Icomfort vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best January 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Icomfort

Serta iComfort has been a favorite mattress of mattress big-box stores and traditional marketers for years. But is it worth the hype? This mattress combines both memory foam and mini innerspring coils.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend both Icomfort and Stearns And Foster in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Icomfort: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Icomfort: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Icomfort: 7.3/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Icomfort: 7.5/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Icomfort: $649-$3499
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Icomfort:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Icomfort's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about buying one of these mattresses, read more below for added specifics. They, unfortunately, don't get the best reception from customers overall. Some were extremely happy with their purchase, but many others were not as excited.

Icomfort's Supportiveness

Based on the reviews, these mattresses have above average supportiveness, which is great when you've been looking for a mattress to support your spine. However, there are some reviewers that describe a lack of support for their bodies, so take a look at the firmness and durability ratings to ensure it works for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is the amount of resistance there is for sleepers along the side of the mattress. These mattresses do well here, but some may experience some degrading of support over time.

Icomfort's Durability

We all want a mattress that lasts 10 years or more, and when instead our new mattress causes us pain after a year, this is the worst. That said, it is much more difficult to find the right durable mattress nowadays. With more products available than ever, some brands are sacrificing quality. With these mattresses specifically, some sleepers report problems with lasting comfort. Not all customers will experience durability issues, but make sure to review the return and warranty policies before buying.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews can be difficult to get at and even harder to understand -- especially with some companies focusing heavily on protecting their reputation. These mattresses, unfortunately, aren't scored as well by customers. There are still customers that are very satisfied, but many others who are not. Learn more details about the mattresses below.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Most reviewers report that these mattresses do well with support, but some had some complaints about feel. For those that are plus size, take a look at the firmness ratings before buying as you'll want to make sure that you are supported well enough for your spine to be aligned.

Edge Support
For those that like to sit on the side of the mattress, most will be comfortable and supported with these mattresses. However, some have reported some issues over the long term so make sure to review before purchasing.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

Unfortunately, these mattresse are not always rated well for durability. While some sleepers reported lasting comfort, others describe problems with comfort over a short time. Take a look at the specifications of the mattress, warranty, and return policies before buying if you are considering.

Browse Icomfort Customer Reviews

After 6 months...OMG this hurts - Christine M

Purchased an iComfort-Applause II King mattress and split box spring. It was ok for the first 6 months, then support degrades after that. I suffer from back pain so the i-Comfort Hybrid series in firm (Fundamental model) seemed like an ideal replacement for my 10-year-old inner spring Sealy mattress. Eventually you'll sink into a hole as the memory foam upper doesn't hold up. My partner and I now have a 'hill' down the middle of the mattress that limits your sleeping space to your own body cavity hole. I had Raymour & Flanigan's inspector come out used their measuring tools to come to the conclusion that the bed is not defective and is within the warranty allowances. Yet I continue to sleep in my confined hole and am now considering taking this POS to the dump and eating a good amount of money. I've filed a BBB complaint and Consumer Affairs report. Raymour & Flanigan is no help whatsoever! I do NOT recommend either R&F nor Serta. Very bad service. The inspection process was such a waste of time. I spent $1,650 on this set and it's barely a year old. Don't fall for the 100-day satisfaction sleep guarantee because 100 days is not nearly enough time to give a true assessment. I'll never buy another Serta Mattress since they obviously don't care to stand behind their claims that i-Comfort Series is 'revolutionary' and is worth the good money I paid for it. Don't fall for the Consumer Reports review that gave it a shining review. This experience has shown me that CR is no longer a good source for researching products before I purchase.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Level

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.