Mattress Categories

Mattress Brands

Extras

Get an Instant Discount for Helix
Up To 30% Off + 2 Free Pillows

Helix vs. Stearns And Foster

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Helix

Helix is one of the most innovative companies in the mattress-in-a-box space and was one of the first brands to offer a wide selection of tailored firmnesses based on body type. Over the years, they've expanded beyond their original 6 comfort designs to also offer a thicker, more supportive collection of Luxe mattresses and a high-end, ultra-luxurious Elite collection. With high ratings for comfort across their offerings and a powerful sleep quiz to help you choose the right match, Helix really puts a focus on delivering quality mattresses for every type of sleeper.

Stearns And Foster

Stearns and Foster has been around for over 150 years with its last few decades being a part of the mattress conglomerate Tempur-Sealy along with brands like Tempur-Pedic and Sealy brands. With such a long legacy, they have become a recognizable name-brand known for luxury craftsmanship and high profile hybrid designs. With most customers experiencing the pillowy comfort they are known for, there have also been reports of durability concerns from customers over the recent years.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Helix in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Helix

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Helix: 9.6/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Helix: 9.6/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.2/10

Price Value:
Helix: 9.4/10
Stearns And Foster: 7.5/10

No Back Pain:
Helix: 9.7/10
Stearns And Foster: 6.5/10

Price:
Helix: $936-$4498
Stearns And Foster: $1699-$8998

Helix:
Up To 30% Off + 2 Free Pillows

Stearns And Foster:
Buy Online: Get Best Deals


Helix's Owner Satisfaction

Customer reviews and sentiment are a powerful way to discover if a company is as upstanding as they say they are. These mattreses are highly rated overall by customers, but there are some that didn't feel as positively. Review the mattress specifics below for information on if this mattress will work for you.


Helix's Supportiveness

Mattresses that are good at support are usually believed to be firm, but when we talk about support, we talk about material that works with your body to support the spine. Most customers have described this mattress at performing well on support, but rarely, there are some complaints.

Edge Support
Most experience these mattresses as having desirable edge support, which is great for those that like to sit on the side of the mattress or sleep at the edge of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
By placing a bowling ball on different parts of a mattress, you can measure how well a mattress will support the spine. These mattresses will provide a good amount of support overall, but if you have wide hips or shoulders, double check the firmness.


Helix's Durability

Every mattress shopper is looking for a mattress that will last. But with companies focusing less on building quality products and more on shipping product, it can be a tough prospect to find a mattress that lasts. Luckily, these mattresses have high ratings for durability. For most sleepers, they will last between 7 - 12 years. Those that are bigger or use their mattress more than 8 hours every night may find that their mattress is slightly less durable.

Stearns And Foster's Owner Satisfaction

Using customer reviews as a guide can be great for discerning shoppers. Sadly, customers don't always feel comfortable with these mattresses. Some have comfortable experiences, but others have issues. If you are considering, make sure to read on to figure out if one of these mattresses will work for you.


Stearns And Foster's Supportiveness

These mattresses offer above average supportiveness, which is what you want when you've been sleeping on a sagging mattress from the past few months. That said, some reviewers have mentioned support issues in reference to their bodies, so do some extra research to ensure that your choice works with your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is an indicator of how supportive the sides of the mattress are versus the center. These mattresses offer good supportiveness for most, but some folks may experience some contouring along the sides.


Stearns And Foster's Durability

These mattresses may not be as durable as you would hope after buying. Some sleepers describe issues with durability and comfort over a shorter than average timeline. If you are have a larger body type and are looking for something with lasting support, these mattresses may provide good comfort initially, but do a last check on the mattress specifications and return policies before purchasing.

Browse Helix Customer Reviews

Better than before
My helix isn't perfect but it's a whole lot better than what I was sleeping on before. After a couple months I've noticed a little sagging on the side I typically sleep but overall I love my mattress, sound investment.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Mattress Review
The mattress is fine, it's pretty hard so we had to put another foam mattress on top. Also, I move alot when I sleep and my husband can still feel my movement. I am not sure this mattress was worth the price, but it's ok I guess. I probably wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

this is a real review, we purchased our bed 4/16
we just spent a week in another "custom" bed and was so happy to be back in our HELIX bed. These new beds are so dang hot, I hate it. BUT not our HELIX. Happy mamma to be back in her cool bed. Thank you.

this is a real review, we purchased our bed 4/16
we just spent a week in another "custom" bed and was so happy to be back in our HELIX bed. These new beds are so dang hot, I hate it. BUT not our HELIX. Happy mamma to be back in her cool bed. Thank you.

