Idle vs Layla

Get an Instant Discount for Layla Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Idle

Idle mattresses are some of the most interesting mattresses-in-a-box to take the industry by storm. One of the key differentiators is that many models are double sided, which they claim make them more durable over the long term. Customers respond well to the concept and with memory foam, hybrid, and latex options and an impressive dual firmness option -- with two firmness options when you flip the mattress. With the recent addition of their Idle-Air adjustable mattresses, Idle is definitely a brand to consider.

Layla

Layla got its start in 2015 as the mattress in the box trying to fight homelessness with every mattress purchased. Since then, they have focused themselves primarily on making one better mattress, crafting an infused-copper memory foam mattress for everyone. With materials that are cooler and more customizable, there is definitely something to this mattress. If you are interested in a slightly soft all-foam mattress, this is mattress is worth a look.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Layla in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Layla

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Idle: 9.2/10
Layla: 9.4/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Idle: 9.2/10
Layla: 9.4/10

Price Value:
Idle: 9.1/10
Layla: 9.3/10

No Back Pain:
Idle: 9.3/10
Layla: 9.3/10

Price:
Idle: $799-$2774
Layla: $499-$999

Idle:
Get $300 Off + 2 Pillows

Layla:
Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Idle's Owner Satisfaction

Keeping customers happy is a good first step in finding out if a mattress is going to be right for you. These mattresses do very well with customer satisfaction versus others. Do some more reading below to find out what customers are saying.

Idle's Supportiveness

All folks need a mattress that is supportive. Independent of your firmness preference, a mattress that aligns the back and shoulders is really important. Most report that these mattresses offer a good amount of support.

Edge Support
Many reviewers describe edge support as a key attribute of the best mattresses. These mattresses offer good quality edge support, which means that sleepers report feeling consistency in support near the sides of the bed.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is a fun test to measure the firmness of the mattress and it does a good job measuring even support throughout the surface layers. These mattresses offer good even support, which will help with aligning the spine.

Idle's Durability

Everyone who is looking for a mattress is looking for one that will last. However, with some brands out there focused on other things than durability, finding a mattress that lasts can be a difficult thing to find. However, even with this, thhese mattresses specifically do well when it comes to durability. Most sleepers will see them last up to a decade. If you are heavier than average, you may find that your mattress lasts slightly less long.

Get an Instant Discount for Idle:   Get $300 Off + 2 Pillows

Layla's Owner Satisfaction

Having great customer reviews is an important check mark for shoppers. These mattresses receive better customer ratings than many other competitors, which should give you a good starting point to learn more. Research on below to discover if this mattress will work for you!

Layla's Supportiveness

Having quality support materials is essential to the comfort of a mattress and whether it provides health benefits to the spine. These mattresses do a good job at support for their firmness specifications. That means that these mattresses will support you comfortably.

Edge Support
Most sleepers are satisfied with the edge support of these mattresses. This means that you'll feel the same amount of support on the sides of the bed as the center and the mattress will give you additional surface area to sleep on.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Some reviewers love the bowling ball test to measure firmness and support. Customers report that these mattresses offer a good consistent surface, which is great for those that want to feel secure in their purchase.

Layla's Durability

We all want a mattress that will last for years, but due to the overwhelming amount of choices, it can be hard for shoppers to find the truth. That said, the data on the materials used, tests performed, and customer reviews can be a good guide to estimate longevity. These mattresses offer above average durability for the average sleeper. Some folks that are heavier may find these mattresses don't last as long.

Get an Instant Discount for Layla:   Get $125 Off & 2 Free Pillows

Browse Idle Customer Reviews

Solid - Tessa

I spent a little more time looking for a bed that would support myself and my boyfriend who is a little bigger. I didn't want to pay a lot of money but I did need something that would last and support both of us. It has been a comfortable bed and is as strong as an ox.

View More Reviews

Browse Layla Customer Reviews

The near perfect bed

I recently moved from a 15 year old box spring mattress to memory foam. I had always thought of myself as a firm mattress sleeper since my box-spring mattress was pretty hard. After doing a bit of research, I purchased the Amerisleep Revere bed. Most of the memory foam mattresses averaged a firmness of 6-7 on online reviews, but I found out that this was way too hard for me after sleeping on the Amerisleep Revere bed for a couple months. I ended up returning that mattress and trying the Layla mattress that had a firmness rating of 3 on the soft side and a 7 on the hard hard on online reviews, but also liked the idea of being able to flip it to a firmer mattress if I wanted to (which I have not tried yet). After about a week of getting use to, I found that I am falling asleep way more easily that I did with the box-spring or Amerisleep mattress. Also the company is true to its word that it dissipates heat well through its copper infused mattress even with a mattress cover. I have not tried it during the peak of summer yet but I stayed relatively cooler at the end of summer that my previous two mattresses.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Brooklyn Bedding

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.