Get The Best Holiday 2021 Daybed Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Ikea Daybed Reviews

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

IKEA is known for its affordable furniture that is easy to make and set up. They have a variety of daybeds available that come in multiple colors and styles. Some of these options have storage, while others focus mostly on low-cost comfort. Overall, customers like the IKEA offerings, but some desired a wider selection.

Bed & Bed Frame Scores

Overall Score: 8.6/10

Customer Satisfaction: 8.5/10

Material Quality: 8.4/10

Design Options: 8.5/10

Ease of Assembly: 8.4/10

Price Value: 8.6/10

Price: $199-$569

Get Yours Now

Ikea Daybed Details

IKEA has a variety of discount furniture items for sale in-store and online. When it comes to their daybeds, they have a select few styles to choose from, which are very affordable versus many competitors. Customers like their IKEA daybeds overall, but there were some that had issues with durability and assembly.

Quality of Materials

IKEA's daybeds feature three different designs -- two of which feature wood and fiberboard construction, while the last one features a sleek metal design. We'll walk through each of their options below and discuss their make and how customers respond.

Here is what's inside the most popular Hemnes Daybed:

The Hemnes daybed offers a single bed, a sofa, and storage in one piece of furniture. Additionally, you can slide the bottom out for a double width sleeper. The three drawers beneath the bed allow for easy accessibility to stored items, while the simple three sided design makes it easy to sit or lay on this piece of furniture. The daybed is made of solid pine and particleboard and comes with a foam mattress to sit atop. Most customers like this daybed as it comes in multiple color options. However, some who wanted to use the double bed slide feature had issues with durability.

Next, here is what's inside their Brimnes Daybed:

The Brimnes Daybed is a great option next to a wall as it doesn't have any sides along the mattress. In this way, it can be used as a sofa with pillows against the wall or as a sleeper. It also has storage beneath. With a particleboard and fiberboard design, most customers like this style. However, there were some that had issues with durability and assembly.

Next, here is what's inside their Flekke Daybed:

The Flekke Daybed offers a wooden frame with real wood veneer and backrest with twin drawers. The daybed can expand to a double bed as well, which is a big bonus. Customers have good things to say about these daybeds, with some complaints about durability.

Lastly, here is what's inside their Fyresdal Daybed:

The Fyresdal Daybed is a metal frame that can be used as a sofa, single sleeper, or can be folded out to a double mattress. The frame is sturdy and made of steel, which is a big win for many customers. There are some, however, that had durability problems with the unit.

Who Are IKEA Daybeds Right For?

IKEA daybeds are great economical choices for those that want simplicity and versatility. For those looking for more style and design options, see our List of Top Rated Daybeds for great alternatives.

Browse Ikea Daybed Customer Reviews

A Bed to grow with

We bought this for our son as he is transitioning out of a crib. A great bed for him to grow into. We liked the daybed style as well because it leaves a lot of space in his room, unlike a traditional bed that would have taken up quite a bit of floor space.

Nightmare, would never buy again

Horrible, several hundred pieces that are not labeled.Took 3x the stated time to put together.Purchased for 17 year old daughter for Christmas 6 months early and was assured with drawers pulled out a queen bed but after spending 6 hours to assemble the queen was to large. I then was told by the call center to take back to the store for a credit.After spending 2hours to take apart took back to store and because they could not find info from call center.left bed at store and my daughters queen bed is on floor.I have never been treated so rudely by store employees.Bed has good appearance but is a nightmare to assemble and was not steardy. I purchased all the bedding,pillows,and side stand and am now out $616.

Love, love, love this daybed

We love this bed. The assembly was fast and easy. When pulled out it is as big as a king size bed. The storage is great. I put the extra blankets in the drawers. Its all wood and very sturdy.

Looks good and my son loves it.

We bought this for our son for his birthday to transition from "kid" bed to "teen" bed. He loves it and it looks great. He likes to "hang out" in his room and the day bed gives you the sofa feel and the drawers under it are HUGE for storage of his stuff. It's solid and looks nice and it pulls out to a larger bed if he has a sleep over or if we use it for guests.