Great Bed
I was completely unsure if I should try this new bed in a box thing. I took advantage of a sale and had it in a couple of days. I set it up in the morning, hoping any off-gassing would be done by bedtime, to my surprise, there was none. The bed was/is super comfortable, I'm glad I took the chance. My only complaint would be I had to figure out how to dispose of my old mattress. Highly recommend!!!

A great night's sleep
We are on our second full month of sleeping on this amazing mattress. No issues of being too hot. Very comfortable.

Best sleep ever
Oh my gosh, we LOVE our new Helix mattresses! We bought another brand about 10 years ago, and hated it after only a few months. This time, we did our research more carefully, and also made the decision to go with two XL twins pushed together, instead of a king. That way, I could get my mattress my way, and he could have his softer. We have slept better than we have in years! Plus no sagging in the middle ... easier to move ... no movement when one of us gets up in the night ... I only wish there were some kind of special headboard so we could slide them apart more easily when we change the sheets. I know I'm gushing, but I can't believe what a difference having a good mattress makes. Kind of fun to unpack, too. ;-)

Best night sleep ever.
Comfort galore, buy one and you will be sleeping on a cloud.

Life changing
This bed is no joke. We actually had similar styles and got a blended bed. We have never slept better. A bed made for your weight, height, and position...how could it be better?

Great bed for a great price
We purchased a Helix a few months ago and so far we love it it's comfortable and doesn't sleep hot. We also go the pillows that are cool to the touch which helps me fall asleep quicker

Too stiff. Bith m8ne and my wife's shoulders hurt after sleeping on this bed.
We ordered the soft and it was too stiff.

This mattress didn't end up
This mattress didn't end up being the one for us however I thought it was important to say how easy the experience was. I anticipated some push back when I started the return process. The Helix rep was very professional and the return process was easy and seamless. You can buy this mattress worry free. I would recommend anyone looking for a new mattress to give Helix a try.

Falling asleep sooner
First few days took some adjusting but after that I was fast asleep in minutes

Wonderful Mattress
This mattress is a dream come true. I can sleep on my back and sides without pain. Although it was a little stiff at first, Helix sent me a topper for it which changed everything. If you like the soft layer of a topper, choose a softer option when building your bed and you won't need the topper :-). If you are not convinced, try it. It's worth the 100 day trial!

Stay Tuned
Arrived damaged. lots of back and forth as to either send back or donate. The donation process is complicated and now the time is expired for that. Not the best experience and I now have a damaged product.

Great New Bed
We have a vacation home by the sea, so lots of summer family visitors, everybody has uniformly loved it, we love the fact that it's square till the edge with none of the usual round off that make you feel like your falling out of bed when your near the edge.

Comfy
Soft and comfy upper layer with supportive mid-layer. I've slept like a baby every night.

Pretty close
The Helix mattress arrived as promised. I was able to inbox it myself in a small room, but recommend 2 people. Comfort-wise, the mattress has been too soft. Th reason for this, I believe, is the only flaw in your order system. I was not allowed to adjust the results of my sleep quiz on your site. I almost did not order because of this. This mattress is better than the Nectar I tried, but the your software' results of my quiz are not necessarily accurate.

Good for me but not as good for my wife
Great ordering experience. Shipped wuickly and arrived on time. The survey did a better job of matching to my preferences than my wifes. Great feel and support. Edge support is a little lacking, but otherwise i am happy with the results. Def feels better for back sleeping as it feels fully supported. Not quite as good for side sleeping for me but I have wide shoulders and have had a hard time finding a mattress that can do the trick.

First 60 days
Everything is going good. Sleep really well and it has good suppprt. I would probably go a little firmer next time around. The real test will be a year from now to know if it is building grooves.

Ugh not so much
Wish it was better. Price point is right. Advertised as firm but closer to soft medium. Nice that it was delivered. Not cool at all- despite how it was advertised. Not a stomach sleeper bed, only good night sleeps I get are on my back. You pay for what you get.

