Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get an Instant Discount for Helix
Up To 30% Off + 2 Free Pillows

Helix vs. Tempurpedic

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Helix

Helix is one of the most innovative companies in the mattress-in-a-box space and was one of the first brands to offer a wide selection of tailored firmnesses based on body type. Over the years, they've expanded beyond their original 6 comfort designs to also offer a thicker, more supportive collection of Luxe mattresses and a high-end, ultra-luxurious Elite collection. With high ratings for comfort across their offerings and a powerful sleep quiz to help you choose the right match, Helix really puts a focus on delivering quality mattresses for every type of sleeper.

Tempurpedic

Tempur-Pedic is the memory foam mattress pioneer with a reputation for starting the memory foam mattress movement. It is a popular name brand mattress and part of the mattress powerhouse, Tempur-Sealy along with other name brands like Stearns and Foster. With a suite of offerings to fit nearly every sleeper (including a new mattress in a box) and exclusive online deals, there is a lot to be said for this popular brand.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Helix in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Helix

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Helix: 9.6/10
Tempurpedic: 9.0/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Helix: 9.6/10
Tempurpedic: 8.9/10

Price Value:
Helix: 9.4/10
Tempurpedic: 8.5/10

No Back Pain:
Helix: 9.7/10
Tempurpedic: 9/10

Price:
Helix: $936-$4498
Tempurpedic: $1699-$10198

Helix:
Up To 30% Off + 2 Free Pillows

Tempurpedic:
Get Up To $500 Off


Helix's Owner Satisfaction

Most customers reviewed these mattresses highly and felt comfortable in their beds. There were, however, a few that didn't have as great feedback. If you are considering one of these mattresses, make sure to do some more research below to make sure it will work for your body.


Helix's Supportiveness

Support is important for aligning the spine and keeping things comfortable for years. Most sleepers describe these mattresses as having solid support, but rarely some reviewers have complained about firmness and support.

Edge Support
Edge support is an important factor for customers shopping for mattresses and for those that sleep close to the side of their mattress. These mattresses are well regarded for edge support, but some heavier folks may find there is a slight dip along the side.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Measuring mattress firmness with a bowling ball is a great way to undertand even support. These mattresses provide good support overall, but there are some reports that mention alignment problems over the long term


Helix's Durability

One of the biggest factors to buying a mattress today is durability. Being able to get up to a decade of use out of a mattress and still be comfortable is a good mark of durability. That said, mattress craftsmanship and sleeper body weight can affect durability as well. These mattresses do a great job with durability overall. However, some folks that have heavier bodies may find a slight decrease in longevity.

Tempurpedic's Owner Satisfaction

Reading customer reviews is a great way to create a pinpointed list of mattresses. Customers report being very satisfied with these mattresses, but some weren't as pleased. The below has more information on the mattress and a selection of reviews -- read on to make sure one of these works for you!


Tempurpedic's Supportiveness

These mattresses do well when it comes to support. Though these mattresses aren't as supportive as a select few folks would like, the majority of customers like the level of support these mattresses have.

Edge Support
Edge support is really important for people that spend time sitting on the side of the mattress or like to put weight on the side of the mattress. These mattresses do well on their edge support and they should support most customers comfortably.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Many folks like to use bowling balls to measure mattress firmness and support. These mattresses do a good job with delivering even support throughout the mattress, which means they should cradle your hips and shoulders while aligning the spine.


Tempurpedic's Durability

Longevity in comfort is essential for mattress shoppers. However, with brands fighting over profits, it isn't always a clear story for customers. That said, with customer feedback data and material specifications, these mattresses are rated well for durability and should give sleepers over 5 years of comfort for most. But, some who are heavier in build may find that their mattress degrades somewhat sooner.

Browse Helix Customer Reviews

Better than before
My helix isn't perfect but it's a whole lot better than what I was sleeping on before. After a couple months I've noticed a little sagging on the side I typically sleep but overall I love my mattress, sound investment.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Mattress Review
The mattress is fine, it's pretty hard so we had to put another foam mattress on top. Also, I move alot when I sleep and my husband can still feel my movement. I am not sure this mattress was worth the price, but it's ok I guess. I probably wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

this is a real review, we purchased our bed 4/16
we just spent a week in another "custom" bed and was so happy to be back in our HELIX bed. These new beds are so dang hot, I hate it. BUT not our HELIX. Happy mamma to be back in her cool bed. Thank you.

this is a real review, we purchased our bed 4/16
we just spent a week in another "custom" bed and was so happy to be back in our HELIX bed. These new beds are so dang hot, I hate it. BUT not our HELIX. Happy mamma to be back in her cool bed. Thank you.