Love it

It took a while to put together but it is a great daybed.

Perfect solution!

My son chose this bed when headed to IKEA to buy things to make his room neater and more to his taste. He assembled it himself and loves the storage and the comfort. The quality is great for the price.

So Nice I bought it twice

had this bed in Europe. Bought it again for USA

All in one

Bought this for my son. He loves that it is a bed, a couch, and a guest bed all in one.

Looks good, for our needs

Needed a bed for the guest room that is office sized, def wanted something that pulled out to the same level so we could have couples spend the night comfortably. It takes a rocket scientist to out this together, I happily paid a local handyman with ikea experience and he was able to get it together in about 2 hours. I bought two ikea mattresses to go with, understand that the mattress will not fit under the bed, when it is set up as the daybed you have to stack the two mattresses up which is kind of weird but also fine. Love the two drawers also, we got the grayish color to match our color scheme but really liked the white too

Daybed Plus!

The Hemnes Daybed has been a great addition to our extra bedroom when the grandsons come to visit. We like the fact that it can extend to a king-size bed with minimal effort. The storage is also a much needed feature.

awful

the instructions for putting the bed together were not clear, the pieces were not marked. after we had the bed together, the slats fell out even though we put it together according to the instructions. we took it apart and took it back. will never buy again

Simply Beautiful

We purchased the day bed for our guest room/ office and simply love it. When we have guests stay will us, we have the ability to offer them a twin or king bed as needed. And the rest of the time it makes a great place to sit and read or play video games.

Wonderful

My daughter is so happy with the bed and she has storage for her clothes she said is the best

Great guest bed

We moved into a new home and I was designing a room to be used as both a guestroom but a craft room when no one is visiting. This bed works perfectly. It's a great place to sit when visiting while working on a project and those that have come to visit have all commented on it being even more comfortable than it looked.

Nightmare to put together, shoddily made

I have a house filled with IKEA furniture and have largely loved the products. This was a bad purchase though. This was easily the toughest product to put together, the packaging was terribly annoying, the directions were poorly written, and there were tons of pieces. In process of putting it together, some of the pieces broke or chipped really easily. The whole thing doesn't seem very sturdy and I'm worried that this was a waste of money.

Beautiful and good quality

We bought this for my son’s room several months ago and it worked perfectly. It is very sturdy and looks great. The color is wonderful and versatile. The drawers are really deep and large so all the spare bedding can fit below the bed. I didn’t love the hardware that came with it so I bought some other knobs in the kitchen section and used those instead. I’m going to buy the same bed for my other son when he is ready. It took me about 2 hours to put together myself with a 3 year old bothering me - not difficult but a touch time consuming.

love it

the most versatile bed I have ever seen. Bought it for my husbands home office and and occasional visits from my adult son in another state. Cute and contemporary. Nice amount of storage. Only down side is that it is a bear to put together

Looks great & versatile

Bought this for a guest room. It looks great and can be a twin or a king size bed by turning mattresses perpendicular to back of bed. Very pleased but would recommend hiring IKEA staff to put it together - I did and they were a couple hours.

Practical

I loved the price and the functionality of it but the quality is less than what I expected. My daughter who is 21 and home from college sleeps on it she said it’s comfy and all but the frame is literally coming apart and that’s a problem for me. I just wish they would have a sterder product to put together they should have a binding glue or more screws something!

assembly not too bad at all

I've put together a raft of Ikea items, but was a bit nervous when the vast Interweb opined that this is one of Ikea's most difficult assembly products. I found it straightforward and used my usual plan - count all the hardware into a muffin tin, then work on the thing for a couple hours at a time. Can be put together without a helper, if you get a bit creative with leaning larger pieces. Got this as a daybed for my mother and she likes it.

Great purchase!

Bought this for a guest room. Versatile for a single guest or a couple staying overnight. Drawers are great for linen storage. Very pleased with our purchase.