Best Matress Ever
After sleeping an a multitude of different mattresses throughout my teens with moving houses and eventually starting college. I can safely say that this mattress has made my sleep an absolute pleasure. To really know that this mattress is for me in all aspects really adds to the value it gives me and for a cost that is much less than other very high end mattresses. Couldn't be happier and hopefully I won't need to change in the near future.

They made it right
I ordered my mattress too firm but they got me a 2' topper and I sleep wonderfully.

Best purchase ever!
My husband and I couldn't be happier with our purchase! It's hard to get out of bed in the morning because we are so comfortable!!

We are so enjoying our
We are so enjoying our new mattress and foundation! No more aches in our hips and backs. Restful sleep has returned, thanks!

Hope it breaks in
The mattress is too firm for me, not enough sink. It was supposed to be medium soft with lots of sink.

Just okay....
I was really excited to get the new Helix pillow with extra cooling. I sleep hot and I thought it would be awesome!!! Love the mattress so I had high hopes. The pillow itself is comfy, and it's neat to be able to add or remove filling so easily, but the extra cooling is non-existent. I even tried different pillowcases - a low thread count is what they recommended, also tried a bamboo one that was supposed to have extra air flow. Also tried no cover at all (but since you can't wash the pillow, I didn't really want to do that) but it didn't help. I'm still debating sending it back.

Beats Casper hands down
I tried the Casper for 90 days and I just couldn't get used to it. Way too firm for me. Replaced it with a Helix and I couldn't be happier! It is the most comfortable mattress I have ever slept on. I can now sleep on my side as comfortably as on my back. The only downside is that it is much harder to get out of bed in the morning.... seriously.

Best bed ever!
Once I got this bed I finally woke up with no pain what so ever. It definitely takes some getting use to but I highly recommend.

My helix mattress
Since we purchased our helix mattress I've had the most restful sleep that I've had in years. We had purchased several other mattresses and with in a short time were very disappointed! Not with our helix! My wife no longer has back pain every morning and neither do I . We awake feeling rested and ready to start our day!

wonderful sleep!
We have had our Helix blended mattress for 7 days. How refreshing to wake up without any back pain or aching muscles. The turnaround time from order to deliver was so fast! I'm so glad we ordered it.

Siz3
I love the bed. Best sleep I have have in so many years. But when I ordered I originally looked at a king and wanted to order a cali king. But some how when I placed the order it was the original one that got pushed through so I got a king. Other than that mix up I am very happy with it.

Back pain gone
Had pain with last bed switched to this one my back feels great now I have had it for 8 months and it's great

Great mattress.... once you add a feather mattress topper
We needed to replace our 12-year-old mattress and decided to try the online experience. After some research, concluded that Helix was the right company. Totally liked the sleep survey to customize the mattress. Was really fun to unbox and watch it "come to life". The first night was awful. Then it got a little better but felt like sleeping on a board. So I decided that instead of throwing in the towel (because support is good for you), we'd explore other options. Went on Amazon and bought a down alternative feather bed topper for like $100. Made all the difference in the world. Now we have a good solid mattress AND a great pillow top.

Perfectly delightful mattress
Arrived quickly. Set up was a 5 minute process with most of that time getting the mattress out of the box. Fully relaxed into it's full loft by the end of the day. About two days with no sheets before I noticed the scent had disappeared. Was replacement for guest room but I've napped on it a few times and thought its was perfectly comfortable.

I can now sleep through the night!!
Before we got this mattress, I was waking up 10-15 times most nights, and we had a memory foam mattress (although it was used and we didn't know the age). I also had a lot of trouble with severe temperature changes at night, which would keep me up. With the helix mattress, except for a bathroom trip, I often will sleep through the night!!! I cannot believe it. Truly.

Dr
Pretty good. Hot at first but seems to have improved

Not what we hoped for
We gave the bed nearly 100 days before deciding it was not the mattress for us. How dors one really know what configuration is right for them! The one thong we got right was the sleep cool feature. The bed seemed way to firm and yet seemed to cause hammocking. We tried several layering options on top of the bed with some success. Thank you Helix for always answering my questions, your customer support was much appreciated.

Bliss
How to describe? Not like sleeping on a cloud, because clouds look lumpy. How can a mattress feel both firm and cushy? Don't know--but it is. My dog likes it, too.

