Hypnos vs Stearns And Foster

Get The Best March 2019 Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Hypnos

Hypnos beds are a British brand that export their mattresses to the United States and globally. They specialize in luxury pocketspring mattresses with natural and sustainable bedding, including wool, cotton, and other fabrics. Additionally, they have a Royal Warrant, which is an official recognition of excellence in bedding. If you are looking for a regal experience, this brand has you covered. But with all of that royal flair, these beds come with an exorbitant price tag.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for a while -- and by a while, we are talking over 150 years. It is a luxury name brand mattress and part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur Sealy, of which Tempur-pedic and Sealy Posturpedic are also members. Because of the business efficiencies gained in all of those years selling mattresses, there is some serious branding behind them. But what do the consumers think?

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Hypnos in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Hypnos: 8.8/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Hypnos: 8.7/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Hypnos: 8.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Hypnos: 8.5/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Hypnos: $2399-12999
Stearns And Foster: $1199-$10799

Hypnos:
Get Yours Now

Stearns And Foster:
Get Yours Now

Hypnos's Owner Satisfaction

Most sleepers give these mattresses good marks for satisfaction. There are solid scores overall from sleepers, but some with differing experiences. Some sleepers didn't appreciate the feel in regards to their body. Learn more about the specifics of these mattresses below!

Hypnos's Supportiveness

These mattresses do well overall in the industry when it comes to support. Their materials do a solid job at aligning the spine and help most folks get comfortable. Customers describe these mattresses as offering solid support on the surface layers and and don't talk about issues with initial sags.

Edge Support
Edge support is important for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress and desire even support throughout. Reviewers report that these mattresses offer solid edge support for sleepers.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Resting a bowling ball on the mattress is a good way to measure support and firmness. These mattresses are good at being supportive evenly thoughout the mattress.

Hypnos's Durability

Durable mattresses last anywhere between 7 - 12 years based on the materials. Foam mattresses are generally less durable, while coil mattresses that are high quality should last longer. That being said, mattresses that don't put emphasis on durability will start breaking down much faster independent of materials used. Reviewers give these mattresses mixed ratings. Some feel they've found lasting good sleep, while others have problems.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about buying one of these mattresses, read more below for added specifics. They, sadly, get some low reviews from customers. Some folks were cozy in their new mattress, but others reported trouble getting comfortable.

Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

Having a supportive mattress is important for a night's sleep. Most like the feel of this mattress for the first few months, but there are some complaints about supportiveness over the long term. This is one reason to really do your research to make sure that these mattresses will fit your body type.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important attribute in hunting down a mattress that is comfortable no matter where you relax on it. Most experience these mattresses as having fine edge support, but some experience more contouring than they would like.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In bowling ball tests that show the density of the mattresses, there is initial support throughout the mattress is fairly even for most sleepers. However, there are some that reference degrading support over time.

Stearns And Foster's Durability

These mattresses may not provide the kind of durability that you'd hope. Some sleepers describe issues with durability and comfort over a shorter than average timeline. If you are have a larger body type and are looking for something with lasting support, one of these mattresses may provide initial comfort, but take a look at the reviews before buying.

Browse Hypnos Customer Reviews

Good but not what I expected

I decided to buy one of these after a friend of mine from bridge club told me about how wonderful they are. I was impressed by their connection to the Royal family. Unfortunately, the bed hasn't been what I expected. I wake up with back pain and think it is because of that bed -- way too firm.

View More Reviews

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC

I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Level

Nectar

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.