Helix vs Southerland

Get an Instant Discount for Helix $100 Off - Code HOLIDAY100

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Helix

Helix is one of the most innovative companies in the mattress-in-a-box movement. Over the last 3 years, they have been offering fully customized mattresses to customers with their high-tech sleep quiz. Being one of the first to provide dual sided firmness options, they also have made it even simpler for customers to select the right mattress (even if they don't want to use the sleep quiz). With 6 comfort designs to choose from, Helix has really focused on delivering to every type of sleeper.

Southerland

Southerland has been in business since 1893, founded originally in Nashville, Tennessee where they still manufacture mattresses. They are most well known in mattress stores across the south and mid-west as a price-competitive option against many of the main brands. They offer a variety of mattresses under different brand names like Southerland, Englander and American Sleep. Their Southerland brand offers foam, latex, and innerspring mattresses. The mattresses are exclusively in retailers across the US.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Helix in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Helix

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Helix: 9.4/10
Southerland: 7.2/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Helix: 9.3/10
Southerland: 7.3/10

Price Value:
Helix: 9.4/10
Southerland: 8.3/10

No Back Pain:
Helix: 9.3/10
Southerland: 8.1/10

Price:
Helix: $600-$1245
Southerland: $399-2399

Helix:
$100 Off - Code HOLIDAY100

Southerland:
Get Yours Now

Helix's Owner Satisfaction

Most sleepers feel excellent with their mattresses and reviewed them well. Some, however, didn't feel share the same delight. If one of these is one your list, make sure to read on to make sure it will work for your body.

Helix's Supportiveness

Most reviewers find these mattresses to be supportive, which means they egonomically work to straighten the spine for most sleepers. That said, there are a few negative reviews from customers, so make sure to make sure that the materials align with your body type and sleeping position.

Edge Support
Overall, these mattresses provide a good amount of edge support, which means most don't feel like they will fall off the mattress when rolling close to the edge of the mattress.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
In testing to see the even density and firmness of the mattress surface, there is solid support throughout. That said, some have complained about support issues over a long period, so make sure your selection works for you before buying.

Helix's Durability

It is a tough prospect to find great products that last a long time. Brands, for the most part, rather not make a product that lasts a lifetime if they can make repeatable revenue. However, there are still great products to be found. These mattresses, specifically, do a great job with durability for most sleepers. They should last up to a decade for many sleepers, though some folks who are larger may find they break down a short time before that.

Get an Instant Discount for Helix:   $100 Off - Code HOLIDAY100

Southerland's Owner Satisfaction

If you are examining this brand, take a look below for more details about these mattresses. Unfortunately, not all customers give them good ratings. Some customers were elated by their selection, but others felt let-down overall.

Southerland's Supportiveness

Some have described these mattresses as being supportive, but some others have been dissatisfied. For those that are sensitive to support because of health reasons, do some added research to ensure the mattress fits your body.

Edge Support
These mattresses have mixed reviews when it comes to edge support. Some find these mattresses to have even support, but others had issues with sagginess towards the sides.

Southerland's Durability

Sadly, not everyone rates these mattresses well for longevity. While some customers felt well supported, others talk about problems with comfort over a short duration. Make sure to do some extra research on the reviews and specifications before buying.

Browse Helix Customer Reviews

Better than before - Eric S.

My helix isn't perfect but it's a whole lot better than what I was sleeping on before. After a couple months I've noticed a little sagging on the side I typically sleep but overall I love my mattress, sound investment.

View More Reviews

Browse Southerland Customer Reviews

Horrible - Valerie

Never had back issues till sleeping or rather trying to sleep on this mattress. Started sagging immediately. I am a small person. Should not be this uncomfortable. Broke down on edges immediately. Turned it ,tried everything. Do not buy this mattress. You will regret it.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Bear Mattress

Level

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.