Recently unwrapped
I just got it out of the wrapping last week so I'm sure my body just needs some time to adjust or whatever. I've heard nothing but positive reviews.

Browse Stearns And Foster Customer Reviews

Finally experienced Sleep-full Bliss
Was really considering the new Foam/Gel topped mattresses, just because that is the "new" marketing for mattresses. My wife and I narrowed it down to the Stearns and Foster Reserve Firm and the Sealy Kelburn II. I was so ready for new a mattress as my lower back was always sore each morning. We went back into store and tried the two mattresses and she said I like the Stearns and Foster. I was hoping she'd say the Sealy Hyrbid but I actually felt a traditional style mattress was the best choice. Boy am I glad she chose the Stearns and Foster. THe bed arrived the next day in great condition, we let it air out from the packaging and put on a new mattress protector/topper. She added a little spray of fresh cotton scent to the topper and when we fell into bed that evening, it was bliss. We woke up Sunday morning, actually earlier than we normally do and both said....that is weird, we slept 7 hours and it feels like we slept 10.....and I had no sore back. We just laid there for couple more hours and enjoyed each others company. The Firm mattress is still very soft and with the light topper that carries a bit of filling it, it works perfect for the both of us. I weigh ~180 and the wife is ~120 One of the best purchasing decisions we ever made.

Show More Reviews Show Less Reviews

Made for me!
The S&F Reserve No.2 is absolutely hands down the best mattress I have every layed on in my whole life!! As soon as you lay down on it, you are engulfed by a comfort second to none- sending you to dreamland immediately!!

Five stars
so far, like the product

Very comfortable so far...
We have the mattress for about 1.5 months and so far it's very comfortable. Much better than the last mattress that caved in the middle.

Best night sleep in years good quality
Great

Love the comfort
I have SI joiny dysfunction & was so afraid having a new bed but it did not make my situation any worse. Love the comfort, sturdiness & quality! Hope I can say that in a few years & there is no breakdown.

I love my new mattress best purchase made
The edges stay firm but the bed conforms to your body

Mattress Feels Bespoke
I have never slept better than on my Stearns & Foster Lux Estate Hybrid mattress. A complete restful night's sleep is so important and I had no idea what I was missing until I slept soundly on my new S&F mattress. I now look forward to going to bed and wake up each morning well rested, energized, and excited to greet the new day. I love my Stearns & Foster Lux Estate Hybrid mattress and recommend it frequently. It is a well-built, solid mattress designed to provide lasting comfort and stand the test of time. When my new mattress arrived, I was ecstatic. It was even better than expected. It is beautiful to look at, but is solid, strong, and durable. The hand-tufting, encased coils, edge protection, rich fabric - the precision and craftsmanship - all give this quality mattress a luxury feel. The mattress has a lot of heft and durability. It is a solidly built quality mattress and foundation that feel like they will stand the test of time. *This reviewer received a mattress at no cost as part of a product sampling program.

This mattress is exceptionally adequate
This mattress is a very recent purchase. So far, so good. My hope is it will withstand ordinary wear and tear and afford me a good night's sleep for years to come.

good mattress
very soft and comfortable, but seems to developed cavity over a period of time.

Yes i would buy gain
So far so good

good mattress
still getting used to it

Review from stephanie of Charlotte, NC
I am not accustomed to writing a negative review, especially after reading so many reviews that are positive; but please beware because you too could experience the same circumstances that we are currently experiencing. Unfortunately our experience with the Dartford Ultra Firm Mattress Set is not so positive; perhaps it is possible that we received a “substandard set”. At any rate, my husband and I saved and planned for this very expensive purchase for our retirement comfort and because we wanted a very high quality mattress. Additionally, before we made the decision we read numerous reviews, and we were convinced that this Stearns & Foster mattress would be the best for us. Well we’ve had our set for a little over one year and we have rotated it approximately twelve times just to keep it balanced, and still it has sags and there is a very conspicuous ridge in the middle of it.

We were informed that Macys has a very strong Customer Service satisfaction rate, so we contacted Macy’s regarding our experience and they advised us that an inspector would evaluate our concern and provide feedback to them. As we assumed it would be, the evaluation was not to our advantage. So it appears that the purchase that we thought would be very satisfactory especially given the reputation of Macys and Stearns & Foster, did not provide us with the value, quality and comfort that we expected Macys to stand behind. I would advise everyone to think twice about purchasing a mattress at this price point from Macys.

