint I have is the permanent location of the ladder. It would be good to have options before final assembly of the bed. The center ladder becomes an obstacle

Great Frame, Bad Construction [Tuffing]

This loft bed is great for those kids who have outgrown their juvenile bed, but not ready for an adult sized frame. It's a great option for smaller rooms, and the height is a good fit for those children in between without being as high as some other loft beds. The only real problem with this is the assembly. The metal poles are totally easy to put together but the mesh covering that surrounds the sides is an absolute nightmare to fit. What we thought would take a simple 30 minutes to assemble this otherwise simple frame, took nearly 4 hours of frustration & tired fingers trying to stretch the mesh without tearing it to fit. Bad words and sweating will most likely 100% occur, as well as test your strength as a couple. Short tempers beware, this bed frame is not for you.

Great Bed & Desk for Kids [Svärta]

Our son loves his new bed. Its easy to get into and fun to be so high up. The desk underneath has been such a space saver for his room. It was easy to setup and secure to the wall. An excellent bed for your children.

Perfect for my teen! [Svärta]

I put this together in a relatively small room to save space and my teen loves it. It was fairly simple to build with two people. It is stable and sturdy. Something is slightly off square, though. Either the desk top isn’t cut straight or the bed frame isn’t perfectly squared because their is a slight gap between the desktop and frame on one end of the desk. It isn’t a problem and barely noticeable but I couldn’t force it straight.

Great for teen [Svärta]

We purchased this for our son's room. He is 13 and asked for a desk in his room. He has a small room so we were overjoyed when we found this loft with desk from IKEA at a reasonable price. Easy for two people to put together, but pay attention to the pieces in the directions, as they look similar but are slightly different. He loves his new bed with his own space/desk. We have tall ceilings and it the height works great in his small room with ceiling fan. We purchased an IKEA drawer unit from the desk furniture and it fits off to the side under the large part of the desk but will not push back completely understand desk because of bar holding desk to loft. It actually works better that way and he has storage behind it.

Easy to put together! [Svärta]

My 14yr old and I put this together in no time. With the easy to read directions and easy essambly i would definitely buy this again for my next child. Only tip i would give is make sure you secure it to the wall!!!

Loft bed and desk [Svärta]

We bought a month ago for our daughter. It is very sturdy and well made. It took awhile to get it built but if you can follow directions you’ll be fine.

Great for pre-teen and teens [Svärta]

Bought this for my son seven years ago and it has served him well. It is very well made. He loved the large desk underneath. High schoolers need lots of space to study. His room is small and this gave him enough floor space to put in an IKEA swing.

My daughter loves it. [Svärta]

Itnis very sturdy and lots of space with the desk to store stuff.

My son loves this bed but [Svärta]

The price for this bed was right for updating my son's bedroom. He loves the desk and uses it daily. It was not as easy to assemble as most of the IKEA furniture we have but we did get it done in a couple of hours. It is sturdy but it squeaks when he's getting on and off the bed or moving around on top. I probably wouldn't buy this again.

good use of space for small room [Svärta]

My son has used this for 3 years. It was our first IKEA assembly project---it was a little challenging due to our inexperience but we eventually figured it out! The ladder rungs are too narrow (uncomfortable on feet) so we wrapped soft rope around rungs and this helps a lot. Our cat likes the ladder too!

Ladder squeaks after a few months. [Svärta]

We totally love the design and works well for my 9 year old son and he loves it a lot as well. But, after a few months my son complained about the noise whenever he moves when trying to sleep. I made sure all nuts and bolts were tight and assembly was perfect. I could not seem to figure out where the noise was coming from and mistakenly thinking it was coming from where the ladder is hooked to the bed. Until I took the ladder off, shook the bed unit w/ desk in itself and heard no squeaks. Then with just the ladder, I wiggled it left and right. And there it is. The ladder made the terrible squeeks. The joints were spot-welded - as oppose to continuous weld. Returning this product.

Works great for small spaces! [Svärta]

Bought 3 years ago for each kids room! Desk gives a lot of space and head room. Ladder steps...wish were wider. Kids love them still.

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.