Great Bed
I was completely unsure if I should try this new bed in a box thing. I took advantage of a sale and had it in a couple of days. I set it up in the morning, hoping any off-gassing would be done by bedtime, to my surprise, there was none. The bed was/is super comfortable, I'm glad I took the chance. My only complaint would be I had to figure out how to dispose of my old mattress. Highly recommend!!!

A great night's sleep
We are on our second full month of sleeping on this amazing mattress. No issues of being too hot. Very comfortable.

Best sleep ever
Oh my gosh, we LOVE our new Helix mattresses! We bought another brand about 10 years ago, and hated it after only a few months. This time, we did our research more carefully, and also made the decision to go with two XL twins pushed together, instead of a king. That way, I could get my mattress my way, and he could have his softer. We have slept better than we have in years! Plus no sagging in the middle ... easier to move ... no movement when one of us gets up in the night ... I only wish there were some kind of special headboard so we could slide them apart more easily when we change the sheets. I know I'm gushing, but I can't believe what a difference having a good mattress makes. Kind of fun to unpack, too. ;-)

Best night sleep ever.
Comfort galore, buy one and you will be sleeping on a cloud.

Life changing
This bed is no joke. We actually had similar styles and got a blended bed. We have never slept better. A bed made for your weight, height, and position...how could it be better?

Great bed for a great price
We purchased a Helix a few months ago and so far we love it it's comfortable and doesn't sleep hot. We also go the pillows that are cool to the touch which helps me fall asleep quicker

Too stiff. Bith m8ne and my wife's shoulders hurt after sleeping on this bed.
We ordered the soft and it was too stiff.

This mattress didn't end up
This mattress didn't end up being the one for us however I thought it was important to say how easy the experience was. I anticipated some push back when I started the return process. The Helix rep was very professional and the return process was easy and seamless. You can buy this mattress worry free. I would recommend anyone looking for a new mattress to give Helix a try.

Falling asleep sooner
First few days took some adjusting but after that I was fast asleep in minutes

Wonderful Mattress
This mattress is a dream come true. I can sleep on my back and sides without pain. Although it was a little stiff at first, Helix sent me a topper for it which changed everything. If you like the soft layer of a topper, choose a softer option when building your bed and you won't need the topper :-). If you are not convinced, try it. It's worth the 100 day trial!

Stay Tuned
Arrived damaged. lots of back and forth as to either send back or donate. The donation process is complicated and now the time is expired for that. Not the best experience and I now have a damaged product.

Great New Bed
We have a vacation home by the sea, so lots of summer family visitors, everybody has uniformly loved it, we love the fact that it's square till the edge with none of the usual round off that make you feel like your falling out of bed when your near the edge.

Comfy
Soft and comfy upper layer with supportive mid-layer. I've slept like a baby every night.

Pretty close
The Helix mattress arrived as promised. I was able to inbox it myself in a small room, but recommend 2 people. Comfort-wise, the mattress has been too soft. Th reason for this, I believe, is the only flaw in your order system. I was not allowed to adjust the results of my sleep quiz on your site. I almost did not order because of this. This mattress is better than the Nectar I tried, but the your software' results of my quiz are not necessarily accurate.

Good for me but not as good for my wife
Great ordering experience. Shipped wuickly and arrived on time. The survey did a better job of matching to my preferences than my wifes. Great feel and support. Edge support is a little lacking, but otherwise i am happy with the results. Def feels better for back sleeping as it feels fully supported. Not quite as good for side sleeping for me but I have wide shoulders and have had a hard time finding a mattress that can do the trick.

First 60 days
Everything is going good. Sleep really well and it has good suppprt. I would probably go a little firmer next time around. The real test will be a year from now to know if it is building grooves.

Ugh not so much
Wish it was better. Price point is right. Advertised as firm but closer to soft medium. Nice that it was delivered. Not cool at all- despite how it was advertised. Not a stomach sleeper bed, only good night sleeps I get are on my back. You pay for what you get.