Review from Mari of Beacon, NY
Purchased adjustable mattress from Sleepy's. I paid almost $4,000 for this mattress. A hole appeared in the mattress after two years. It is getting bigger. Stearns and Foster refuses to either repair this mattress or replace it. I am still paying off this mattress.

Review from Marcel of Farmingville, NY
I have to give Bedding 0 stars. I have the bedding for less than 5 years. My husband and I are senior citizens (72 and 75 years of age). We took the proper steps, according to the Warranty Claim. Which is a process consisting of taking numerous photos of the king size bedding: remove mattress, box spring take photos, measure sinkhole with a string etc. That being said - this was not an easy job. The photos did not show the sinkhole correctly due to our inexperience of performing this task. Our claim was denied. I wanted a representative to come to my home and take professional photos - that is not their policy. They would like us to retake the photos - they do not care that it would be basically a hardship for us to go through that procedure again. Do not buy Stearns and Foster Bedding. What good is the warranty.

Review from Debbie of Levittown, PA
I purchased the Beth Luxury Plush mattress on 5/27/2012 from Ashley Furniture Company. There is a sag in the middle and no matter how much I try not to roll into the sag I wake up in the middle of the night in the center where the sag is with back and hip pain. I read the reviews and realize I am in a hopeless situation. I am waiting for my appointment to have my sag measured but I already feel like it is a waste of time. It's really sad how this company is selling consumers very expensive mattresses and then have all these crazy loopholes in the warranty. Just from the number of consumers that have complained about the same issue I'm sure they realize that this is a major issue with their mattresses. I am already preparing myself to buy a new mattress because it is impossible to sleep on my Luxury Stearns & Foster. I am currently sleeping on a Futon bed in my spare bedroom as I wait for my measurement appointment.

Review from Sonya of High Point, NC
We bought a Stearns & Foster mattress about 3 years ago. We were told it would provide great support for our back. We were also told it would not sink in on each side. This mattress sinks on each side and there is obviously a big hump in the middle. This all started within the first 6 months. We have turned the mattress, stood it up, whatever we could think to get rid of the sunk in parts. We are extremely disgusted that we spent so much on this mattress and are currently shopping for a new mattress. My husband and I are tired of waking up with extreme sore backs. My husband a lot of times ends up on the couch to get a better night's rest.

Review from Yolanda of Washington, DC
I purchased a Stearns and Foster Cora Queen sized mattress from Sleepy's in Maryland in June 2014. After a year, I noticed indentation in the center and on the top corner. I noticed that my body aches and that it's hard to get out of the bed because of the center indentation. For the past six months, I noticed the back aches worsened. I put in a claim form to Stearns customer services on February 26th and have not heard from them. After reading complaints about the same exact thing regarding the Stearns and Foster mattresses, I see I'm not the only one. I paid a lot of money for this. My last mattress lasted the whole 10 years before needing a new one. After reading the complaints, it looks as though it's difficult to get your money back even though you are under warranty.

Review from Love of Fenton, MI
I'd like to start out by saying that I have loved and slept incredibly well on my S&F Thornwood Lux Firm mattress for several years. Additionally, everyone who has slept in my bed has commented on how comfortable it is (even now, admittedly). However, having said that we're at the 6 or 7 yr mark and it's definitely showing signs of wear. I'm a bigger girl, so I understand that takes a toll and can create indentations. I rotate my mattress a few times yearly in an attempt to delay wear, but now it's hard to find a spot without a dip. I tend to wake up in the morning with a sore lower back, and I can no longer sleep in past 7 or 8 hrs. I have read that mattresses tend to give you 7-10 yrs on average, and I was hoping that being a more luxurious and reputable brand I'd make it to the end of that time frame with this one. Although I was looking to possibly replace it with another S&F, some of the reviews of newer models make me question if that would be a wise decision.

Review from Chet of Myrtle Beach, SC
Please beware of a mattress from this Company. We are having the same issues as mentioned by most on this site - sagging and dipping of mattress where you sleep. Stearns & Foster will not do anything. Paid thousands for this mattress. Do not buy this product. Poor craftsmanship and very poor customer service. Beware Beware Beware!!! Would give "0" stars if it were an option. Shame on you Stearns & Foster.