Beautiful

We bought this daybed a little over a month ago, and I am so happy I did! The 3 drawers have so much room in them, the bed is spacious but not too bulky! Even though it did take a few sweaty hours of our day to build it, we are so happy with the result!

Well Made and Designed.

Well made and designed. Nice solid wood. Super deep drawers. I love that the slats in the trundle intertwine with every other slat from the bed so that when it pulls out they are both level with one another making for an even bed when extended.

Really well made

We bought this about three months ago, and have been using it since. We are really happy with the comfort and quality. The drawers are spacious and very well-constructed. I appreciate the fact that they are built in rather than just rolling on the ground below, so they work smoothly and with little effort.

The extra large drawers are an added bonus!

We bought one of these beds for our oldest daughter's college apartment and she loved it so much that we went back and bought another for our younger daughter. It's great that just one drawer has enough room for extra blankets and a pillow!

Good versatile alternative for 1-2 guests

We’ve had this bed for 3 years and it’s really worked well for guests. One thing we found helpful and hasn’t been mentioned is rotating the mattresses when the bed is fully pulled out. That way there’s a headboard and a more natural sleeping position. I’m surprised IKEA doesn’t suggest this in their photos. Otherwise one guest is in “the box” and the other is in the middle of the room... so anyway, rotate the 2 twin mattresses so head pillows are in the box area and feet are on the open frame.

Daughter loves the bed

Bought this about a month ago and getting ready to buy another one for my son in the brown black color

Happy Ikea Purchase

I love this white daybed frame. I only have one mattress on it and cushions along the back and throw pillows. Love the look and it is very comfortable. The drawers are large, work smoothly and great for storage.

We bought this for my 11 year old daughter, she loves it. Excellent quality, lots of storage!

Hemnes Has It All!

Lovely lines with a trundle AND storage at the SAME TIME! My daughter is so pleased with her new bed!

Fits the bill!

Bought this for guest room/office/crafts room. Two of us assembled casually over two days. All parts and pieces present and accounted for. This is our second one, the first one sold with our vacation house - love, love, love it!

My daughter loves her new big girl Day bed!

It was a little work to put it together but we love the final product. Sturdy, beautiful, extra storage in SUPER spacious drawers that fit half of my daughter’s items from her dresser that was already overflowing. Love the trundle although it is kind of a fight to roll it out if you have the bed sitting on the carpet but as we would only use it for sleepovers it’s not a big deal for us. I love how you can customize the look of this bed, make it a cozy sofa with furry pillows for resting during the day or reading. We hung a pink canopy over it and my 5 yo daughter truly feels like a princess!

Will not glide as expected

Easy to assembly, but will not glide as shown in the video. Slacks are stuck

Fun and functional

My 16 old daughter assembled this bed TOTALLY by herself in 5 hours. She loves it and it looks great in the alcove of her room. Mom likes the storage drawers.

Auxiliary Bedroom Treasure

I purchased this bed for my meditation room. I made my decision based on the ability to convert the daybed to a full size bed. The storage is an added bonus. Great design, IKEA!

Does not fit 2 standard twin mattresses

I'd give this zero stars if I could, because it is completely unusable. We bought this daybed and were told by IKEA staff and from the product description that it fits 2 standard twin mattresses. We saw that IKEA mattresses were expensive and poorly rated so we got 2 twin mattresses from amazon. But when we tried to place them after assembly, they were too large to fit in the daybed. We measured the mattresses and confirmed they are the correct size of standard twins.

Great bed

Perfect two in one bed for my daughter

Love the Bed!!

Bed was delivered Friday, August 17, 2018. Constructed bed on Saturday. It took 6 hours to complete with the help of my daughter. Really wasn't bad! So far, she loves the bed and it was perfect for her room.

Fairly easy setup

Good storage space, well designed, good storage space

Great for a small room

Drawer space is roomy. Rollers on lower bed would work better on a hardwood vs a carpet

Awesome spare bed

We bought this for the spare bedroom. We had a Murphy bed in our old home and had to leave it when we moved. I love the extra storage. I love the option for a twin or king sleeping space for 1 or 2 guests. Can’t wait to have guests over.

great bed

My daughter has had this bed for about a month now. She loves it. You cant beat the price. Great value and it feels really sturdy. Better than her last bed that we paid alot more for at a furniture store.

