Idle Mattress Reviews

Get an Instant Discount for Idle Get 35% Off - Code MEMDAY35

Idle

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Idle mattresses are some of the most interesting mattresses-in-a-box to take the industry by storm. One of the key differentiators is that they offer multiple double sided mattresses, which they claim allows one side to always rest and recover from use. With both latex and foam flippable hybrid varieties, and cooling foam mattress options, customers respond well to their offerings. With medium and luxury firm options, Idle is definitely a brand to consider.

Mattress Score

Overall Score: 9.1/10

Customer Satisfaction: 9.1/10

Price Value: 9.1/10

No Back Pain: 9.3/10

Price: $799-$2774

Trial Period: 120 Days

See More Scores

Get 35% Off - Code MEMDAY35

Idle's Specifics

Idle Sleep is an online mattress brand, which has gone through many iterations over the last few years. With an ear towards customer feedback, they've adapted their product offering over recent years. With a focus on flippable hybrids, they've also added generous gel memory foam mattress options.

Quality of Materials

One of Idle Sleep's core differentiators has been their flippable design in their foam and latex hybrid mattresses. Their unique benefit is being able to find the right firmness level without having to adjust the mattress. With options that feature GOL'S certified Dunlop and Talalay latex, customers that are looking for a more eco-conscious, natural sleep can find something for them.

We'll go through what's inside each of their mattresses in detail. Here is what's inside The Idle Hybrid:

Layer 1: The Thermocool™ fabric keeps things soft and cool on the cover layer. It sits on top of a natural fire resistant barrier.

Layer 2: 1'' of Idle foam is quilted into the top layer, which has a cloud like plush quality.

Layer 3: 2'' of Idle Cooling Buoyancy foam reacts faster than memory foam while dissolving those pressure points.

Layer 4: 1'' layer of supportive transitional foam.

Layer 5: 6'' of Quantum Edge-To-Edge pocketed coils allow the body to be supported in any position while providing great edge support.

Layers 6 - 9: Because Idle mattresses are double sided, the first three layers of foam are also on the bottom of the mattress.

Next, for those sleepers that love added response and all-natural ingredients, here is what's inside the Idle Natural Dunlop or Talalay Latex Hybrid:

Layer 1: The first layer is an all-natural organic cotton layer that will keep things soft and comfortable on the surface.

Layer 2: 1'' of natural wool that's quilted into the cotton cover for added comfort.

Layer 3: 3'' of 100% pure GOLS certified Dunlop or Talalay Latex which is naturally hypoallergenic and offers some breathability, making it feel cooler than memory foam to some sleepers.

Layer 4: 6'' of Quantum Edge-to-Edge pocketed coils provide lasting support to the back and spine. The pocket coils are sandwiched between coil support layers that help to managed the tension and transfer between the different parts of the mattress.

Layers 5 - 7: Because Idle mattresses are double sided, the first three layers are also on the bottom of the mattress.

Next, we'll go through the medium firmness and gently contouring, Idle Gel Plush:

Layer 1: The first layer is the Ice Fabric™ cover with buoyancy foam for a subtle responsiveness, cozy softness, and cooling surface.

Layer 2: 1'' of cooling buoyancy is engineered to be more reactive than memory foam, while cooling the sleepers above.

Layer 3-4: There is a natural fire resistant barrier followed by 3'' of gel infused buoyancy foam, which further melts away pressure points.

Layer 5: 3'' of Idle memory foam is customized to not retain heat, while adjusting to the body's curves and providing a gentle contour.

Layers 6 - 7: The base layer is 8'' of high density foam, which provides lasting support and durability, while a natural fireproof cloth helps keep things safe.

Lastly, we'll go through the medium firm, all-foam Idle Mattress:

Layer 1-2: The cover layer is quilted and machine washable with thermo-regulating technology so it won't sleep too warm. This cover is followed by a natural fire resistant barrier.

Layer 2: 3'' of Idle cooling buoyancy foam is more reactive than memory foam, while it relieves pressure points and keeps things cool.

Layer 3: 2'' of supportive transition foam is perforated for extra air flow while it enhances the pressure relief above and the supportive layer below.