Review from Annette of Boerne, TX
I purchased my third set of Stearns and Foster mattress in June 2014. Eight months after it started to sag. I filed a claim with the retailer, they sent their expert at my expense. Conclusion was that for the warranty to take place the mattress had to have 1-1/2 inch of measurable sag. Out of luck and out of $2,705.17 for the Emilia Rose PL Queen mattress. Needless to say that we cannot sleep on that bed any longer because it may not fulfill S&F's 1-1/2 inch requirement but the mattress sags and there is no good sleep on it, not as the retailer suggestion that the "mattress is conforming to your bodies". Very, very disappointed. I guess that we no longer be purchasing this brand.

Review from Wally of Alexandria, VA
Bought the Stearns & Foster because of thinking more money means better product. No way, it is the opposite with the Stearns & Foster firm baroque. It is very uncomfortable mattress compared to my Serta perfect sleeper. I own Serta perfect sleeper firm already and this Serta is much better for me than Foster. I'm in progress of returning back the Foster any day now just waiting to order another Serta perfect sleeper for half the price and much better comfortness. Now I know when people say more is not better and like channel designer said less is more.

Review from John@CannarsaDesign.com of Saugatuck, MI
I honestly can't believe how awful this mattress is, and I've purchased quite a few over the years. Like many before, I got this one from Art Van because they've always made the process easy, and have a good selection. I went through their mattress match-making system and really took my time selecting. I thought I made a good choice, and was very happy with it at first. Within a year, we both could feel a definite sag in the middle, developed worsening back and hip pain, waking constantly.

I called Art Van and they courteously sent a service rep out to "measure" by stringing a line across the top with weights on both ends. To meet the requirement for "failure" I learned that a mattress has to have a 1 1/2 inch measurable sag. The problem with this is that the plush top mattress can still have the foam and cushion stay "up" while the firm foundation under it has clearly weakened. Mine "measured" about 1 1/4 inches so it appears I'm out of luck. I sure wish I would have looked for reviews because it certainly is easy to find people who have had the same terrible experience. Let the buyer beware.

Review from Megan of Nine Mile Falls , WA
I've read the negative reviews about Stearns & Foster and agree with every one of them. My king mattress is a Queens Gate ultra firm, is five years old and is defective in the center. Of course the fine print in the "warranty" specifies the inches that it has to sag and says I'd have to pay for inspection and transportation. I couldn't figure out why my back and hip (I'm a side sleeper) were hurting and waking me up at night. Then I felt the center of the mattress, which is where I was sleeping, in a moment of revelation. And although you can't see a sag in the middle, you can feel the difference between that area and the parts of the mattress that would be the twin size areas. It's insidious and of course gives the manufacturer an out from giving me any consideration. So I'm sleeping on one side of the mattress, which will also obviously degenerate.

I'll never again buy this brand. I tried to call their customer service number, and was told via recording it'll be closed due to "unforeseen circumstances" and they don't know when it'll open. Lovely. Whatever happened to pride of manufactured product, or customer satisfaction? I'm not even trying to deal with Sears, which is not much better. I'm waiting for Sears to send me the credit card statements so I can send it on in another post.

Review from Jennifer of Mequon, WI
I've read the negative reviews about Stearns & Foster and agree with every one of them. My king mattress is a Queens Gate ultra firm, is five years old and is defective in the center. Of course the fine print in the "warranty" specifies the inches that it has to sag and says I'd have to pay for inspection and transportation. I couldn't figure out why my back and hip (I'm a side sleeper) were hurting and waking me up at night. Then I felt the center of the mattress, which is where I was sleeping, in a moment of revelation. And although you can't see a sag in the middle, you can feel the difference between that area and the parts of the mattress that would be the twin size areas. It's insidious and of course gives the manufacturer an out from giving me any consideration. So I'm sleeping on one side of the mattress, which will also obviously degenerate.

I'll never again buy this brand. I tried to call their customer service number, and was told via recording it'll be closed due to "unforeseen circumstances" and they don't know when it'll open. Lovely. Whatever happened to pride of manufactured product, or customer satisfaction? I'm not even trying to deal with Sears, which is not much better. I'm waiting for Sears to send me the credit card statements so I can send it on in another post.

