Idle vs Shifman

Get an Instant Discount for Idle Get 30% Off & 2 Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Idle

Idle mattresses are some of the most interesting mattresses-in-a-box to take the industry by storm. One of the key differentiators is that many models are double sided, which they claim make them more durable over the long term. Customers respond well to the concept and with memory foam, hybrid, and latex options and an impressive dual firmness option -- with two firmness options when you flip the mattress. With the recent addition of their Idle-Air adjustable mattresses, Idle is definitely a brand to consider.

Shifman

Shifman is a handmade luxury mattress brand that has been around since the last 1800s and has a legacy of elegant design and is found in mattress retailers and at Bloomingdales. Their mattresses are very high priced, usually well over $5,000 to start. Though they are a status symbol for some and boast hand craftsmanship, there are those that find that they provide a bad value for the materials used.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Idle in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Idle

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Idle: 9.1/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Idle: 9.1/10
Shifman: 7.6/10

Price Value:
Idle: 9.1/10
Shifman: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Idle: 9.3/10
Shifman: 7.4/10

Price:
Idle: $799-$2774
Shifman: $2,598-$29,783

Idle:
Get 30% Off & 2 Pillows

Shifman:
Get Yours Now

Idle's Owner Satisfaction

Having a mattress that works well for customers is a good place to begin before learning if it will work for your specifically. These mattresses have high marks for customer satisfaction based on the online customer review data. Sleepers feel comfy with these mattresses and have good experiences with the brand. Take a look below for the mattress specifics!

Idle's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress is the key to waking refreshed. You want something that will prop you up rather than sagging and hurting your back. These mattresses do a good job providing support for your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is one of the most important attributes for those that like sitting on the edge of the mattress. These mattresses offer competitive edge support and prop up sleepers along the side.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A fun things for reviewers, the bowling ball test shows if a mattress is firm and how even is its supportiveness. If a mattress isn't even in its support, some people may experience discomfor if it doesn't work with their body. Luckily, these mattresses provide solid even support for sleepers.

Idle's Durability

Everyone who is looking for a mattress is looking for one that will last. However as companies focus more on profits and less on building quality products, finding a mattress that lasts can be a difficult thing to find. However, even still, these mattresses are rated well for durability. For the average sized sleeper, they will last 7 - 12 years. If you are heavier than average, you may find that your mattress lasts slightly less long.

Get an Instant Discount for Idle:   Get 30% Off & 2 Pillows

Shifman's Owner Satisfaction

Finding out how sleepers really feel about a mattress is difficult business -- especially with all of the great marketing that is being done to capture people's attention. These mattresses, unfortunately, don't get the best reception from customers versus competitors. There are still sleepers who are perfectly cozy with these products, but others that are not as much. Learn more below to understand the specifics.

Shifman's Supportiveness

Some are happy with the supportiveness of these mattresses, but others have described support issues. For those that are larger in frame or have tender spines, read the reviews to make sure the mattress works with your body.

Edge Support
There are mixed feelings about edge support for these mattresses. Some folks have reported good amounts of comfort throughout the mattress, but others had problems with dipping along the sides.

Shifman's Durability

Everyone wants to find a mattress that will last over a decade, and when our mattress is something that instead gives us pain over a short term, this is terrible. That said, nowadays, it is getting harder and harder to find lasting comfort. With more companies than ever, companies fighting for profit at the demise of quality. With these mattresses specifically, some sleepers report problems with lasting comfort. Longevity issues aren't a guarantee, but make sure sure that you read up on the specifications to make sure your choice works for you.

Browse Idle Customer Reviews

Solid - Tessa

I spent a little more time looking for a bed that would support myself and my boyfriend who is a little bigger. I didn't want to pay a lot of money but I did need something that would last and support both of us. It has been a comfortable bed and is as strong as an ox.

View More Reviews

Browse Shifman Customer Reviews

I bought my first Shifman Mattress...

I bought my first Shifman Mattress in Bloomdales in 2001. It lasted me over ten years and was only tossed out due to the impossibility of getting such a heavy, well-made mattress down my third floor tenement stairs. I switched brands to my regret and have never gotten the good night's sleep I had with my Shifman. I can't even turn the mattress over because it is a one-sided mattress, something I was unaware of. When this one bites the dust, I'm returning to Shifman. It is a costly product and worth every cent.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.