Get an Instant Discount for Helix Up To $350 Off + 2 Free Pillows

Helix vs. Sleep Number

Slumber Search is supported by readers. Some links on Slumber Search are referral links. If you use one of these and buy something, Slumber Search may make a small amount of money. More info.

Helix

Helix is one of the most innovative companies in the mattress-in-a-box movement. As a leader during the industry disruption in the late 2010s, they were one of the first to offer customized mattresses with tailored firmnesses based on body type. Over the years, they developed 6 comfort designs to choose from (and thicker, Luxe versions). On top of that, their recent merger with Brooklyn Bedding means their mattresses are now made in Arizona. Whether you want to select for yourself or use their sleep quiz, Helix really puts a focus on delivering a quality mattress for every type of sleeper.

Sleep Number

Sleep Number has innovated over the years, from their firmness number technology and now their smart mattress and anti-snore features. With more smart technology than ever before such as sleep tracking and automatic adjustments of temperature and firmness, most sleepers find the Sleep Number 360 mattresses very interesting. However, durability is a concern for many customers with reports of some components wearing out faster than expected given the high prices.

Based on our aggregated reviews and our scoring method, we recommend Helix in this match up!

See Our Full Review of Helix

Mattress Score

Overall Score:
Helix: 9.4/10
Sleep Number: 7.5/10

Customer Satisfaction:
Helix: 9.4/10
Sleep Number: 7.4/10

Price Value:
Helix: 9.4/10
Sleep Number: 8.2/10

No Back Pain:
Helix: 9.4/10
Sleep Number: 8.5/10

Price:
Helix: $799-$2499
Sleep Number: $699-$11098

Helix:
Up To $350 Off + 2 Free Pillows

Sleep Number:
Get Yours Now

Helix's Owner Satisfaction

Reading online reviews is a wonderful way to find out if a specific product will work for you. Overall, these mattresses are rated well by customers, but there are some that didn't feel as positively. Look over the below details to discover if one of these mattresses will fit your body.

Helix's Supportiveness

These mattresses are quite supportive. Though some folks doen't like the firmness of these mattresses, the majority of folks feel like there is the right amount of support for their bodies.

Edge Support
Edge support is really important for those that struggle with mobility or like to lie close to the side of the mattress. These mattresses do well on their edge support and they should be able to support most customers.

Bowling Ball & Density Tests
Bowling balls are a good way at measuring mattress support and firmness These mattresses provide above average evenness in support across the surface, which means they should do well comfortably responding to your body.

Helix's Durability

Every shopper looking for a bed is looking for one that will last years. However, with some brands out there focused on other things than durability, it can be a hard thing to find a mattress that will last. Overall, these mattresses are some of the most durable based on the reviews and the product specifications. For the average sized sleeper, they will last 7 - 12 years. If you are heavier or use your mattress more than nightly, then you may expect a little less durability.

Get an Instant Discount for Helix:   Up To $350 Off + 2 Free Pillows

Sleep Number's Owner Satisfaction

If you are considering this brand, take a look below for more from customers Unfortunately, they get poor ratings from some customers. Some were extremely happy with their purchase, but many others were not as excited.

Sleep Number's Supportiveness

Most folks describe these mattresses as doing a good job supporthing their bodies, but some had some complaints about feel. For those that have wider hips and shoulders, review the mattress specifications and firmnesses before making a final decision as you'll want to make sure that your body is perfectly aligned.

Edge Support
For those that like sitting on their mattress with their feet hanging off the side, most will be comfortable and supported with these mattresses. However, some have reported some issues over the long term so make sure to review before purchasing.

Sleep Number's Durability

Sadly, these mattresses aren't well loved for their durability. While some customers felt well supported, others describe problems with comfort over a short time. Make sure to do some extra research on the reviews and specifications before buying.

Browse Helix Customer Reviews

Better than before - Eric S.

My helix isn't perfect but it's a whole lot better than what I was sleeping on before. After a couple months I've noticed a little sagging on the side I typically sleep but overall I love my mattress, sound investment.

View More Reviews

Browse Sleep Number Customer Reviews

Going with the C2 and adding my own bells and whistles

Very grateful for Candid Reviewer's advice. We were interested in the C2 after seeing the excellent rating it received from Consumer Reports, with high marks for durability, side and back sleeping. We went to the sleep number store, stuck to our plan and avoided being up- sold, and bought (on Amazon) both the recommended fiber topper and a gel topper to experiment with once the C2 arrives. We also are using our old metal frame with a queen-size bunkie board ($69), for a nice savings compared to the $300 foundation from sleep number. More $ for new sheets and bedding!

View More Reviews

Browse Top Rated Mattresses

Dreamcloud

Bear Mattress

Nectar

Brooklyn Bedding

Avocado

Disclaimer

Mattress & furniture shopping is an oftentimes tedious and mundane task. This site's sole purpose is to help you make the decision faster and with more peace of mind. We sincerely hope that whatever your interaction with this site, that it is helpful and timely for you, and that the product information here guides you to the best outcome for your daily life. May all benefit! The reviews here are aggregated from other sources across the Internet and although we have tried only to find trustworthy reviews, the content and scores here may be subject to manipulation by agents acting on behalf of manufacturers and marketers. Like all things you read on the Internet, understand there is no better judge than yourself. When it comes to your own comfort, your own body is the only North Star. Where Slumber Search discusses medical ailments, we strive to ensure the information on this site is accurate, current and useful, however, we do not warrant the accuracy or completeness of any information related to medicine. We are not doctors -- if you have a medical condition, please consult your doctor.

The makers of Slumber Search also make affiliate commissions from some of these manufacturers to keep the site running. There is NO additional price markup for using this site or on links from this site and any commissions made by Slumber Search come out of the brand's profit margin. See how it all works here.