Best Matress Ever
After sleeping an a multitude of different mattresses throughout my teens with moving houses and eventually starting college. I can safely say that this mattress has made my sleep an absolute pleasure. To really know that this mattress is for me in all aspects really adds to the value it gives me and for a cost that is much less than other very high end mattresses. Couldn't be happier and hopefully I won't need to change in the near future.

They made it right
I ordered my mattress too firm but they got me a 2' topper and I sleep wonderfully.

Best purchase ever!
My husband and I couldn't be happier with our purchase! It's hard to get out of bed in the morning because we are so comfortable!!

We are so enjoying our
We are so enjoying our new mattress and foundation! No more aches in our hips and backs. Restful sleep has returned, thanks!

Hope it breaks in
The mattress is too firm for me, not enough sink. It was supposed to be medium soft with lots of sink.

Just okay....
I was really excited to get the new Helix pillow with extra cooling. I sleep hot and I thought it would be awesome!!! Love the mattress so I had high hopes. The pillow itself is comfy, and it's neat to be able to add or remove filling so easily, but the extra cooling is non-existent. I even tried different pillowcases - a low thread count is what they recommended, also tried a bamboo one that was supposed to have extra air flow. Also tried no cover at all (but since you can't wash the pillow, I didn't really want to do that) but it didn't help. I'm still debating sending it back.

Beats Casper hands down
I tried the Casper for 90 days and I just couldn't get used to it. Way too firm for me. Replaced it with a Helix and I couldn't be happier! It is the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on. I can now sleep on my side as comfortably as on my back. The only downside is that it is much harder to get out of bed in the morning.... seriously.

Best bed ever!
Once I got this bed I finally woke up with no pain what so ever. It definitely takes some getting use to but I highly recommend.

My helix mattress
Since we purchased our helix mattress I've had the most restful sleep that I've had in years. We had purchased several other mattresses and with in a short time were very disappointed! Not with our helix! My wife no longer has back pain every morning and neither do I . We awake feeling rested and ready to start our day!

wonderful sleep!
We have had our Helix blended mattress for 7 days. How refreshing to wake up without any back pain or aching muscles. The turnaround time from order to deliver was so fast! I'm so glad we ordered it.

Siz3
I love the bed. Best sleep I have have in so many years. But when I ordered I originally looked at a king and wanted to order a cali king. But some how when I placed the order it was the original one that got pushed through so I got a king. Other than that mix up I am very happy with it.

Back pain gone
Had pain with last bed switched to this one my back feels great now I have had it for 8 months and it's great

Great mattress.... once you add a feather mattress topper
We needed to replace our 12-year-old mattress and decided to try the online experience. After some research, concluded that Helix was the right company. Totally liked the sleep survey to customize the mattress. Was really fun to unbox and watch it "come to life". The first night was awful. Then it got a little better but felt like sleeping on a board. So I decided that instead of throwing in the towel (because support is good for you), we'd explore other options. Went on Amazon and bought a down alternative feather bed topper for like $100. Made all the difference in the world. Now we have a good solid mattress AND a great pillow top.

Perfectly delightful mattress
Arrived quickly. Set up was a 5 minute process with most of that time getting the mattress out of the box. Fully relaxed into it's full loft by the end of the day. About two days with no sheets before I noticed the scent had disappeared. Was replacement for guest room but I've napped on it a few times and thought its was perfectly comfortable.

I can now sleep through the night!!
Before we got this mattress, I was waking up 10-15 times most nights, and we had a memory foam mattress (although it was used and we didn't know the age). I also had a lot of trouble with severe temperature changes at night, which would keep me up. With the helix mattress, except for a bathroom trip, I often will sleep through the night!!! I cannot believe it. Truly.

Dr
Pretty good. Hot at first but seems to have improved

Not what we hoped for
We gave the bed nearly 100 days before deciding it was not the mattress for us. How dors one really know what configuration is right for them! The one thong we got right was the sleep cool feature. The bed seemed way to firm and yet seemed to cause hammocking. We tried several layering options on top of the bed with some success. Thank you Helix for always answering my questions, your customer support was much appreciated.

Bliss
How to describe? Not like sleeping on a cloud, because clouds look lumpy. How can a mattress feel both firm and cushy? Don't know--but it is. My dog likes it, too.