Perfect size and it has drawers.

I am so happy that I bought this daybed.

Very sturdy and comfortable.

I bought this about 1 month ago for my daughter's college apartment. She absolutely loves it and I was delighted about how sturdy and well made it is. She says it is very comfortable and the storage drawers fit a lot of her clothes! So glad we made this purchase.

Beautiful piece

I bought this for my 8 yr old girl and she love this bed. I like the fact that u can make it big. Assembly was hard coz it come in tiny pieces, like big puzzle, the instruction was clear in the manual, it took us a whole day to finish

I’m in love with this daybed!!!!!

I bought this a month ago and I absolutely love it. I put it on my office/guest room and it is amazing the way it work and look. Just perfect!!!!!! Thanks ikea!!!

Great for Small areas

Small areas I will recommended for a small and a special it’s extended been amazing future thank you I kea the drawer you can save additional blankets

This is not the same as previous models!! But...

Low overall rating because I have 2 of these in the same room (one being just 18 months older) and they are noticeably different in size, color, and design. Disappointing when you are slowly building the collection and now have obvious mismatches. Other than having something to compare this side by side, the bed is great, drawers are sturdy and glide easily, however the trundle is difficult to pull out even on hardwood floors. We don't use that feature all that often, so not a huge issue.

Worked Out Perfectly!

I searched endlessly for a daybed and finally went to IKEA and found this amazing deal ($100 less than the next cheapest one I could find). It took two people to put together and a lot of hours and many times I stopped and wondered if the directions were right but if you follow the directions EXACTLY and look very closely at the details of the pictures to ensure you are facing things the right way, it is not very hard and you just need basic tools.

Great

Great price, great look, so cute and comfortable. The whole family loves it. Good for guests but also great for a kid. Just takes a little bit to assemble it.

Well worth the price

Very happy with product. No complaints at all.

Perfect for a small room and opens to King size

We purchased 2 of them. My 16 and 14 year old daughters put them together themselves!!! They did a great job and are so proud!!!

Comfy, great storage

Purchased for our teen daughter who was wanting a day bed. We love it. Love the storage. She says it sleeps so good. We we're concerned about the thinner mattress, it is not like a regular mattress. But it give so much support. She typically keeps in the day bed position and uses both mattresses. But on the occasion she opens it up and separates the mattress it still is comfortable. We the versatility. She also loves that she can sit comfortably during the day and read or relax on the bed.

I am in love!

I am in love with this bed! The drawer space is much more than I expected. It served my purpose better than I had hoped. I have small bedrooms and this provided more storage space than the dresser I was going to buy from another store. Getting another for my daughter's room!

Loved the look, disappointed with its durability

I purchased this about a 1 1/2 years ago to use as a bed for myself. I have used it for about year and last week, I realized that it's the front panel of the trundle, the screws are simply coming out. This bed, as a guest bed, would be excellent but as an everyday bed, not worth the money. This is only the 2nd time that I am truly disappointed with an Ikea purchase, both times for beds. I am not giving up yet but I was hoping that I would be able to keep this although I am looking to purchase a bed. As it is, I can only hope it lasts for me to purchase another one. :-(

Tons of storage

I didn’t give it five stars because the trundle bed is kinda hard to pull in and out. Otherwise, it’s a really nice functional bed.

Very nice bed

This bed looks amazing once you get past the stress of putting it together. You MUST follow the instructions perfectly. One little mistake will throw off the entire design of this bed and its integrity. At the end you will see it all come together. The way the wood interlocks and functions. The bed is beautiful. Great addition to any girls room or guest room. The drawers are deep and can hold a ton of stuff. It took two people 3 hours to put together. We had to improvise on the last drawer since they included the wrong wood (2 of the same side) but, my husband is very handy and he made it work with a drill and screws. I'm happy with the purchase, you can't beat the price.

Great!!!

