Hypnos vs Urban

Get The Best February 2020 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Hypnos

Hypnos beds are a British brand that export their mattresses to the United States and globally. They specialize in luxury pocketspring mattresses with natural and sustainable bedding, including wool, cotton, and other fabrics. Additionally, they have a Royal Warrant, which is an official recognition of excellence in bedding. If you are looking for a regal experience, this brand has you covered. But with all of that royal flair, these beds come with an exorbitant price tag.

Urban

Urban Mattress is both a retailer and a brand of mattress. They were founded in Boulder, CO in 2008 with only one store and have grown to 14 stores in over 12 cities across the US. Their retail operation carries other mattress brands such as Vispring (the luxury British bedding brand) and Tempur-pedic, along with their own brand Urban Mattress and Urban Naturals. They are also active in social responsibility, donating to local charities in each of their locations. They have a budget line of Urban Mattress bedding focusing on both memory foam and hybrid bedding with a mid-price point to fit any budget.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend both Hypnos and Urban in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Hypnos: 8.8/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Hypnos: 8.7/10
Urban: 8.8/10

Price Value:
Hypnos: 8.4/10
Urban: 8.8/10

No Back Pain:
Hypnos: 8.5/10
Urban: 8.9/10

Price:
Hypnos: $2399-12999
Urban: $299-$4299

Hypnos:
Get Yours Now

Urban:
Get Yours Now

Hypnos's Owner Satisfaction

It isn't always easy to figure out customer satisfaction with companies doing lots of work cleaning their online reputations. That said, overall, these mattresses are reviewed well by sleepers. But, there were some sleepers that disagreed with the feel. so look below to see if the mattress specifications will work for your body type!

Hypnos's Supportiveness

Being supportive is extremely important to how customers feel on their mattress and whether it is beneficial for the back and spine. Most folks find these mattresses supporting them well while they sleep. So, you can rest easy that these mattresses will support your back while you sleep.

Edge Support
Reviewers describe these mattresses as having good edge support. This means that you can sit on the edge of the bed or roll to the side and the mattress will give you additional surface area to sleep on.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is popular for measuring firmness. Customers report that these mattresses offer a good consistent surface, which is is a good selling point of this brand.

Hypnos's Durability

Based on the materials that are in the mattress, the average durable mattress will stay comfortable for at least 7 - 12 years. Foam mattresses are generally not as durable, while mattresses with springs last longer if they are well made. However, unprepared mattresses will break down much faster no matter the materials used, especially for larger customers. Reviewers give these mattresses mixed ratings. Some describe good comfort, but others have had issues with lasting support.

Urban's Owner Satisfaction

Most sleepers are satisfied with their mattresses overall. There are solid scores overall from sleepers, but some with differing experiences. Some sleepers didn't enjoy the feel of their mattress. Learn more about the specifics of these mattresses below!

Urban's Supportiveness

A supportive mattress is the key for a healthy night. You don't want a mattress that hurts you at night. Reviewers describe these mattresses as well supportive.

Edge Support
Edge support is always important to those that want to lay close to the edge of the mattress, desire sitting on the edge, or have mobility issues. These mattresses are competitive with their edge support and don't have much support degradation along the edges.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Popular among customers, the bowling ball test does a good job showing firmness and contouring, but also evenness of support. If a mattress isn't evenly responsive, some may find the mattress uncomfortable. Luckily, these mattresses offer good support and don't have many problems here.

Urban's Durability

One of the most important items for shoppers buying a new mattress is durability. Getting 7 to 12 years of use out of a mattress and still being comfortable at night is a nice show of durability. That said, some factors that affect durability are sleeper size and material quality. These mattresses impress reviewers with their durability. However, some folks that have heavier bodies may find a slight decrease in longevity.

Browse Hypnos Customer Reviews

Good but not what I expected

I decided to buy one of these after a friend of mine from bridge club told me about how wonderful they are. I was impressed by their connection to the Royal family. Unfortunately, the bed hasn't been what I expected. I wake up with back pain and think it is because of that bed -- way too firm.

View More Reviews

Browse Urban Customer Reviews

Bought it in Aurora, CO

Liked what I felt in the store, but it feels a little less magical at home. However, I can't complain much because it still really beats my old crappy Serta.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.