Layer 4-5: The last layers are 7'' of high density base foam, which provides structure to the mattress and supports the back, and a natural fireproof cloth layer to keep things safe.

Overall Comfort

Customers respond well to the Idle mattress options and enjoy the quality and wide range of mattress firmnesses. Side sleepers will resonate more with the softer foam options, while those that desire a more firm mattress will do better with the latex hybrid options.

Firmness

Check out the scale above. As you'll see, Idle's hybrid mattresses come in either medium or firm on both sides. The foam offerings are softer with the thicker plush version being the most pressure-relieving.

Cooling

Overall, because of the cooling top layers, these mattresses should be cool for most. Their foam offerings that usually struggle with heat retention have multiple technologies aimed at keeping things cool at night.

Who Are Idle Mattresses Right For?

Idle has a versatile array of mattresses in multiple styles and firmness options. Those that are used to high name-brand price points will find these more competitive.

Get an Instant Discount for Idle:   Get 35% Off - Code MEMDAY35

Browse Idle Customer Reviews

Solid

I spent a little more time looking for a bed that would support myself and my boyfriend who is a little bigger. I didn't want to pay a lot of money but I did need something that would last and support both of us. It has been a comfortable bed and is as strong as an ox.

Very nice

I was pretty apprehensive to buy a mattress without trying it out first, but I did a lot of research and decided to take the plunge. I tried several different memory foam mattresses in stores and I’d say this one is superior to the others. The firmness level is just right: not too hard and not too soft. I sink in just enough to feel supported, but not so much that it’s difficult to move. I wake up less in the middle of the night and I’m not sore in the morning. I am very pleased with our purchase.

Next level bed

I ordered my Idle Sleep Hybrid medium firm bed about 5 weeks ago based on both the recommendation of an acquaintance and online reviews. I have been nothing short of elated at the quality of the bed and how well I sleep on it. It is plush and yet supportive and my girlfriend is staying over more often now which is an added bonus.

Just what I needed

I broke the C2 vertebrae in my neck in 2004. For the past 8 years or so I have been having soreness and stiffness in my neck with no answer on how to help it. Since buying the Idle hybrid I have not been waking up with a sore and stiff neck due to the wonderful neck and shoulder support from the mattress. This bed has been a blessing and I am very thankful for it.

Feels like a giant pillow!

I just got back from traveling abroad for the past 8 months. I came back home to enter the rat race so I can work and save for my next adventure. My dad helped me set up my apartment and bought me an Idle mattress as a welcome home gift. I love traveling and miss it a ton but this mattress has made me happy to be back at home. It so comfortable, I love it! I will probably bring it with me when I travel again

rejuvenating

I rarely write reviews but I thought this bed deserved a few good words. It is a little more expensive than other online brands but it is for a good reason: the other brands DO NOT compare in quality. I have friends who have purchased beds online that I have laid on and they feel cheap like I am going to fall right through them. My all foam bed is a huge and well built bed. I sleep sound and enjoy throwing it in my friends' faces for buying hastily and trying to save a buck. I would give it 6 stars but 5 is the most I can give.

My Netflix Binge Throne

I can get lazy from time to time and lay in bed and watch Netflix all day. Since getting this bed my Netflix watching has increased by about 20%. It is so comfortable and I never want to get out of it!

A STEP ABOVE

I have always slept better on a more firm mattress. After talking with Chelsey from customer service we decided the latex bed would be a good fit for me. It was delivered on time but I needed my son to come over and help get the bed into my room as I am not the young song bird I once was. It has been everything and more that Chelsey told me it would be and I am very pleased with the quality and support I get from this bed.

Awesome mattress

I am very happy with everything about this bed. If buying beds online is always as easy and satisfying as it was for me it seems like brick and mortar stores don't have a very bright future

Best nights sleep

This IDLE mattress changed our lives for the better! It is absolutely the ideal softness and temperature for sleeping. We decided to order a king since our dog sleeps with us. We didn't want a cheap bed that seems so common from other companies (Idle was our 3rd bed) and we really wish it had been our first.

On point

I ordered this bed mostly for my husband who is active duty military. I spoke with Chelsey and mentioned my husbands service and she gave us an additional discount. It is nice to see a company that takes care of its veterans and service members. Since getting the bed I have grown to love it more than my husband. We are both super happy with our bed and the service we received.

