Get The Best Holiday 2021 Mattress Deals! Unlock Today's Coupons

Idle vs. Serta

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Idle

Idle Sleep is a mattress-in-a-box company that creates both memory foam and hybrids mattresses. One of their key differentiators is that their hybrid mattresses feauture a two sided design, which means these mattresses can be flipped in hopes of prolonging comfort. With medium and luxury firm options as well as a cooling all foam mattress, Idle is a brand to consider.

Serta Perfect Sleeper

Serta offers foam and coil mattresses and are common at many mattress mattress stores and big box retail locations. As a household name in the mattress industry, Serta has been in the mattress business for a long time. Their mattresses range from budget-friendly to higher in price and offer a variety of firmness options and cooling designs. While most customers find Serta's branded products to be initially comfortable, there are some concerns about durability for some sleepers.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Idle in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Idle


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Idle: 8.8/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Idle: 8.7/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Idle: 8.8/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 7.1/10

No Back Pain:
Idle: 8.7/10
Serta Perfect Sleeper: 8.2/10

Price:
Idle: $910-$4997
Serta Perfect Sleeper: $319-$4699

Idle:
Get Yours Now

Serta Perfect Sleeper:
Get Yours Now

Idle's Owner Satisfaction

It is a difficult task to understand which mattresses are truly the best received by customers. Customers are very happy with these mattresses overall according to our analysis. Although this doesn't necessarily mean that you will love one of these, having a good reputation from customers is a great beginning for reading on further!

Idle's Supportiveness

Mattress support is the most important thing to maintain a healthy back while you sleep. You want something that will prop you up rather than sagging and hurting your back. Reviewers describe these mattresses as well supportive.

Edge Support
For those folks that like to sit or lie close to the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. These mattresses are competitive with their edge support and don't have much support degradation along the edges.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A popular test for reviewers, the bowling ball test provides a good indication of firmness while also showing evenness of support across the mattress. If a mattress isn't even in its support, some may experience some issues with the mattress. However, these mattresses are rated well and shouldn't have that issue.

Idle's Durability

These mattresses offer competitive durability ratings versus competition. For buyers looking for mattress, finding one that has good durability can mean years of additional sleep. while one that degrades fast can mean unhappiness and money lost. These mattresse will last between 7 - 12 years for most sleepers, which is aligned with good contemporary mattresses. Those folks that weight more than average or use their mattresses more than once a day may experience slight decreases in longevity.

Check the Prices For Idle:   Get Today's Prices

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Owner Satisfaction

There is some negative input from sleepers about these mattresses. Some folks report feeling comfy, but others experience discomfort. One of these may work for you, but it makes it difficult to figure out. Do additional research below to learn from customers if one of these will work for you.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Supportiveness

Some folks feel good with the support in these mattresses, but others have described support issues. For those that have back pain already, make sure to read the reviews to make sure the mattress works for you.

Edge Support
There are mixed feelings about edge support for these mattresses. Some folks have reported good amounts of comfort throughout the mattress, but others had issues with lumpiness.

Serta Perfect Sleeper's Durability

These mattresses may not provide the kind of lasting comfort that you want. Some folks describe issues with feel and longevity over a short horizon. If you have a larger body frame and are hoping for something with longevity, these mattresses may comfort you initially, but do some more research before buying.

Browse Idle Customer Reviews

Solid - Tessa

I spent a little more time looking for a bed that would support myself and my boyfriend who is a little bigger. I didn't want to pay a lot of money but I did need something that would last and support both of us. It has been a comfortable bed and is as strong as an ox.

View More Reviews

Browse Serta Perfect Sleeper Customer Reviews

Really nice when warm. Hard as a brick when cold.

Have a cabin where the bed room temp is around 60 in the winter. The upper 3 inches of gel memory foam is really ridgid when cold. Climb into a cold bed is more like climbing onto a piece of plywood. After about 10 minutes, your body temp softens the foam and it is really comfortable... until you roll over too far onto a cold slab and you are back on the plywood.

I sure hope summer is more comfy.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Puffy

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.