Awesome for my daughter. Love the color and very confortable!!

GOT IT BROKEN

We bought this from IKEA online after we saw it at our friends house. We were very excited to get it. It arrived 2 days later than the original delivery date... and BROKEN. We had to wait 50 minutes on the line to speak to a representative only for them to tell us that the broken part can't be replaced and that we have to ship back the entire bed. Horrible experience.

Love it , thank you IKEA

I love everything in Ikea

An OK purchase

The pull out drawers that turn into a double bed is not very smooth. Takes 2 people to pull out and close the drawers.

Cute bed

My granddaughter loves her new bed. The drawers are a plus.

Love it

Pros: Beautiful bed. Can become 2 twin beds or 1 strong day bed

Love it!

We bought this for our guest house. It's perfect. However, it did take several hours and 2 people to put it together.

Hemnes day bed with 3 drawers

I brought this item about a month ago and I must say my daughter and I love it! I got it for my daughter and she is very happy. It for prefect in our studio apartment..

Great Overnight Guest Bed

The bed assemblies easily but took some time to complete. We have had guests use the bed and said it gave them a great night sleep.

great for our guest room

We have this bed in our guest room. I like that it can be transformed into a king bed when we have guests and otherwise it's a sofa. It suits our needs and looks great.

Uncomfortable

Rethink before buying this bed frame. The ONLY mattresses you are allowed to use on the bed are IKEA mattresses; which I’d much rather prefer more options. I returned the ikea mattresses and decided to buy a more comfortable mattress only to find out it was impossible having two mattress on top of one another. The slats(?) fell apart after two adults were on the bed. Unfortunately, I am unable to return the bed because I no longer have a receipt nor do I want store credit. I am forewarning anyone who has thought about making such purchase.

Great extra bed

I bought this daybed to put in my office. It doesn't take up much room but pulls out to be a king size bed (uses 2 twin mattresses). No one has slept on it yet but it's great to have the extra bed when family is in town.

Awesome!

I bought the item in November 2017. It was a surprise bedroom makeover for my sis, since she only come & stays with us for the holidays. It’s perfect for her & she loved it, kind of made her cry. But it’s sturdy and draws are very spacious. Thank you I couldn’t find it anywhere til I went to IKEA.

Great storage

Exactly what we were looking for

great daybed

I have this bed that I bought probably 7 years ago, and just bought another one (for another room) It's really great for a teen room, or guest room. Plenty of room in the drawers. Assembly was a bit long, but for the price we can not complain! overall I love it, it's a nice look and it's a good sturdy bed!

Love it!

Although it took 4 of us over 4 hours to assemble - it’s very sturdy and the drawers are much bigger than I expected. I would strongly suggest assembling it in the room you intend to use it in - as it’s a formidable piece of furniture, but it looks great and functions well!

Great daybed!

I bought this daybed about a month ago for our guest room. It's perfect for what we need! Assembly looked intimidating, so we hired our grandson to do it. Lots of storage and a sturdy bed.

Wow factor!

What a difference a bed makes! So stylish. The drawers are so handy and now we can have sleepovers!!!

Sturdy and Handsome

Just finished putting this together with my husband. It took us 3.5 hours. The directions were pretty good and easy to understand. Use a power drill with extension to get to the screws that are hard to reach. The drawers are huge! We got the Meistervik foam mattress for $149.

Love the finished product

I'll just list the pros and cons. Even though there are more cons than pros, I still love the product and would buy it again.

Great for kids to teenagers

I purchased this bes for my girls ages 7 and 12 and they fit great in there room. I love that they expand to make a bigger bes for sleepvers and the storage is greatvto hide clutter from sight. Bed furniture can be expensive and the features that this bed offers is well worth the good price.

Love the storage

Good sturdy bed. Love the trundle and extra storage. Looks great in my daughter's room.

Great kids bed and easy

Great kids bed and easy to assemble.

Broke within a year and a half

Nice while it worked, but most of the bed slats broke within a year and half, making the bed useless now. The slats were incredibly cheap: They are almost all made from two pieces, and joined in the middle with some kind of cheap glue: They all broke near or at the seam. This would be a great product were it not for the cheap slats.