Good all around

Nice bed, good customer service and quick shipping.

Nice Latex bed

I prefer a bed that is firmer and this latex bed hits the spot. It is evident that the bed is not cheap and that I can expect it to last a good while. Having two sides is also a great benefit that I have not seen any other companies offer. Good bed, good experience.

Love my new bed

I would never buy a one sided mattress again, or likely any other brand than Idle. From a recommendation I received from a former roommate I decided to try the Hybrid bed. I was pretty ecstatic at first but wanted to make sure the bed would still meet my needs after about 30 days...and it has and then some! I has been a little more than a month and I am 100% satisfied with everything about this bed.

Wish Idle came around a long time ago

It is a breath of fresh air to deal with a company that takes care of you from start to finish. From customer service until the product was delivered I was taken care of. I never felt like I was going to have to deal with any non sense or a sub par product. The mattress has been incredible and my experience definitely deserves 5 stars.

Great for my back

My Idle all foam bed has helped my back immensely and for a very reasonable price. Beds similar to this that I have found in stores are close to $1000 more. I was able to do my own research without being pressured to buy and ended up getting a really good deal on this bed.

Happy sleeper

My new bed is like a dream. I usually wake up in the middle of the night half asleep and sometimes sleep walk. Since buying this bed almost 2 months ago I have only sleep walked one time which is unheard of for me. That in itself speaks volumes to the kind of sleep I have been getting. Thanks Idle Sleep for keeping me asleep throughout the night!

Nice upgrade

I had been sleeping on a mattress that was about 8 years old and the springs would creak and crack as I moved through the night which drove me nuts. Thanks to a recent promotion at work I decided to treat myself to a new bed that didn't sound like I was sleeping on a bag of potato chips. The Idle Hybrid has been like sleeping on a cloud and I feel much more rested and productive when I wake up.

Feel 20 again

Very nice bed. I sleep through the night and wake up feeling half my age. I have neck and shoulder soreness due to a car accident 4 years ago and the all foam has helped tremendously in providing the support I need to wake up without pain or discomfort. I am a happy camper in my new bed.

Arrived early

I ordered the bed on a Friday afternoon and got it by the following Thursday. Everything from ordering to set up was seamless and easy. One of the smoothest online transactions I have ever made.

Took a chance..

Like the title says, we took a chance and we love it. We have always had traditional inner spring mattresses but read some reviews about the all foam bed and were convinced to try it out. After all, there is a 120 night sleep trial so why not? I have owned a foam bed before and always slept really hot and would sweat at night. Whatever the foam is they use in this bed must have been made at Hogwarts because it is magical! I never sweat, I feel supported and the overall comfort is just ridiculously satisfying. It is really a wonderful bed.

Thank you IDLE Sleep

I can't say enough good about this bed. I know there are a lot of options out there with online mattresses and a lot of claims that don't seem to be substantiated and that is why I started looking at higher end beds like IDLE Sleep's Hybrid bed. It has held up to everything it has claimed and is clearly a luxury bed as stated. It is thick, the materials are of a higher quality, it has two sides so it can be flipped and has a stellar warranty. I highly recommend this bed to anyone who is looking for something better than a cheap, thin mattress that will need to be replaced in a year or two.

Love it

Buying beds online is a roll of the dice but I felt confident enough with the information about this bed to make the purchase and boy am I glad I did. It is really simple to set up and it is very comfortable.

Family loves it

We bought the all foam bed about 6 weeks ago and have no complaints. My 11 year old daughter watches movies in our bed with her mom and she won't stop asking us to get an Idle bed for her. I was hesitant at first to buy a bed online but I figured it's not much different than laying on a bed for 30 seconds in a store and deciding to buy. This is a great bed and my whole family is happy with it.

Fun to unbox

Nice bed and unboxing is really easy. It expanded and looked like the website pictures within a few minutes.

Sturdy

The Hybrid mattress I ordered is very strong and sturdy. I am happy with how it feels and getting more than what I paid for as far as quality. Chelsey even gave me an extra $100 off when I spoke to her through live chat.

