Idle vs Southerland

Get an Instant Discount for Idle Get 30% Off & 2 Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Idle

Idle mattresses are some of the most interesting mattresses-in-a-box to take the industry by storm. One of the key differentiators is that both mattresses offered are double sided, which they claim allows one side to always rest and recover from use. Customers respond well to the concept with their hybrid mattresses available in both foam and latex and an impressive dual firmness option -- with two firmness options when you flip the mattress. With medium and luxury firm options, Idle is definitely a brand to consider.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Idle in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Idle

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Idle: 9.1/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Idle: 9.1/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Idle: 9.1/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Idle: 9.3/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Idle: $799-$2774
Southerland: $399-2399

Idle:
Get 30% Off & 2 Pillows

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Idle's Owner Satisfaction

Sleepers report feeling very comfortable and satisfied with these mattresses, which means when we analyzed the current customer data, these mattresses had great percentages of high ratings. This provides a good foundation to look deeper into this brand -- read on for more specifics and customer reviews.

Idle's Supportiveness

These mattresses are very supportive. These mattresses do well at cradling the hips and shoulders while keeping the spine aligned properly.

Edge Support
These mattresses also approach edge support well, which is the evenness of support along the sides. For folks that like to dangle their feet over the edge of their mattress, these mattresses will provide a good amount of resistance for you.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Setting a bowling ball on your mattress is a good indicator of firmness, and it can also provide information on how the mattress firmness changes throughout the mattress. It can show if there is an uneven surface. Based on these factors, these mattresses do a good job in their even support.

Idle's Durability

One of the biggest factors to buying a mattress today is durability. Getting 7 to 12 years out of your mattress is good in terms of durability. However, crafstmanship and material quality can be big factors on durability. These mattresses do a great job with durability overall. There are some heavier folks that may experience a decrease in longevity.

Get an Instant Discount for Idle:   Get 30% Off & 2 Pillows

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be difficult to get at and even harder to understand -- especially with some companies focusing heavily on protecting their reputation. Customers, unfortunately, don't always feel great about these mattresses. There are still customers that are happy with their mattresses, but others that are not as pleased. Research more below to learn about the specifics of the mattresses.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Support isn't one and the same as firmness. Deep support means the mattress aligns the back and spine. Sadly, not everyone thinks these mattresses are truly supportive. Most folks find the mattress to be supportive at the beginning, but some customers didn't feel supported well over time.

Edge Support
For those that need to sit on the edge of their bed or roll to the side, even edge support is very important. At first, these mattresses do a good job with edge support, but some may find that it changes over time.

Southerland's Durability

These mattresses may not be as long-living as you'd like. Over a shorter than average time period, some sleepers have had issues with durability and feel. If you have a larger body frame and are hoping for something with longevity, these may provide initial comfort, but do some more research before buying.

Browse Idle Customer Reviews

Solid - Tessa

I spent a little more time looking for a bed that would support myself and my boyfriend who is a little bigger. I didn't want to pay a lot of money but I did need something that would last and support both of us. It has been a comfortable bed and is as strong as an ox.

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.