Icomfort vs Idle

Get an Instant Discount for Idle Get $275 Off + 2 Pillows

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Icomfort

Serta iComfort has been a favorite mattress of mattress big-box stores and traditional marketers for years. But is it worth the hype? This mattress combines both memory foam and mini innerspring coils.

Idle

Idle mattresses are some of the most interesting mattresses-in-a-box to take the industry by storm. One of the key differentiators is that many models are double sided, which they claim make them more durable over the long term. Customers respond well to the concept and with memory foam, hybrid, and latex options and an impressive dual firmness option -- with two firmness options when you flip the mattress. With the recent addition of their Idle-Air adjustable mattresses, Idle is definitely a brand to consider.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Idle in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Idle

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Icomfort: 7.3/10
Idle: 9.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Icomfort: 7.3/10
Idle: 9.2/10

Price Value:
Icomfort: 7.3/10
Idle: 9.1/10

No Back Pain:
Icomfort: 7.5/10
Idle: 9.3/10

Price:
Icomfort: $649-$3499
Idle: $799-$2774

Icomfort:
Get Yours Now

Idle:
Get $275 Off + 2 Pillows

Icomfort's Owner Satisfaction

Some sleepers are comfortable with their new beds, but others were not as satisfied with how the mattress made them feel. Despite those that are cozy, this means that these mattresses have lower than average customer satisfaction. Below you will find more information from customers on the specifics from these mattresses.

Icomfort's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress can mean the difference between a comfortable night sleep and pain. Most like the feel of this mattress for the first few months, but there are those that found their mattress less supportive. Take a look at the specifications and the reviews to make sure that these fit your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is key for those that like to sit on the sides of their mattress. These mattresses are generally well regarded on edge support, but some sleepers may experience more dipping over time.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In initial density and bowling ball tests reported by sleepers and reviewers, these mattresses have fairly even support. Some folks, however, have described issues with support degrading over time.

Icomfort's Durability

In addition to being comfortable, having a durable mattress is what shoppers are after. We all really want to find a bed that will be comfy a decade or more later. However, these mattresses are not rated well by some reviewers on durability and some have experienced breakdown after only a short time. If you are thinking about using this mattress nightly, read through the customer reviews and return policies to make sure that you are secure in your purchase.

Idle's Owner Satisfaction

Having great ratings from customers is an important indicator for shoppers. These mattresses get higher marks from customers than many other competitors, which should give you confidence in learning more about them. Learn more to see if these mattresses will work for your body!

Idle's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is the key to a healthy night's sleep. You want a mattress that makes you feel refreshed and doesn't cause back aches. These mattresses do a good job providing support for your body.

Edge Support
For those that like sitting on the side of the mattress, edge support is very important. These mattresses provide solid edge support and doesn't sag greatly when adding pressure to the sides.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Popular among reviewers, the bowling ball test is a good indicator of firmness and contouring, but also of support. If a mattress has lumpy support, some folks may experience back pain or other issues. Luckily, these mattresses have good ratings here and shouldn't have that as a problem.

Idle's Durability

It isn't simple to find a great product that will last a decade or more under constant use. Brands, for the most part, rather go after the money than make something that can never ever break. However, there are still good brands out there. These mattresses, specifically, do a great job with durability for most sleepers. They should last up to a decade for many sleepers, though some who are heavier or use their mattress more often than nightly may experience them faltering sooner.

Get an Instant Discount for Idle:   Get $275 Off + 2 Pillows

Browse Icomfort Customer Reviews

After 6 months...OMG this hurts - Christine M

Purchased an iComfort-Applause II King mattress and split box spring. It was ok for the first 6 months, then support degrades after that. I suffer from back pain so the i-Comfort Hybrid series in firm (Fundamental model) seemed like an ideal replacement for my 10-year-old inner spring Sealy mattress. Eventually you'll sink into a hole as the memory foam upper doesn't hold up. My partner and I now have a 'hill' down the middle of the mattress that limits your sleeping space to your own body cavity hole. I had Raymour & Flanigan's inspector come out used their measuring tools to come to the conclusion that the bed is not defective and is within the warranty allowances. Yet I continue to sleep in my confined hole and am now considering taking this POS to the dump and eating a good amount of money. I've filed a BBB complaint and Consumer Affairs report. Raymour & Flanigan is no help whatsoever! I do NOT recommend either R&F nor Serta. Very bad service. The inspection process was such a waste of time. I spent $1,650 on this set and it's barely a year old. Don't fall for the 100-day satisfaction sleep guarantee because 100 days is not nearly enough time to give a true assessment. I'll never buy another Serta Mattress since they obviously don't care to stand behind their claims that i-Comfort Series is 'revolutionary' and is worth the good money I paid for it. Don't fall for the Consumer Reports review that gave it a shining review. This experience has shown me that CR is no longer a good source for researching products before I purchase.

View More Reviews

Browse Idle Customer Reviews

Solid - Tessa

I spent a little more time looking for a bed that would support myself and my boyfriend who is a little bigger. I didn't want to pay a lot of money but I did need something that would last and support both of us. It has been a comfortable bed and is as strong as an ox.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Level

Awara

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.