Helix vs Yogabed

Get an Instant Discount for Helix Up To $125 Off Mattresses

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Helix

Helix is one of the most innovative companies in the mattress-in-a-box movement. Over the last 3 years, they have been offering fully customized mattresses to customers with their high-tech sleep quiz. Being one of the first to provide dual sided firmness options, they also have made it even simpler for customers to select the right mattress (even if they don't want to use the sleep quiz). With 6 comfort designs to choose from, Helix has really focused on delivering to every type of sleeper.

Yogabed

Yogabed is a relative newcomer to the factory-direct mattress category. Their Yogabed Classic mattress is made with a proprietary blend of foam that reacts faster and sleeps cooler than traditional memory foam. They also use the addition of gel-infused foam to whisk away heat through the middle layer of the mattress as well. If you are looking for a medium firmness option, take a look deeper into what Yogabed has to offer.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Helix in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Helix

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Helix: 9.4/10
Yogabed: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Helix: 9.3/10
Yogabed: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Helix: 9.4/10
Yogabed: 7.2/10

No Back Pain:
Helix: 9.3/10
Yogabed: 6.2/10

Price:
Helix: $600-$1245
Yogabed: $649-$1049

Helix:
Up To $125 Off Mattresses

Yogabed:
Get Yours Now

Helix's Owner Satisfaction

Customer sentiment is a quick way to find out if a company is as good as they say they are. Overall, these mattresses are regarded highly by customers, but there are some that didn't feel as positively. Research more below to see if one of these mattresses will work with your body type.

Helix's Supportiveness

These mattresses are more supportive than most, which means they cradle the body to align the spine for most sleepers. That said, there are a few negative reviews from customers, so be sure that your pick aligns with your sleeping position and body type.

Edge Support
Overall, most sleepers report that these mattresses have good edge support, which means most don't experience a noticeable depression when rolling towards the side of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In tests that measure to see if a mattress has even support throughout the mattress, the support is even across the surface. That said, some have had issues with support over the long term, so make sure it speaks to you before buying.

Helix's Durability

It's always difficult to find products that last over 10 years. Brands, for the most part, rather make recurring money than craft something that can never break. That said, there are still amazing companies to be found. These mattresses, for example, get high marks from customers on quality and durability. Most will find them last 7 - 12 years, though those who are of heavier builds may experience them faltering sooner.

Get an Instant Discount for Helix:   Up To $125 Off Mattresses

Yogabed's Owner Satisfaction

Understanding customer feedback can be a great relief when spending hours searching for the right product. Customers, sadly, don't always have positive remarks about these mattresses. Some report being comfy, but there are some who have had bad experiences. If you are contemplating ordering, see below for more specifics that may be helpful.

Yogabed's Supportiveness

In terms of support, these mattresses have had some mixed reviews. Some folks have described them as supportive and report sleeping soundly throughout the night, but others had problems getting comfortable. If you have a wider or heavier frame than average, you should do added research to make sure you find a match for you.

Edge Support
Edge support is an essential item for those that like to lay close the edge of their mattress without dipping or rolling off. Some may not find these mattresses to be evenly supportive along the sides and may dip more than usual.

Yogabed's Durability

Sleepers note that durability is one of the most important factors to them. We all wish our mattress will last a decade or more and still provide us with cozy comfort. Sadly, not all sleepers agree that these mattresses are durable, and some have had issues with longevity after a short time. If you are thinking about using this mattress nightly, read the reviews to make sure that it will match your body type before buying.

Browse Helix Customer Reviews

Better than before - Eric S.

My helix isn't perfect but it's a whole lot better than what I was sleeping on before. After a couple months I've noticed a little sagging on the side I typically sleep but overall I love my mattress, sound investment.

View More Reviews

Browse Yogabed Customer Reviews

looks nice from the outside.

I order the yogabed through their website, which was a breeze and the customer service was excellent. The bed, not so great. Upon unpacking, I notice a VERY strong chemical odor, which is from the foam off-gassing VOC's (volatile organic compounds) It took much longer than 3 days to dissipate, more like one week, which is much longer than anyone should have to inhale such a scent. Initially, the bed felt amazing, the cover is soft and stretchy (probably the best part of the whole mattress) and the top layer felt very nice. Sleeping on it was a different story though. After a few weeks the foam begins to soften as you "break-in" the bed. The parts where me and my partner slept, began to feel softer than the middle of the bed (and we're only 150 lbs). As a stomach and side-sleeper this was not ideal as I began to wake up with lower back pain. So we returned the bed. This seems to be a common problem with many foam beds in this price range. There are other beds on amazon that use similar materials and are a fraction of the cost (dreamfoam, brentwood homes etc). As for me and my partner, we opted for a bed that uses latex (natural, non-toxic, more durable than memory foam and doesn't smell) and a higher density base/core foam (more than 1.8 lbs) which seems to be holding up better. Do your research on foam beds and the quality of their materials. I would not recommend this bed to people who weigh over 180lbs or who have a sensitivity to chemical odors.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.