GOOD DEAL

I hadn't heard of this brand before but I guess there are a lot of new companies coming out, but I love this bed. I have owned a Tempurpedic and Stearns and Foster bed which are pretty expensive beds and this bed is right up there with that kind of quality but for far less. I actually googled the components of the bed before I bought it and was impressed with other brands that use the same materials and how well it is made. I would highly recommend this bed to anyone looking for a quality bed without going bankrupt.

BUY IT

I have done a good amount of research of online mattress brands and ultimately settled on Idle Sleep. One of the things I read a lot about was this thing called "off gassing" which I have come to the conclusion is essentially new car smell. Some reviewers seem to talk about it like it is some weird stench you have to put up with for a day or two but, at least with Idle Sleep, this off gassing is nothing more than the smell of new fabric. It's the same smell you would find with a new pair of shoes or a new car, I kind of like it. Aside from that this bed has been a dream- I sleep like a baby in it, it is super comfortable, the fabric is soft enough to sleep on without sheets and the two sided feature is fantastic. This is easily a 5 star bed and worth what I paid and more.

Pretty good

The bed is very comfortable. I don't have any complaints about the bed but it is a big bed and I'm a little guy and had to get a forklift to get the bed up two flights of stairs to my room.

Amazing wedding gift!

My new brother-in-law bought my husband and I this bed for our wedding which was extremely generous (Thanks Dan!). We couldn't be happier with this bed, it is unreal how comfortable it is and how well we sleep. It is the thickest bed we have owned by far and has the benefit of being flipped which I was able to do on my own. Overall, very satisfied with our bed.

Best Mattress

I love this mattress. I have had it for over a year now and kept forgetting to leave a review. I never leave reviews but I will with this mattress. I know a lot of people with mattresses from other well know mail order companies and they do not compare to this. Primarily because you can flip the mattress and it feels like a new mattress. When this one goes (if it goes bad) I will order another one.Love It!

Idle mattress

I sleep like a baby on this mattress I’m glad I purchased it thanks.

LIKE MY OLD MATTRESS THAT LASTED

I came across Idle when searching for 2 sided. I was happy to find a good option online. We are loving the comfort and quality.

Great Mattress, took a few extra days

We bought the 1 sided hybrid mattress in medium. We are loving the mattress. It was cheaper and had many of the same features as others. It just took a few extra days to get here than was anticipated but worth the wait. Thanks

Ahmazing

I love the mattress. 4 stars since it took a little longer to come than I thought it was supposed to.

Really bad back

The Idle Mattress is the most comfortable Mattress I have EVER used. My only complaint is that it is too comfortable, I never want to get out of bed. I had a air mattress prior and it was great for 10 years, this is better. I did a huge amount of research and it all pointed at Idle. I finally made the purchase , I wish I had done it sooner. Thanks Idle

Best bed ever

This bed has made my wifes life and mine so wonderful she suffering for back pain from her surgery and this bed finally lets her get a peaceful sleep

Nice

Great for side and back sleeping. Enjoy going to bed now.

Wonderful Mattress!

I did lots and lots of hours of research trying to find a mattress that would be good for my and my husband's many back pain issues and aging bones (we are 60 and 66, respectively). I decided upon the Idle hybrid mattress due to all positive reviews (I could not find one negative review) and factors such as the mattress being flippable, 120-day trial period and lifetime warranty. So far, after one month of sleeping on our mattress, we are in love. We both sleep so well and it is SO comfortable. We also like that the foam top enables one of us to move around or get out of bed without the other even knowing! It is so nice to wake up each morning and not want to rush to get up and out of bed because we are hurting (this can be a downside...just wanting to lie in our oh, so comfortable bed...). Our sleep is so much better, and we wake up feeling refreshed and not in discomfort. The customer service has been excellent, also. We had a problem with one of the legs being damaged upon arrival. I emailed Idle and they shipped new legs to us within 2 days. I would highly recommend the Idle hybrid mattress.

Waking up on time!