Review from SUSAN of Fredericksburg, TX
So we received our 4th replacement from Stearns and Foster and decided to switch the type of bed all together. Sears was great to work with, they even credited us $890 on the difference of the upgrade so we paid an additional $300 to go with the lux estate ultra plush hybrid bed. This bed is soft as expected unless our other plush beds that were delivered were hard and felt cheap and the knobs were laying on top of the mattress instead pulled down. The adjustable base sometimes goes down on it own and smells weird still after 3 months. Smells like hay is the only way I can describe it. But I would recommend the lux estate hybrid ultra plush bed if you are looking for the softest bed!

Review from Zorina of San Diego, CA
I would give zero stars if possible. I purchased a high-end Stearns and Foster bed a couple of years ago. I noticed the indentations about a year after purchase. I thought my back and hips were hurting due to exercise, but I think it's this cheaply made bed. I can't believe they are allowed to stay in business with ripping people off. We had a bed before this one for about 20 years and no problems. I don't think beds should cost $3000 and last a year!

Review from Charles of Cedar Park, TX
We bought a Stearns and Foster in March 2013 at Sears in Columbus, OH. We now feel like we need to buy a new mattress because of the indentations and sagging causing us back pain. Will never buy another Stearns and Foster.

Review from jennifer of Dacula, GA
Have this Stearns and Foster high profile for just over a year. 14 mo. to be exact. I weigh approx. 130. Live alone! Stay home 6-8 mo. a yr. This mattress crapped out in about 6 mos.!!! I'm disgusted! 3 grand plus for the Lux! No! I've paid people to rotate, after a few weeks I'm in a rut. Just awful.

Review from Ina of Madison, AL
Bought a bed March 2015. The middle is already sagging. Called the customer service for Sleep Train. Erica informed me that all claims would be denied because I did not have a bar with a leg in the middle of my frame. Of course, I was not informed that was recommended when I first bought the bed for $1800. With all the bad reviews, on this site alone, I will STAY AWAY from any Stearns and Foster bed forever!!! The customer service was of no help. On a side note, as I was talking to the salesman about my problem, someone else walked in with the same problem. Guess what kind of bed that was??? Stearns and Foster.

Review from Rachel of Jacksonville , FL
We purchased a Stearns and Foster king Douglas House LXP with box springs for $2,500+. Clearly this is the worst mattress we have ever owned. Within a year the mattress sagged, though not more than 1 inch. But it was like sleeping in a wagon wheel rut. Hips, shoulders, back and knees ache every night. Stay away from this product.

Review from brad of East St. Paul, MB
We bought our king size mattress about 6 months ago and two months into it there were sagging spots on each side. The indentations are so bad that sleeping has become very uncomfortable. I feel cheated and taken advantage of. Will never EVER buy another S&F product.

Review from Georgia of Avon, IN
I bought the Stearns & Foster Queen mattress for $1500.00 and within 2 years the middle sagged so bad I had a hard time getting out of bed. I am physically fit, normal weight and swim laps regularly, walk and stay active. This bed made me feel tired and achy every morning. I finally replaced it with a Jamison for half the price and sleep great now. I put the S & F upstairs in the guest room but no one wants to sleep on it. It will go out on the curb.

Review from Laura of Brick, NJ
My Husband and I purchased a King Stearns & Foster Mattress/Box Spring from Ashley's Furniture. 22 days after sleeping on the mattress - deep sleep indentations started to incur on both side. I called Ashley's upset and scheduled a rep to come out to measure. 1" in deepest spot (after 22 DAYS!) and rep said warranty only replaces at 1 1/2". Again, why should we even have to call a rep after owning a mattress for 22 days?? I read reviews warning me about sagging issues prior to purchasing and I took a chance that it wouldn't happen to us. Just like other postings - I was also told to just keep having a rep come out until it reaches 1 1/2". Very disappointing that we replaced a good mattress that we had with this one. I will not be purchasing a S&F again.

Review from Byron of Glenmoore, PA
I purchased a Stearns and Foster queen size bed and box spring that was promoted by the sales representative as a superior bed set that was very firm. It was firm to my satisfaction when tested on the showroom floor, so I purchased it believing I was going to receive a very firm, high quality bed set when delivered..Shortly after delivery, the bed dramatically lost its firmness night after night. The normal body indentations you were to expect I read about on the Stearns and Foster website that were surpassed in the first two months.

