Hypnos vs Southerland

Get The Best March 2020 Online Mattress Deals! Unlock The Coupons

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Hypnos

Hypnos beds are a British brand that export their mattresses to the United States and globally. They specialize in luxury pocketspring mattresses with natural and sustainable bedding, including wool, cotton, and other fabrics. Additionally, they have a Royal Warrant, which is an official recognition of excellence in bedding. If you are looking for a regal experience, this brand has you covered. But with all of that royal flair, these beds come with an exorbitant price tag.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. With both memory foam and pocketed coil options, most customers like their mattresses at first, but some customers experienced issues with durability.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Hypnos in this match up!


See Our Top Mattress Choices

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Hypnos: 8.8/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Hypnos: 8.7/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Hypnos: 8.4/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Hypnos: 8.5/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Hypnos: $2399-12999
Southerland: $399-2399

Hypnos:
Get Yours Now

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Hypnos's Owner Satisfaction

These mattresses are highly rated by customers overall and most feel very comfortable. Some customers, though, didn't feel as positively. If you are considering buying one of these mattresses, make sure to learn more below.

Hypnos's Supportiveness

Mattress support is one of the most important attributes for just about everyone. Whether you are looking for a firm mattress or a softer variety, a bed that helps with spine health is vastly important. Most reviewers report that these mattresses help provide that kind of support.

Edge Support
Edge support is one of the most important things to sleepers -- must don't know until they lose it. These mattresses are reported to do well with edge support, which means that sleepers report feeling consistency in support near the sides of the bed.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is a great way to measure mattress firmness and it does well measuring the surface layers for even support. Customers and reviewers report that these mattresses offer good support across the mattress.

Hypnos's Durability

Mattresses may not last as long as they used to. Finding a bed that lasts over 15 years is definitely not easy these days. Yet, finding a mattress that really remains comfortable that long can save you lots of money. Unfortunately, sleepers have mixed thoughts about these mattresses. Many folks report no problems with durability, but others have comfort longevity issues on a faster time frame than is usual.

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

Customers don't always feel good about these mattresses. Some customers were happy with the way their new mattresse made them feel, but others reported being uncomfortable. Although one of these may work great for you, because of the responses it is more difficult to estimate. Read on below to learn more and to hear from customers to see if one will work for you.

Southerland's Supportiveness

These mattresses aren't the best in terms of support. Though there are some that prefer the feel of these mattresses, others have had issues with spine alignment. If this brand is on your short list, make sure to read more about it before purchasing.

Edge Support
Edge support is definitely an important indicator to those with mobility concerns. Other customers don't find it to be a major sticking point for them. Some folks feel strongly about support issues so make sure to do added reading if edge support is an important item for you.

Southerland's Durability

These mattresses may not perform as well long term. Some reviewers have had complaints regarding durability and comfort over a short horizon. If you have a larger body frame and are hoping for something with longevity, these mattresses may comfort you initially, but do a last check on the mattress specifications and return policies before purchasing.

Browse Hypnos Customer Reviews

Good but not what I expected

I decided to buy one of these after a friend of mine from bridge club told me about how wonderful they are. I was impressed by their connection to the Royal family. Unfortunately, the bed hasn't been what I expected. I wake up with back pain and think it is because of that bed -- way too firm.

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Level

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.