I have been getting a much better nights sleep on my idle. If it helps, I have the medium hybrid and weigh 143lbs. I side sleep most of the time and it has been really great for me. The mattress seems to be made really well. ❥

Compare Idle With These Brands

Compare With Dreamcloud

Compare With Level

Compare With Bear Mattress

Compare With Nectar

Compare With Avocado

Compare With Awara

Compare With Brooklyn Bedding

Compare With Puffy

Compare With Winkbeds

Compare With Saatva

Compare With Amore

Compare With Nolah

Compare With Nest Bedding

Compare With Plushbeds

Compare With Tuft And Needle

Compare With Amerisleep

Compare With My Green Mattress

Compare With Loom And Leaf

Compare With Allswell

Compare With Layla

Compare With Helix

Compare With Sleep Ez

Compare With Eight

Compare With Big Fig

Compare With La Z Boy

Compare With Leesa

Compare With Ghostbed

Compare With Zenhaven

Compare With Cocoon

Compare With Birch Living

Compare With Essentia

Compare With Purple

Compare With Nora

Compare With Aviya

Compare With Hyphen

Compare With Spindle

Compare With Tulo

Compare With Luxi

Compare With Cariloha

Compare With Brentwood Home

Compare With Dreamfoam Bedding

Compare With Arctic Dreams

Compare With Casper

Compare With Lull

Compare With Performasleep

Compare With Naturepedic

Compare With Tempurpedic

Compare With Oso

Compare With Lifekind

Compare With Technogel

Compare With Novosbed

Compare With Restonic

Compare With Airweave

Compare With Reverie

Compare With Eve

Compare With Craftmatic

Compare With Christeli

Compare With Hypnos

Compare With Urban

Compare With Endy

Compare With Intellibed

Compare With Doze

Compare With Dormeo

Compare With Dromma

Compare With Verlo

Compare With Bed In A Box

Compare With Classic Brands

Compare With Eluxury Supply

Compare With Flobeds

Compare With Easy Rest

Compare With Zotto

Compare With Cuddle

Compare With Vi Spring

Compare With Therapedic

Compare With Savvy Rest

Compare With Foam Sweet Foam

Compare With Sleepys

Compare With Keetsa

Compare With Kiss

Compare With Pranasleep

Compare With Diamond

Compare With Simmons Beautyrest

Compare With Postureloft

Compare With King Koil

Compare With Natures Sleep

Compare With Ikrema

Compare With Qomfort

Compare With Dream Bed

Compare With Innomax

Compare With Sleep Science

Compare With Ashley Furniture

Compare With Parklane

Compare With Comfortaire

Compare With White Dove

Compare With Comfort Tech

Compare With Springwall

Compare With Safavieh

Compare With Hästens

Compare With Banner

Compare With Charles P Rogers

Compare With Lebeda

Compare With Mlily

Compare With Perfect Cloud

Compare With Tuck

Compare With Corsicana

Compare With Sleep On Latex

Compare With Purasleep

Compare With Dynasty

Compare With Eclipse

Compare With Wolf

Compare With Sleep Innovations

Compare With Zinus

Compare With Custom Comfort

Compare With Sherwood Bedding

Compare With Novaform

Compare With Hampton And Rhodes

Compare With Kluft

Compare With Aireloom

Compare With Gold Bond

Compare With Spa Sensations

Compare With Ethan Allen

Compare With Shifman

Compare With Bowles

Compare With Enso

Compare With Personal Comfort

Compare With Bed Boss

Compare With Signature Sleep

Compare With Solstice

Compare With Yogabed

Compare With Jamison

Compare With Sleep Number

Compare With Raymour And Flanigan

Compare With Boyd

Compare With Lucid

Compare With Sealy Posturepedic

Compare With Stearns And Foster

Compare With Ortho

Compare With Maxim

Compare With Cheswick Manor

Compare With Dutch Craft

Compare With Zuzu

Compare With Icomfort

Compare With Astrabeds

Compare With Southerland

Compare With Spring Air

Compare With Serta Perfect Sleeper

Compare With Symbol

Compare With Linenspa

Compare With City

Compare With Kingsdown

Compare With Bobs Bobopedic

Compare With Ikea

Compare With Denver

Compare With Eastman House

Compare With Englander

Compare With Tomorrow

Compare With Voila

Compare With Pangeabed

Compare With Zeopedic

Compare With Resort Sleep

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.