Recently unwrapped
I just got it out of the wrapping last week so I'm sure my body just needs some time to adjust or whatever. I've heard nothing but positive reviews.

Browse Tempurpedic Customer Reviews

Heaven
Because my back is full of rods nuts and bolts, finding the right mattress wasn't looking like it was possible until I tried my Tempur-Pedic breeze. When your in pain, you tend to feel hot. Not only is this bed comfortable, I can always find that cool spot that helps with the pain. I had another adjustable bed, it was great, but after 15 years, it was time to replace it. I used to have to sleep with a pillow under my knees, no more. Whatever Tempur-Pedic has done, they've done it right. I'm grateful, I'm sleeping and wake up rested. Thank you

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Most comfortable and cool of the tempur-pedic
We previous had the Tempur-pedic rhapsody which we loved but. The new temper breeze is firmer and much cooler than the old version. We absolutely love it! No more back pain!

Disappointing
We are very disappointed with the comfort of our new bed. I believe that our old mattress was more comfortable.

Never will own anything else
We were hooked on tempur pedic from the first time!! Worth every penny, no other mattress will be in our home!!❤❤❤

JURY IS STILL OUT
While the bed definitely has helped with significantly reducing pain from my long standing back issues, it sleeps quite hot despite the fact I am using a Tempur Pedic mattress cover and sheets. It has also resulted in some shoulder and neck pain. I will give it a few more weeks.

Best Purchase ever !
I has owned a memory Foam temperpedic for 12 years This new Breeze Firm mattress compares to NONE ! I've ever tried ! It's not too firm it moves with you It's most comfortable mattress I have ever tried , and in almost month since purchase I have Better sleep , cooling affect has been excellent! Never feeling too warm ! The Firm is exactly what I needed and wanted ! Perfect Fit ! I also bought the cooling pillow ! It's remarkable ! I am so happy I splurged on myself and got both of these .. no more dips from the old mattress ! No more hot , mattress or pillow ! I have severe lumbar stenosis and My back has Actually stopped burning &aching ! I couldn't be more comfortable!

Comfortable from day 1
This is by far the best mattress I have ever slept on. No getting used to. It was comfortable from day one. I slept like a baby, something I have not experienced in a long time. The Pro-Breeze medium hybrid was the perfect choice for me. I have degenerative joint disease and recently had TKR surgery. I should have gotten one of these a long time ago. I highly recommend this mattress. I am also very happy with the service I received from mattress specialist Philip at the Carle Place NY store. He was very knowledgeable, patient and professional. Great shopping experience. Thanks Philip!

Wonderful mattress
We have had the queen size tempur-breeze pro hybrid for about 1 month and are very pleased with it. My wife was waking up with back pain and me with hip pain from our 15 year old firm inner spring mattress. The temple-breeze memory foam adjusts perfectly to our bodies. We are both side sleepers. We did not need a break in period and there was no odor, as others have complained about. The cooling aspect of the mattress is very unique from other memory foam mattresses and really does seem to draw the heat away from you body and keep the temperature cool. I do recommend if at all possible to buy from a tempurpedic store. The sales people are very knowledgeable and will recommend the best mattress for your sleeping position. They also have a much bigger selection to try out than other stores. When we purchased there was a President's Day sale and we saved $500 plus got a $300 credit we used against the cost of pillows and a mattress cover. The mattress was still expensive but when you consider how long you use one it is well worth the cost. I now look forward to a good night's sleep.

Awesome mattress and sheets
Love this mattress, we sleep much better and the sheets are a wonderful feet and soft like silk.

better sleep
our first tempur-pedic lasted for 17 yrs, great bed, made a mistake and went with a number bed on the next one. my wife and I hated if for 4 long yrs. now we have went back to a tempur-pedic and we love going to bed everyday now. lesson learned tempur-pedics' from now on.

Get LuxeBreeze not ProBreeze
ProBreeze was too hot aftt ty we about 1 hour. Exchanged it for LuxeBreeze 8•

Very Disappointed - Hot and uncomfortable
Wake up feeling like we slept on the floor. It's cool to the touch when you first lay down, but in the middle of the night it's hot just like all beds. Very disappointed that we spent twice as much for a regular mattress and it is so uncomfortable. Return policy is not customer friendly!

