Helix vs Sleep Science

Get an Instant Discount for Helix Up To $125 Off Mattresses

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Helix

Helix is one of the most innovative companies in the mattress-in-a-box movement. Over the last 3 years, they have been offering fully customized mattresses to customers with their high-tech sleep quiz. Being one of the first to provide dual sided firmness options, they also have made it even simpler for customers to select the right mattress (even if they don't want to use the sleep quiz). With 6 comfort designs to choose from, Helix has really focused on delivering to every type of sleeper.

Sleep Science

Sleep Science builds a line of latex and memory foam mattresses. Their claim to fame is their 'wedge' technology that provides edge support to every piece of the mattress. Additionally, they are Certipur certified, which means they have low VOC and no formaldehyde in their mattresses. They also use bamboo material in some of their mattresses. Their mattresses are made popular through their relationship with Costco warehouse stores where they are sold at a competitive price vs many of the retail sold mattresses of similar material quality.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Helix in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Helix

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Helix: 9.4/10
Sleep Science: 8.3/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Helix: 9.3/10
Sleep Science: 8.4/10

Price Value:
Helix: 9.4/10
Sleep Science: 8.7/10

No Back Pain:
Helix: 9.3/10
Sleep Science: 8.3/10

Price:
Helix: $600-$1245
Sleep Science: $399-2499

Helix:
Up To $125 Off Mattresses

Sleep Science:
Get Yours Now

Helix's Owner Satisfaction

With brands doing lots of work on their online reputation, it's pretty hard for an average shopper to get to the bottom of customer satisfaction. With that said, these mattresses are reviewed highly by customers overall. However, there were some who didn't appreciate the feel. so make sure to read on to learn if these mattresses will work for you.

Helix's Supportiveness

Overall, support is important for spine alignment and overall comfort of a mattress over the long term. These mattresses provide solid support for most folks, but some customers have reported not feeling 100% supported all the time.

Edge Support
Edge support is a must-have attribute for great mattresses and for those that spend lots of time sitting on the edge of their bed. Most customers report that these mattresses do well on edge support, but some who are heavier may experience some decline.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
A bowling ball test is a great way to measure mattress firmness and support. These mattresses provide good support overall, but some customers may have issues with even support long term.

Helix's Durability

One of the most essential things for mattress buyers is durability. Being able to get up to a decade of continual use out of a mattress is good in terms of durability. That said, there are other things that affect durability -- like material quality and sleeper size. These mattresses are very competitive when it comes to durability overall. There may be a slight decrease in longevity for those that are larger.

Get an Instant Discount for Helix:   Up To $125 Off Mattresses

Sleep Science's Owner Satisfaction

With data from customers, you can more accurately choose the right mattress. However, it can get daunting after looking for reviews from many different products. For these mattresses specifically, customers have mixed emotions. Some are cozy in their new mattress, but others have complaints about the feel.

Sleep Science's Supportiveness

Most customers describe these mattresses as having above average supportiveness, which is ideal for those that are struggling with pain from a sagging mattress. However, there are some reviewers that describe a lack of support for their bodies, so do some extra research to ensure that your choice works with your body.

Edge Support
Edge support is a useful indicator of resistance and support along the sides of the mattress. These mattresses do a fine job, but some may experience some degrading of support over time.

Sleep Science's Durability

Brands that have good quality control and materials will likely also have good durability. Those that don't put a focus on these things may have some complaints from sleepers. Unfortunately, customers have mixed feedback on these mattresses on durability. Some report finding lasting comfort, while others complain about discomfort over the short term. Ensure that you take a look at the reviews before you buy.

Browse Helix Customer Reviews

Better than before - Eric S.

My helix isn't perfect but it's a whole lot better than what I was sleeping on before. After a couple months I've noticed a little sagging on the side I typically sleep but overall I love my mattress, sound investment.

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Science Customer Reviews

NEEDS GOOD FOUNDATION - dont use bunky board!

We bought this mattress over a year ago...had no idea that they sold a separate foundation. Spent months replacing the bunky board we got from Crate and Barrell 2 times and dealing with back pain, even called the mattress mfr. The mattress mfr said they recommend their foundation instead of bunky board. Ordering it today, hopefully it will take care of the problem but paying $50 more than if I bought them together from the start. They need to update the description and recommend the foundation if they don't buy it separately OR don't even sell the mattress alone. Description said it needs a 'solid' foundation...what does that even mean? I had a hard time trying to find a bunky board that is solid wood from many retailers. Crate and Barrel's new bunky board is made of compressed cardboard! A painful process, but I like the mattress.

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Tomorrow

Dreamcloud

Nectar

Level

Bear Mattress

Disclaimer

Mattress shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to make the decision making process faster and more efficient. The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.