Idle vs Stearns And Foster

Get an Instant Discount for Idle Get $275 Off + Free Pillows - Code PILLOWS

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Idle

Idle mattresses are some of the most interesting mattresses-in-a-box to take the industry by storm. One of the key differentiators is that they are double sided, which they claim make them more durable over the long term, because you can flip them over if the foam starts to degrade on the top side. Customers respond well to the concept and with memory foam, hybrid, and latex options and an impressive dual firmness option -- with two firmness options when you flip the mattress. At competitive prices, Idle is definitely a brand to consider.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Idle in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Idle

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Idle: 9.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Idle: 9.2/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Idle: 9.1/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Idle: 9.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Idle: $799-$1699
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Idle:
Get $275 Off + Free Pillows - Code PILLOWS

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Idle's Owner Satisfaction

Customers are very happy with these mattresses for overall comfort, which means when we investigated the current customer data from across the net, these mattresses were ranked highly based on sentiment. This is a good starting place for figuring out if a brand will work for you.

Idle's Supportiveness

These mattresses are well supportive versus other competitors. Their materials are good at aligning the spine and help most folks get comfortable. Customers feel that these mattresses offer support and and don't report loss of support over the short term.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress and desire a ledge of support and comfort. These mattresses offer that supportive balance towards the sides.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Using a bowling ball on the surface of the mattress is a good way to measure support and firmness. Reviewers describe these mattresses as evenly supportive throughout the surface.

Idle's Durability

It's always difficult to find products that last over 10 years. Brands, for the most part, rather not make a product that lasts forever if they can make repeatable revenue. However, there are still great products to be found. Customers say that these mattresses do a great job on quality. Most sleepers will experience them lasting between 7 - 12 years, though those who are heavier may find that they break down faster.

Get an Instant Discount for Idle:   Get $275 Off + Free Pillows - Code PILLOWS

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about this one, do more research below to learn if this mattress will work for you. They, unfortunately, don't get the best reception from customers overall. Some were perfectly satisfied with their mattress, but others had complaints about their comfort.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is a make or break for stomach and back sleepers. Also, deeper support can be a make or break for side sleepers who need response but are at risk for back problems. These mattresses offer sleepers above average support. Some, however, have reported issues with support so if you are heavier in body type, make sure your choice aligns with your body.

Edge Support
Most feel comfortable with the edge support of these mattresses. Those that are heavier may find some dipping close to the edges.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

In addition to being comfortable, having a durable mattress is what shoppers are after. We all are hopeful our mattress will last a decade or more and stay just as cozy as day one. Sadly, not all sleepers agree that these mattresses are durable, and some have had issues with longevity after a short time. If you are considering using as your full time mattress, read the reviews to make sure it will work with your body before buying.

Browse Idle Customer Reviews

Solid - Tessa

I spent a little more time looking for a bed that would support myself and my boyfriend who is a little bigger. I didn't want to pay a lot of money but I did need something that would last and support both of us. It has been a comfortable bed and is as strong as an ox.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Level

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.