Awesome!
Went from a 7 yr old Serta I comfort to a tempur-pedic luxebreeze soft, and Wow what a difference, we absolutely love our bed. It has been so comfortable since day one.

Quality
A little hard getting used to, but am liking it better now and have been sleeping well. Think I'm going to like it.

My mattress is so comfortable
My mattress keeps me cooler just as instructed. The mattress is very comfortable

We love it!!!
We bought the bed when we moved to our new home, love it!!! My husband is able to sleep all night for the first time in months, and I love the feeling of the mattress meeting your body when you move!

Finally a bed that does what it promises!
Absolutely love my new mattress! We can move without pain or disturbing eachother, its completely silent. We sleep longer and awake refreshed. It truly has been a wonderful experience.

Comfort
This has been amazing from the start!!! Better nights rest equals better quality of life!!!

the most uncomfortable mattress Ive ever owned
I have had more back pain, cricks, and chiropractor visits since owning this mattress. Waste of money. You need support and this mattress does not do it. Take it from this doctor, this mattress is all hype.

Best night sleep ever
Simply the best night sleep I have ever had. I have not had such a deep sleep in such a long time. It truly is like sleeping on a cloud. I also got the the cloud pillow and no more stiff neck. The best investment. I got my queen size tempur breeze lux soft with adjustable frame October 2019 and have been sleeping better. Make the investment you will thank yourself many times over!! Do it now!

The cooling is amazing!
The mattress is unbelievably comfortable, but living in hot weather it is the cooling that has been a game changer for us. It has allowed us to get a much better night's sleep!

Hate this mattress
Hurts my shoulders. Nothing like the store sample, which was comfortable. Hate it!!!! Can't say "hate it" enough.

New purchase less than 3 days and It's okay
Bought for the cooling feature. Luxe Breeze soft- After applying the Tempur Mattress cover and a very thin sheet, the cooling is gone. I have slept for 2 days in this bed which is the most expensive mattress for a full king(no split) and I have woke up sweating throughout the night. I also have figured out that if the room is cool then there is no soft conforming of your body. You must have a warm room to make the mattress even barely soft. I purchased this because I am a hot sleeper and to take these night sweats away by at least 50%, so far I can't justify the money I've spent. I called the manufacturer and they advised that I must use a protector cover on the bed to protect my warranty but if I can't feel any cooler after applying the cover and a sheet then why should I keep this bed. I will update before the sleep trial to see if my thought has changed. The adjustable option is awesome, no so much so far on the mattress keeping me 8 degrees cooler.

Highly Satisfied
My wife and I knew that the Tempur-Pedic ProBreeze was the mattress that we were going to purchase from the moment that we laid on it. It's cool to the touch and provides comfortable support.

The best mattress I've ever owned
For the first few nights, I needed to adjust to the firmness, but now, I literally can't wait to get home from work, eat dinner, and get in that bed. The adjustable base makes it so comfortable to watch TV, and I've never slept better. Those little aches and pains that you wake up with are gone with this mattress. You may not even realize that you have these little pains, until you start sleeping on a TempurPedic. Within a week, you'll see a difference in how you feel in the morning. I love my bed. Thank you, TempurPedic!

Best bed ever. Like sleeping on a cloud
Firm, cool, perfect sleep regardless of the position. It's really a good night's rest

Finally found the perfect bed for me.
I'm 5' 11'' and 170lbs. This bed sleeps great on my stomach, back and side. I'm primarily a side sleeper and wake up much less and do not feel the need to toss and turn to relieve pressure points. I previously was trialing a 6k Intellibed that couldn't even come close to the support and pressure relief that this offers. Also, a little tip, I use a really low profile pillow on this because it allows my shoulders to get into the mattress more and align my spine better. My wife has the all foam version but I like the added support that the pocket coil system provides. I've watched and read so many different mattress reviews, and know more about mattresses than any regular person should. I can finally be done with that - this mattress is a keeper.