Updated 12/16/2015 - I purchased a queen Stearns & Foster bed set, and after only a couple of months with just myself sleeping on it, the bed began to sag uncomfortably. But not to the satisfaction of the warranty requirements when measured by an individual Sealy sent out to my house to measure the bed in a place on the bed where it is impossible to sleep. Plus it was measured many hours after I had awaken and was off the bed, whereas any indentation that was there had risen to a perceived normal level. Customer service was unprofessional and unsympathetic when dealing with me and my concerns regarding the purchase of their product and the questioning of their warranty evaluation methods. If you are considering purchasing a Stearns & Foster bed, do your homework by reading the many reviews on the net, test many beds and research the ones you test. Good luck and happy shopping.

Review from Betty of Killeen, TX
I bought a Stearns and Foster Firm Luxury Mattress in March of 2014. I thought I was buying comfort, boy was I wrong. When waking up in morning, we find that our hips are extremely painful (we are both side sleepers). We also find that we roll to the center of bed. I called Ashleys (that's where I bought it from) with my problem. Appointment was made and craftsmen came out. He said that I did not have a depression of 1 1/2 inches and that there was nothing they could do. I said what about my warranty, he said I did not fall in the guidelines. I bought a firm bed not rock hard. So I'm stuck with a product that I cannot use without waking up in pain.

Review from Fernando of Plainville, MA
Paid over $2600 for a king-size Stearns & Foster mattress at Sleepy's. Came with a 10 year guarantee. After 2 years, terrible indentation on both sides where we sleep. After trying to use kit they send from Marshall Mattress and downloading pics, could not do. I am a senior and this was very difficult. Called and asked for representative to come do. After much begging, pleading and screaming they sent rep.

Received a call from Sleepy's only 3 days after this (before rep came) and they told me claim denied and mattress satisfactory. I could not believe my ears. When I said, "Oh really? They haven't even been here yet." Person on phone was speechless. After rep came and actually said to me, "THIS MATTRESS IS HORRIBLE" I got a call days later from Sleepy's telling me depression in worst spot was 1" and warranty Stearns and Foster puts out, depression must be 1 1/2". I told rep, "I am going to chiropractor regularly and what am I supposed to do???" She answered me stating I should call back in January and maybe sinkhole will reach 1 1/2." I could not believed my ears.

This is ridiculous and totally unacceptable. I will be calling back every single month demanding they remeasure. I am so disgusted with both Stearns and Foster and Sleepy's. After reading other reviews, I realize this is ongoing problem and horrible company and mattresses. DO NOT BUY STEARNS AND FOSTER!!!

Review from Tracey of Henrico, VA
I bought the Stearns and Foster Italian Garden mattress and right away it had deep body impressions. It was replaced and the new one only 2 months old has the same deep body impressions. For $2800 I expected more.

Review from Nicholas of Ipswich, MA
Always suspect companies that leave no way of contacting them on their website. At Stearns & Foster's website you can read all kinds of fancy writings, but no e-mail address to contact them. There is an 800 number and good luck trying to talk to alive person there. You can even see the "file a warranty claim" link on their website, but it does not work (broken link). It is a shame... The company sells mattresses for thousands of dollars and does not stand by their products. When it comes to warranty their defective items, it hides behind Sleepy's, Mattress Marshalls and the "fine print" on their warranty. My experience with Stearns & Foster was terrible in all aspects: the product - low quality, the support - none whatsoever, and the people there - always acting like I did something wrong and never at all interested in learning why their product failed.

Review from Dragan of Calgary, AB
Just like most people, our mattress started to get the sinkhole. I called the warranty department who sent us a "kit" so we could measure the sinkhole. It was a pain to take all the pictures with string. I put extra weight on the ends of the string which made a difference, BTW. While we were doing the pictures I discovered that the box spring had a huge sinkhole too. It was becoming a huge pain to get the pictures and do the warranty so we decided to try buying a new box spring for our King size bed which solved the problem. When we received our new box spring we took apart our old box spring and discovered that the metal frame bends super easy. I think the problem is in the box spring for a lot of these mattresses failing. It was cheaper to replace one of the box springs than a new mattress.