Get an Instant Discount for Helix Up To $350 Off + 2 Free Pillows

Helix vs. Zinus

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Helix

Helix is one of the most innovative companies in the mattress-in-a-box movement. As a leader during the industry disruption in the late 2010s, they were one of the first to offer customized mattresses with tailored firmnesses based on body type. Over the years, they developed 6 comfort designs to choose from (and thicker, Luxe versions). On top of that, their recent merger with Brooklyn Bedding means their mattresses are now made in Arizona. Whether you want to select for yourself or use their sleep quiz, Helix really puts a focus on delivering a quality mattress for every type of sleeper.

Zinus

Zinus has been in the furniture game since 1979, selling extremely affordable furniture. When it comes to their mattresses, they put a focus on trend-setting comfort materials like green tea infused memory foam and other bio-foams. They make three different mattress lines -- iCoil® hybrid, traditional spring, and memory foam (including their popular Green Tea Memory Foam mattresses). All of these are extremely low-cost, which can be a big draw with customers, though there have been some recent disagreements about degrading comfort.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Helix in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Helix

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Helix: 9.4/10
Zinus: 7.8/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Helix: 9.4/10
Zinus: 7.6/10

Price Value:
Helix: 9.4/10
Zinus: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Helix: 9.4/10
Zinus: 6.5/10

Price:
Helix: $799-$2499
Zinus: $100-$1099

Helix:
Up To $350 Off + 2 Free Pillows

Zinus:
Get Yours Now

Helix's Owner Satisfaction

Online reviews are a great resource to discovering if a product will work for you. Overall, these mattresses have high ratings from customers, but there are some that didn't feel as good with the mattresses. Look over the reviews and the mattress specifics below to see if these mattresses will work for your body.

Helix's Supportiveness

Reviewers describe these mattresses as being supportive overall. Though these mattresses aren't as supportive as a select few folks would like, most customers describe these mattresses as having the right amount of support.

Edge Support
Edge support is really important for folks that spend a few minutes sitting on the side of the mattress or like to lay down on the edge of the mattress. These mattresses are well rated by most on edge support and they should fit the needs of most folks.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
The bowling ball test is a nice way to measure mattress firmness and support. These mattresses are above average at providing even support, which means they should do well comfortably responding to your body.

Helix's Durability

Customers are always on the lookout for highly durable mattresses. But with companies focusing less on building quality products and more on shipping product, it can be a hard thing to find a mattress that will last. That said, these mattresses are rated highly for durability. They should last over 7 years for the average sleeper. Those that use their mattress more than nightly or are heavier than average may find their mattress is slightly less durable.

Get an Instant Discount for Helix:   Up To $350 Off + 2 Free Pillows

Zinus's Owner Satisfaction

If you are thinking about this one, do more research below to learn if this mattress will work for you. Unfortunately, they get poor ratings from some customers. Some customers were elated by their selection, but others felt let-down overall.

Zinus's Supportiveness

Being supportive is extremely important to how customers feel on their mattress and whether it is beneficial for the back and spine. According to most reviewers and customers, these mattresses are good at supporting sleepers. This means that you can sleep easy with these mattresses supporting you.

Edge Support
Reviewers describe these mattresses as having good edge support. This means that the sides of the mattress will be comfortable for most folks and the mattress will give you additional surface area to sleep on.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Dropping a bowling ball on your mattress is a helpful way of testing support. Without many complaints or issues, these mattresses have a consistent surface, which is great for customers that are concerned about support.

Zinus's Durability

Customers gives these mattresses mixed reviews on lasting comfort. We're all after mattresses that feel just as great now as they did 10+ years ago, but sadly, not all mattresses are built for lasting comfort. If you are considering a mattress that isn't an A+ on durability, make sure to take an extra look at the policies on return to make sure you are protected.

Check the Prices For Zinus:   Get Today's Prices

Browse Helix Customer Reviews

Better than before - Eric S.

My helix isn't perfect but it's a whole lot better than what I was sleeping on before. After a couple months I've noticed a little sagging on the side I typically sleep but overall I love my mattress, sound investment.

View More Reviews

Browse Zinus Customer Reviews

Very cozy!

I've been sleeping on this for about 2 weeks now, and I'm kicking myself for not buying sooner! Very cozy.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Brooklyn Bedding

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.