Best money we've ever spent!
For years my husband and I have both suffered from back pain and rarely are able to sleep through the night because of that pain. Since we got our new beds (we got two Twin XL's and separate adjustable bases), my husband, for the first time since I've known him, has slept LONGER than I have! He will sleep through my alarm and will sleep until after 7 am! For an army man and 1st shift worker, this is huge. We are both finally able to find comfort and sleep well. Additionally, we are both very warm sleepers and while it hasn't made a huge difference, this mattress is absolutely cooler than any other one we've ever owned. Every night since we've gotten our new beds, I've looked at him and said, "I LOVE THIS BED". I know the price can be intimidating, however, it is 100% worth it! If you are looking for comfort, Temper-Pedic is the way to go. Bite the bullet and spend the money. I promise, you will not regret it.

Best purchase
We were told it would take 120 days until it contoured to our bodies completely. It was a little strange the first few nights but it's been over a month now and I am starting to tell how much more better sleep I am getting, my body feels rested and not as sore, and I really love how much the bed doesn't shake my husband when I jump into bed! The only thing I do not care for is the protective cover for the mattress it came with. It feels like I am lying on paper. I finally took it off and it feels better without it. I also wish it came with king size pillows too.

Love it!!
This is our second Tempur-Pedic. Our first one lasted eight years, and they stood behind their full guarantee. We got another a Tempur-Pedic because we so enjoyed the first one. This one seems even better! Great company, great bed, and a good night of sleep!

Sleep
Love it. Sleep better from day 1.

Quality Sleep With Plush, Cool, Even Support
Purchasing a Tempur-Pedic mattress product was always in mind when a mattress replacement was due after my first experience on a Tempur-Pedic during a business conference hotel stay. We are extremely pleased with the cool, plush, even support of the LuxBreeze Soft mattress provides.

Not transformative for me
Although it is a little more comfortable than my previous mattress, I certainly do not find it a "transformative" or life-changing experience. I am two months into my 90 day trial and I am still considering returning it. I have wanted a Tempur-pedic bed for many years but could not afford it. so when I finally decided to take the plunge and spend the money, I was very excited to own one. However, in the end I am rather disappointed in the product.

Very comfortable
I love the adjustable head and foot sections.

Return Buyer.
We owned our first Tempur- Pedic bed for 15years. When it was time to get a new matters we recycled our old CA. King to a family in need. We then went out and bought a new XL Twin Split with adjustable base. This is a little slice of heaven after a long day. We can relax and unwind. The adjustable base is worth every penny. Some days I use it as a lounger just to relax. I'm not a huge fan of the message feature but the grand kids think it's cool.

A little bit of heaven!
I love this mattress. The comfort is out of this world. Well worth the price.

Great bed
We went from a soft bed to this I was like what did we do. We were like this thing is a brick. But after a few days it began to give for a great nights sleep. I am a big guy with 7 ruptured disc in my back and neck and usually toss and turn every 30 minutes at night and am now just turning 2 times a night and am sleeping great. I love the bed. Just give it a little while to break in.

Soft luxe breeze
First I purchased the firm option but found it way too firm woke up with body aches so I changed it to soft. What a difference ! I like a soft bed i upgraded from a icomfort savant medium . So glad I did

Probreeze bed and pillow
The bed is very comfortable and gives very good support. However, the pro breeze pillow is much too thick and was a total waste of money.

Our 5 year search is over.... Perfect Sleep is here!
For a little background, over the last 5 years, my wife and I have slept on virtually every high profile bed in a box out there. Casper, Purple, Helix, Yogabed, etc. We even bought an Intellibed. But we were unhappy with all of them. It's a bit embarrassing to admit, but we were sleeping on those because our previous Tempurpedic Rhapsody model began to break down after 7.5 years of loyal service. We left it at our old home which become a rental unit that was converted into a furnished rental. We thought we might try to replace it with a less expensive option like the ones listed above. Long story short, that was a terrible idea!!! We have been sleeping on our LUXEbreeze 8F cooler mattress for a month or two at this point and we both wonder what the heck is wrong with us that we didn't do this years ago! The Ergo adjustable base combined with our new mattress is just perfect. This is also the first time we've done the split King so we could each be in a different position and it was the perfect choice. She's 110lbs and I'm 200lbs so we have very different needs but this bed serves us both perfectly. I probably sound like a paid advertiser at this point, haha, but I assure you I am not. I'm simply a thoroughly satisfied customer who spent 7 years in the desert and rediscovered paradise, haha! It's certainly not the least expensive mattress out there, but it's undoubtedly the best.