HORRIBLE

I bought this, took over a month to be delivered because of covid, hired someone to build it, while thing cost $600 and it literally broke in half within 10 hours. Split down the middle and the wood is shattered and metal is bent. It’s NOT made for an adult. This should be a child only bed. I am without a bed and it broke when I was laying down and it was painful.

Good bed

Good bed but needs stronger bed supports

Very Comfortable!

I bought this a month ago and i love it. there is great storage and i fall asleep very fast.

Great bed!

I bought this for a teenage girl who shares a bedroom with her sister. It fit in the small space really well and the extra storage is perfect

the great quality,looks perfect

I bought it for my guest room, I use it almost every week, there are 3 young persons fit .

Good quality

I bought this day bed a month ago and so far so good

I bought two beds...

I bought two beds and putting together was so hectic. Everything like board head, every piece is not lable. It’s like a guessing puzzle which piece goes where. The pictures in the pamphlet are not even clear. The wood boards all confusing if one goes underneath and the other side goes on top. The drawers only open half way not all the way.

Great features

I bought this a month ago and am so happy .

Great Design but...

This is the second daybed we've purchased from IKEA (the first was a Hemnes), so we knew what to expect on assembly: hard to decipher pictograms, at least one major stop-dismantle-rebuild and the final reveal of a product that's more about design than quality. But we were surprised and disappointed to see that many of the fasteners that had been metal are now plastic and the finish seems thinner and more easily damaged. Add to that a terrible delivery experience (after an unexplained weeklong delay, and an IKEA call center that could provide no help since it was at the delivery agent, our shipment finally arrived after 10:00PM in a driving rain on a Friday night), and I think we are probably finished buying furniture from IKEA.

Great Acoustics! We love this bed!

We bought it for the double twin beds, for occasional use, but the single bed is used all of the time. We love it because you can lean stuff on the head board and it does not fall through the cracks. When you are listening to an iphone and lean it against the head board it has great acoustics. It projects the sound nicely. We really love the drawers, very spacious, if you could add dividers it would be even better. It looks great! We love it. Cons: We wish it can in White or other colors.

Good alternative bed

I like how versatile this day bed is. Looks good as a small sofa with pillows and transforms into a king bed easily and off the floor.

Solid piece.

Looks great, works great.

very comfortable

It's amazing who came up with this idea. It's very sturdy and can convert from single to queen!

clean and slim

I bought this bed a month ago for our 10 year old son. It is the perfect twin bed and fits in our small room. The 2 drawers under the bed are quite large and perfect for storing his sweatshirts and extra blankets and things. Wiith the corner piece it works nice for him to sit up in bed and read at night. He loves this new bed!

Wiuld be great if the kit was not defective

Half way building the bed two things are wrong 1 bolt was still a metal rod The bed board was not predrill with hole as designed Result is 1.I don’t want to disassemble the bed cause it was hours of work 2.I gave ikea a list but they ask to go return at their store which takes another day of my time 3. My 3 yr old sleeps without a headboard and bolt(she is really good about it luckily) Mistake happens but I wish ikea would be better on customer service

Best expandable daybed!

Looking to replace the Hemnes daybed with a bed without so many walls, I found the Flekke daybed at Ikea. The pull out feature of this bed runs smoothly. The two drawers provide ample storage. The corner wall of this bed can be built on either the left or right side. The bed took a few hours to build, but this is to be expected. I would recommend this space saving bed for a small guest room.

Great bed but difficult to assemble!

This bed can be assembled in 2 different ways, depending on where it will be placed, and does not provide an easy way to switch from one to the other version. It came in 5 different boxes because of the differently sized pieces. It took many hours to assemble as it has hundreds of pieces. The trundle is NOT a stand alone bed, must stay connected to the original bed.

Hemnes daybed

Although it looks nice the bed even with both twin mattresses stacked is very very uncomfortable. Also, I had to hire someone to assemble it costing an additional $100.

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.